Board Information

38-19-50 in South Dakota Codified Law.
The council acts in cooperation and conjunction with the South Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station to prioritize nutrient research, water quality research, education proposals and solicit research proposal to generate findings and make recommendations to the council. Additionally, the council evaluates the proposed budget for each research project, arranges for peer review, disseminate the finding of all research projects, and cooperate with other programs with similar goals. The council also publishes an annual financial and activities report, including the amount of funds collected and expenditure for nutrient programs.
The council is appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. The council shall be administered under the direction and supervision of the South Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station, but retains the respective quasi-judicial, quasi-legislative, advisory, other nonadministrative and special budgetary functions as defined in ยง 1-32-1 otherwise vested in the council. The council shall exercise those functions independently of the South Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station.
The council shall consist of nine voting members, including three representing the fertilizer industry, two representing grower organizations, one representing the state's largest commodity organization, one representing the specialty fertilizer industry, one representing the certified agronomy association, and one farmer member of the State Conservation Commission. The council shall also include five nonvoting members, two representing environmental organizations, one representing the director of the South Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station, one representing the secretary of the Department of Agriculture, and one representing the secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. The certified agronomy association and any association or organization representing the fertilizer industry, growers, and the environment may submit nominations to the secretary of agriculture for their respective members. The secretary shall select from these nominations the members of the council.
Term of Appointment:
Members are appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture

Frequency of Meetings:

Are Members Allowed to Call into Meetings:

Contact Info:

Mission Statement: