Board Information

Chapter 36-15 of the South Dakota Codified Laws
Inspection of beauty shops, nail shops, beauty schools, nail technicians, and cosmetologists; Conducting examinations for applicants for licenses; and, Investigating violations and enforcing provisions of state statutes and rules pertaining to cosmetology.
Attached to the Department of Labor and Regulation
Five members appointed by the Governor: (1) Three licensed cosmetologists, must be at least 25 years of age and actively engaged in practice of cosmetology three years immediately preceding appointment. (2) Two lay members. No member may be a member of nor affiliated with or have an interest in any beauty school while appointed to the commission. Not all members shall be from the same political party.
Term of Appointment:
Three years. Not more than three consecutive full terms.

Frequency of Meetings:

Are Members Allowed to Call into Meetings:

Contact Info:
Executive Director: Tyler Evins 217 W. Missouri Ave. Pierre, SD 57501 Address: 217 W. Missouri Ave., Pierre, SD 57501 Phone: 605.773.6193 FAX: 605.773.7175

Mission Statement: