Board Information

Chapter 1-36-35
To allocate funds received by the Department of Social Services through Part D of Title IV (U.S.C. 651- 669).
Department of Public Safety
The advisory group shall be composed of: Three (3) circuit court judges appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court; Two (2) members in good standing of the South Dakota Bar Association with experience in the law of domestic relations, custody, and visitation appointed by the Governor; Two (2) at large members appointed by the Governor; Two (2) legislators, one appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
Term of Appointment:
The terms of the members of the first advisory group shall be: 1. One-third selected for one-year terms; 2. One-third selected for two-year terms; and 3. One-third selected for three-year terms. Initially, staggered terms of one-, two-, and three-years will be determined by drawing lots at the group’s first meeting. The second term of each appointment to the advisory group is three years. No member may serve more than two consecutive three-year terms. The members may elect a chair from among the members.

Frequency of Meetings:

Are Members Allowed to Call into Meetings:

Contact Info:
Department of Public Safety | Victims' Services Program | 118 W. Capitol Ave. | Pierre, SD 57501 | 605.773.3109 |

Mission Statement: