Executive Order 2011-23
The members are appointed by the Governor and the committee will be administered by the Department of Social Services. It shall assist the Department in developing a list of drugs that will require prior authorization before being dispensed under the Medical Assistance Program.
Department of Social Services (DSS) is the designated State Medicaid Agency for South Dakota. The Division of Medical Services within the Department administers assistance to those who qualify for Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Other agencies also administer programs funded by Medicaid in South Dakota including the Departments of Human Services, Corrections, Education, Health, Military and Veterans Affairs.
The members are appointed by the Governor; Five medical doctors and five pharmacists
Term of Appointment:
No term limits

Contact Info:
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES MEDICAL SERVICES 700 Governors Drive Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2291 (605) 773-3495 FAX (605) 773-5246

Mission Statement:
To ensure cost effective prescription drug services are available for South Dakota Medicaid recipients.