Board Information

Chapter 38-34 of the South Dakota Codified Laws
The Council shall promote the development, marketing, processing, and production of pulse Crops in South Dakota
Administered under the Department of Agriculture and the Secretary of Agriculture. The commission retains quasi-judicial, quasi-legislative, advisory, non-administrative and special budgetary functions.
The South Dakota Pulse Crops Council is composed of five members who are participating growers of dry peas, lentils, chickpeas, or lupines. The secretary makes the initial appointments to the council and the secretary or a designee may serve as a nonvoting ex officio member. Initial appointments to the council shall include five participating growers, including a dry pea grower, a chickpea grower, a lentil or lupine grower, and two at-large pulse producers. If no grower representing one of these crops is available or willing to serve, then another at-large grower shall be appointed.
Term of Appointment:
The term of the members of the council is three years.

Frequency of Meetings:
The Pulse Crop Council meets 4 or more times a year.

Are Members Allowed to Call into Meetings:

Contact Info:
Ruth Beck, staff

Mission Statement: