20:75:02:03. Examination fees. Upon good cause shown by the applicant_in accordance

with § 20:75:01:07, the board may allow_examination fees paid to the board to be transferred to a

subsequent examination or session, but fees-due collected by the board for payment to third party

entities are not transferable. In all other cases, any fee is forfeited, and reapplication, with the

appropriate fees, is required.-Fhe-examinationfee An examination filed pursuant to § 20:75:02:02

entitles the applicant to sit for the examination.H-the-applicant-meets-the-requirements-of SBCL

The fees required for the Uniform Certified Public Accountant examination-trelude—the
consist of®
(1) The development and scoring fee set by, and paid to, the American Institute of Certified Public
Accountantss;
(2) The testing delivery fee and fee for the digital photograph required for identification purposes
set by, and paid to, Prometric-and-the;
(3) The national database and reporting fee set by, and paid to, the National Association of State
Boards of Accountancy:; and
(4) The board-wil_shall charge an administrative fee of-$30 forty dollars for each examination
scetionforthe processinsand-assessrentetthc-apptieation.

The board shall-set-autherization establish periods in-which-approved for applicants-may to

schedule the—eomputer-based—CPA Uniform Certified Public Accountant examination. An

applicant's failure to schedule examination sections in-sueh_an-autherizatien established period

may result in the loss of examination fees as described in this section. H-a-Seuth-Daketa-candidate
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Current-windew—testing fees for the delivery of the-uniferm—eertifiedpublie—accountant

Uniform Certified Public Accountant examination—wilt must be posted on the examination

application and-pested-en the board's website.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, eftective February 9, 2004; 31
SDR 214, effective July 6, 2005.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(12), 36-20B-17.

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-17, 36-20B-19.

Cross-Reference: Discretion to waive certain requirements, § 20:75:01:07.
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Section

20:75:03:01
20:75:03:02
20:75:03:03
20:75:03:04
20:75:03:05
20:75:03:06
20:75:03:07

20:75:03:08

20:75:03:08.01

CHAPTER 20:75:03

CERTIFICATES, LICENSES, AND PERMITS

Application for initial certificate and replacement certificate -- Fees.
Non-renewal.

Application for renewal of certificate -- Fees.

Experience.

Ethics examination.

Denial of certificate.

Repealed.

Application for firm permit—Renewal— -- Replacement— -- Fees.

Firm permit renewal -- Fees.

20:75:03:09

20:75:03:10

20:75:03:11

20:75:03:12

20:75:03:13

20:75:03:14

20:75:03:15

20:75:03:16

Repealed.

Notification of firm changes.

Definitions.

Renewal of a South Dakota active certificate -- Fees.
Renewal of a South Dakota inactive certificate -- Fees.
Repealed.

Substantial equivalency and reciprocity.

Registration of a retired certificate -- Fees.
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20:75:03:01. Application for initial certificate and replacement certificate -- Fees. An

applicant for a certificate-must_shall submit an application on forms provided by the board-within

90-days—aftercompleting—all-requirements—for—its—issuanee._An application is not considered

complete until the applicable fee is received by the board.

An applicant for initial issuance of a certificate under SDCL chapter 36-20B shall disclose

on the application-al the following background and character information-requested-by-the-beard
peluding. ] Limited to:
a-(1) All states or foreign-jurisdietion jurisdictions in which the applicant has applied for

or helds held a certificate, license or permit as a-CPA-frm Certified Public Accountant;

against an application for a Certified Public Accountant certificate, license or permit to practice

including application denial. revocation, suspension, refusal to renewal, surrender in lieu of

discipline, or any other similar action against a Certified Public Accountant certificate, license or

permit to practice. or substantially equivalent foreign designation;

&(3) Any-ether form of discipline imposed against the holder of a-EPA Certified Public

Accountant certificate, license-e#, permit, or substantially equivalent foreign designation;
&(4) The conviction of a crime; and
e<(5) The revocation of a professional license of any kind in-this-er any-ether jurisdiction.
The initial application fee for-ndiv v — ve; an

application submitted within ninety days after the applicant completes all requirements for a
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certificate is $50_one hundred dollars. The_late fee for applications not submitted within the-99

ninety daysforindividuals-qualifringAugustH-to-January 31-inclusive; is.an additional-$1+606 one

hundred dollars.

o-Fuly-31t-inelusiveis-$75-Any applicant who has passed the examination and completes the

experience requirement set forth in SDCL 36-20B-21 and § 20:75:03:04, but fails to apply for a

certificate after three years of meeting the requirements for licensure, may be required to apply as

an initial candidate to sit for the Uniform-ERA Certified Public Accountant examination. The board

may waive this requirement for good cause as define by § 20:75:01:07.

