Board Information

Chapter 36-11 of the South Dakota Codified Laws
Examine and license pharmacists.
Department of Commerce
Five members appointed by the Governor: Four professional members. One lay member
Term of Appointment:
Three years. Not more than three consecutive full terms. Terms end October 1st.

Frequency of Meetings:
4 meetings per year

Are Members Allowed to Call into Meetings:

Contact Info:
Kari Shanard-Koenders, R.Ph., Executive Director 4001 W. Valhalla Blvd., Suite 106 Sioux Falls, SD 57106

Mission Statement:
The mission of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy is to protect the health and welfare of South Dakota consumers by administering licensure and inspection of retail and hospital pharmacies; to ensure that all licensed pharmacy practitioners conform to South Dakota Laws and Board of Pharmacy rules; to ensure that all licensed outlets conform to South Dakota Laws and Board of Pharmacy rules; to perform initial licensure of pharmacy practitioners by examination or reciprocity and insure that all licenses are renewed properly; and, to administer the licensure and inspection of wholesale drug distributors and non-resident pharmacies delivering prescription drugs to South Dakota.