Board Information

SDCL 13-39A
The board shall, with the input of the local governing boards of each of the postsecondary technical institutes, provide overall policies, goals, and objectives for the management of the postsecondary technical institute system to ensure that the needs of the public, business, and industry are met to the highest possible degree and in the most cost-effective and efficient manner.
Department of Education
The board shall consist of nine members. Four members shall be selected by the Governor from persons recommended by each the technical institutes. Each of the four technical institutes shall submit to the Governor a list of not fewer than four persons, from which the Governor shall select one person. Each list shall be submitted no fewer than thirty days before the appointment is to be made. The Governor may reject the entire list and require a technical institute to submit a new list. The Governor shall appoint the remaining board members to represent different geographic regions of the state and to reflect the industries that rely upon the technical institutes to provide a skilled workforce. All members shall be appointed with the advice and consent of the Senate.
Term of Appointment:
Each member shall serve a three-year term that expires on the last day of October. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms. The initial board members shall be appointed for one, two, and three year staggered terms so the terms of no more than three board members expire in any year.

Frequency of Meetings:

Are Members Allowed to Call into Meetings:

Contact Info:
Nick Wendell,, 605-280-4331

Mission Statement:
To provide a high-quality technical education system that promotes student success, meets the needs of industry, and develop a workforce prepared to serve the state of South Dakota.