An-individual applicant-becomes is qualified for a certificate when the-individual applicant
has-successfully-completed completes the requirements set forth in SDCL 36-20B-19-and 36-20B-
21 for applicants—frem—Seuth-Daketa of this state or in SDCL 36-20B-25 and 36-20B-26 for
applicants from other states. An applicant must obtain a-lieense certificate to practice for the year
during which requirements-weze are fulfilled. Fhe beardshallissue-initial certificatesto-individuals

ire The certificate expires

annually on July-34 thirty-first.

Any-teensee—requiring-A certificate holder who requires a replacement certificate—saust

contaet for a lost or destroyed certificate, or a name change. shall request a replacement in writing

in the format provided by the board office. The fee for a replacement document is-$25 fifty dollars.

The fees must accompany the application for an individual certificate or request for

replacement of a certificate.
Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, effective February 9, 2004.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(3)(4)(17)(20).
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Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-13, 36-20B-14, 36-20B-21. 36-20B-22, 36-20B-23, 36-

20B-28, 36-20B-29.
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20:75:03:03. Application for renewal of certificates -- Fees. An-applieation applicant for

the renewal of a certificate-orregistration shall-be-made submit an application on a form provided

by the board-an€ torr. An application

is not-censidered-filed complete until the applicable fee is received by the board.

An applicant for renewal of a certificate-underSDCE-ehapter 36208 shall list, in the

application, any state in which the applicant has applied for, or holds, a certificate or a permit as a

CPA Certified Public Accountant and shall list any past denial, revocation, or suspension of a

certificate or permit by any-ether state.

Any application for_the renewal of-certificatesshall a certificate must be accompanied by

evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has complied with the continuing professional
education requirements under SDCL 36-20B-27 and chapter-26:74:04 20:75:04.

Any-licenseA certificate that is not renewed and-whiek has not been surrendered to the

board, is-deemed-te-have expired.An

with-the requirements-of this-seetion- The applicant shall pay all applicable fees and penalties for

late filing for each year the-Jicense certificate was expired.

An-application-The fee for renewal-must-be_is one hundred dollars for a completed

application received by the board by-August} ersrust-be August first, postmarked by-Augustd-

An-applieation-completed-on-the-internetnust-be August first, or completed on the internet and
submitted on or before 11:59 p.m.-central-timme Central Time on-August1-te-be-considered-on-time
August first.-The-feeforannual renewal submitted-on-titne-is-$50. The annual late renewal fee-for

annualrenewal submittedlate-is-$100 is an additional one hundred dollars.
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An application for renewal is considered late if the continuing education requirement has

not been met and an extension has not been granted. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not

constitute an adequate reason for failing to renew the certificate in a timely manner.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, effective February 9, 2004;
33 SDR 107, effective December 26, 2006; 35 SDR 165, effective December 22, 2008; 35 SDR
305, effective July 1, 2009; 36 SDR 216, effective July 6, 2010.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-1283%3:63--EN-20):21H36-20B15-—36-
20B-18 36-20B-28.

Law Implemented: SDCL-3620B14-t0-36-20B16:36-206B18; 36-20B-22 to 36-20B-

24, inclusive, 36-20B-27. 36-20B-28.

Cross-ReferenceCross-References:

Discretion to waive certain requirements, § 20:75:01:07:.

Extension for completion of continuing professional education, § 20:75:04:10.
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20:75:03:08. Application for firm permit—Renewal -- Replacement -- Fees. AnyA
firm required to hold a permit pursuant to SDCL 36-20B-32.1-must shall apply to the board for
sueh a permit on forms provided by the board. An original sheet of each type of letterhead used by
the firm must accompany the application.-Fhe-beard-shal-issue-initial firm-permitsfor up-to-one
year- An applicant for initial issuance of a permit under SDCL chapter 36-20B shall list, in the

application, any state in which the applicant has applied for, or holds, a permit as a Certified Public

Accountant firm, and shall list any past denial, revocation, or suspension of a permit by a state.

Firm permits expire annually on July-34 thirty-first.

The initial application fee

32 Hb-er(2) is-$50 is one hundred dollars for each firm in this state required to hold a permit

pursuant to SDCL subdivision 36-20B-32.1(1) or (2), or for each firm exercising practice

privileges in this state required to hold a permit pursuant to SDCL subdivision 36-20B-32.1(3).

pluss:

(1) For firms with-+ one to+5 nine owners-the-fee-is-$65, seventy-five dollars per owner;

(2) For firms with-+6-te-25 ten to fifteen owners-the-fee-is-$1+;600, one thousand

dollars;

(3) For firms with-26 sixteen to-60 twenty-five owners-the-fee-is-$1:500, one thousand five

hundred dollars;

(4) For firms with-6+ twenty-six to sixty owners-ormore-the-fee-is-$2;000-, two thousand

dollars;

(5) For firms with sixty-one to one hundred owners. two thousand five hundred dollars;

and

(6) For firms with one hundred-and one or more owners, three thousand dollars.
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A firm-must shall submit an application for an initial-f#s permit within-90 ninety days after
commencing an engagement. A firm—must_shall obtain a permit to practice for the year during

which it commences an engagement. If the firm does not submit the application within the-90

ninety days, the firm must pay an additional-$56- one-hundred-dollar late fee.
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Thefee-A firm needing to replace a-firm permit_that is lost or destroyed-fer-any-reasen, or

to change a name or form of practice-is-$25, shall request a replacement in writing in the format

provided by the board office and pay a fee of fifty dollars.-Eatlure toreceive-arenewalnotice-does

The-fee fees must accompany the application for a-firm permit;renewal-ofafirmpermit

or request for replacement of a-firm permit.
Each firm shall disclose the following information in the form of an application for

registration initial issuance of a permit, signed and acknowledged by the resident manager of the

firm:

- (a) The name of the firm;

the organization is a sole proprietorship. partnership or corporation;

) (c) The address of the firm;

&) (d) The total percentage of equity ownership and the voting rights of the licensees in
the firm;

5 (e) The name of the resident manager of the firm;_and

() () The type of peer review program in which the firm participates, and the date and

results of the last review.

Page 11 of 25



An applicant for initial issuance-er+enewal of a permit under SDCL chapter 36-20B shall
list, in the application, any state in which the applicant has applied for, or holds, a permit as a-CPA

Certified Public Accountant firm, and shall list any past denial, revocation, or suspension of a

the-information—in-the renrewal: Online submission of an initial application constitutes the firm’s

signature and verification of the information submitted.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, effective February 9, 2004;

35 SDR 305, effective July 1, 2009; 39 SDR 219, adopted June 24, 2013, effective July 1, 2013.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(3)(9)(13)(14)&8)2B(17)(20).

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-32 to 36-20B-34, inclusive, 36-20B-70.
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20:75:03:08.01. Firm permit renewal -- Fees. A firm required to hold a permit pursuant

to SDCL 36-20B-32.1 shall apply to the board for renewal of the permit on forms provided by the

board. An applicant for renewal of a permit under SDCL chapter 36-20B shall list, in the

application, any state in which the applicant has applied for, or holds, a permit as a Certified Public

Accountant firm, and shall list any past denial, revocation, or suspension of a permit by a state.-A

Online submission of a renewal application constitutes the firm’s signature and verification of the

information submitted.

The fee for permit renewal is one hundred dollars for a firm required to hold a permit

pursuant to SDCL subdivision 36-20B-32.1(1) or (2), or for each firm exercising practice

privileges in this state required to hold a permit pursuant to SDCL subdivision 36-20B-32.1(3)

plus:

(1) For firms with one to nine owners, seventy-five dollars per owner:

(2) For firms with ten to fifteen owners, one thousand dollars;

(3) For firms with sixteen to twenty-five owners, one thousand five hundred dollars;

(4) For firms with twenty-six to sixty owners, two thousand dollars;

(5) For firms with sixty-one to one hundred owners. two thousand five hundred dollars;

and

(6) For firms with one hundred-ard one or more owners, three thousand dollars.

An application for the renewal of a permit must be received by the board by August first,

be postmarked by August first, or, if completed on the internet, submitted on or before 11:59 p.m.

Central Time on August first, to be considered on time. If the application for renewal is late, the

Page 13 of 25



firm must pay an additional one-hundred-dollar late fee. Failure to receive a renewal notice does

not constitute an adequate reason for failing to renew the permit in a timely manner.

Each firm shall disclose the following information in the form of an application for renewal

of a permit, siened and acknowledged by the resident manager of the firm:

(1) The name of the firm;

(2) Whether the organization is a sole proprietorship, partnership or corporation;

(3) The address of the firm;

(4) The total percentage of equity ownership and the voting rights of the licensees in the

firm;

(5) The name of the resident manager of the firm: and

(6) The type of peer review program in which the firm participates, and the date and results

of the last review.

Source:

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12.

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-32 to 36-20B-34, inclusive, 36-20B-70.
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20:75:03:12. Renewal of a South Dakota active certificate -- Fees.-Any A person holding

a valid certificate issued by this state prior to July 1, 2002,~will-be is deemed to have met the

experience requirements for licensure under SDCL 36-20B-21. An applicant who performs-ene-e¢

more-kinds-of servicesinvebvingtheuse-of accounting or auditing-skiHs services for the public;

furnishing-of advice-on-tax-matters-as-defined-in-SPCE36-20B-3 as described in SDCL 36-20B-

27, shall renew-their the certificate in an active status as defined by § 20:75:03:11.

Any—person—holdingA person who holds a valid certificate_who is not performing

accounting services-as-definedin-SBCE36-20B-3-that described above, and who wishes to use the

title—EPA—erPA_"Certified Public Accountant” or "Public Accountant," may renew—their the

certificate to be in an active status.

Certificate-holders-A certificate holder performing or offering to perform "attest" services,

as defined in SDCL 36-20B-2,-+must shall provide proof of one year of experience as required in

§ 20:75:03:04, verified by-alieensee a certificate holder other than themselves.

An application for renewal of an active certificate must be received by the board by August

}ormust-be first, postmarked by August +—An-apphieation first, or, if completed on the internet

must-be, submitted on or before 11:59 p.m.-eentral-time_Central Time on August + _first, to be

considered on time. The fee for annual renewal submitted on time is-$50 one hundred dollars. The

late fee for an annual renewal-net-—submittedtate-on-time is-$1+00 an additional one hundred dollars.

Any-lieensee-who-submitted certificate holder submitting a renewal-by-the-use-of via the internet

agrees that submission-ef-therenewal serves as the-lieensee’s certificate holder's signature and

verification of the information in the renewal.
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Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, effective February 9, 2004;
35 SDR 305, effective July 1, 2009.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(5)-+4e-(6)(7)(8)(16)(21).

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-27, 36-20B-28.
Cross-References:

Non-renewal, § 20:75:03:02

Experience, § 20:75:03:04.

Definitions, § 20:75:03:11.
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20:75:03:13. Renewal of a South Dakota inactive certificate -- Fees.-Any A person
holding a valid certificate issued by this state prior to July 1, 2002,~wilt-be is deemed to have met

the experience requirements for licensure under SDCL 36-20B-21. Any-apphieant certificate holder

who does not perform for the public one or more kinds of services involving the use of accounting
or auditing services for the public as-defined described in SDCL 36-20B-27-will-be is required to

renew-eertiieates as an inactive certificate holder annually.-Hewever—an An inactive certificate

holder-will is not-be required to comply with the continuing professional education requirement

§20:75:03:03 in SDCL 36-20B-27 and in chapter 20:74:04.

An application for renewal of an inactive certificate must be received by the board by
Augustt-er-must-be first, postmarked by Augustd-—An-applieation first, or, if completed on the
internet-srust-be, submitted on or before 11:59 p.m.-eentral-time Central Time on August-+ first, to

be considered on time. The fee for annual renewal-submitted-entime i15-$50 one hundred dollars.

The_late fee—for-annualrenewal-not-submittedlate-ontime is-$100 an additional one hundred

dollars. Any licensee-whe-subsmaits submitting a renewal-by-the-use-of via the internet agrees that
submission-efthe-renewal serves as the licensee’s signature and verification of the information in
the renewal.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, effective February 9, 2004;
35 SDR 305, effective July 1, 2009.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(5)+te(6)(7)(8)ineckusive(21).

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-27, 36-20B-28.
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20:75:03:15. Substantial equivalency and reciprocity. A—eertificate holderlicensed-by

An applicant for issuance or renewal of a reciprocal license pursuant to SDCL 36-20B-26

shall, in the application, list any state in which the applicant has applied for, or holds, a certificate,
license, or permit, and list any past denial, revocation, or suspension of a certificate, license, or
permit. Each holder of, or applicant for, a certificate shall notify the board in writing, within-36

thirty days after its occurrence, of any of the following regarding the holder or applicant:

(1) For a CPA certificate, license. permit, or a substantially equivalent foreign designation:

(a) An issuance, denial, revocation, or suspension of-a-certifieate; Heense-orpermit the
designation by another state;-ervelunteer

(b) The voluntary surrender of-a-CPA-certificate Heense;—orpermit_the designation to
resolve or avoid disciplinary actionsersimilaractions—econeerning—asubstantially

valent foreien desicnation.any: and
(©) Any other form of discipline imposed against the—helder—ofa—CPA—certiticate;

Heense—perptora-substantarbeguvarenttoretesn designation—the;
2) The conviction of any crime-and-the;
3) The revocation of a professional license of any kind in any jurisdictions; and

4) A change of address; or employment.

The application—shat_must be accompanied by a fee of-$50ene-hundred one hundred

dollars. An application received after a principal place of business is established in this state is

subject to a late fee of one hundred dollars. The late fee is independent of any possible disciplinary

proceedings resulting from a failure to comply with SDCL 36-20B-26.
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Fhe-An applicant for initial issuance or renewal under this chapter-shall must comply with
the continuing professional education requirements for issuance or renewal in the applicant's state,
or the continuing professional education requirements applicable in this state; if the applicant's
state of licensure does not require continuing professional education.

[f the applicant passed-the an examination in a state that is not deemed to be substantially
equivalent to this state's educational requirements, the board may issue the applicant a license upon
a showing that the requirements of SDCL 36-20B-25 are met and the applicant's license has been
deemed to be in good standing by the host state's licensing board.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, effective February 9, 2004;
33 SDR 107, effective December 26, 2006; 35 SDR 305, effective July 1, 2009; 36 SDR 216,
effective July 6, 2010.

General Authority: SDCL-36-20B12(23) 36-20B-12(20)(22).

Law Implemented: SDCL-36-20B12(23); 36-20B-13, 36-20B-25, 36-20B-26.
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20:75:03:16. Registration of a retired certificate -- Fees.Any A holder of a South Dakota
certificate who no longer-praetieing practices any form of accounting governed under-this-chapter
SDCL 36-20B may-cheese-te register the certificate under a retired status. To be eligible for
registration under the retired status,-an-individual a certificate holder must be at least-55 fifty-five

years of age, must shall sign an affidavit attesting to the certificate holders retired status, and_shall

pay an annual fee of-$40 twenty dollars. Any-ticensee certificate holder who submits a renewal by
the use of the internet agrees that submission of the renewal serves as the-licensee’s certificate
holder’s signature and verification of the information in the renewal.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 35 SDR 305, effective July 1, 2009.

General Authority: SDCL3620B1222) 36-20B-12(21).

Law Implemented: SDCL-36-20B12(22) 36-20B-12(21).
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20:75:07:02. Requirement for review -- Fee -- Areas to be reviewed. A—licensed
permitted firm, as a condition-te for renewal of itsirm permit pursuant to SDCL chapter 36-20B,
must undergo a peer review, in accordance with this chapter, once every three years unless prior
approval is granted by the board for special circumstances. Special circumstances-inelude are a
requirement by another reviewing body which would cause a firm's review to be outside the three
year three-year cycle.

The board may waive or adjust the peer review requirements for a firm that has entered into

a consent agreement as a result of a pass with deficiency or fail report.

The administrative fee for a peer review is-$75-ene-hundred twenty—five one hundred

twenty-five dollars. The administrative fee must be accompanied by a Request for Acceptance of

Equivalent Review form and received by the board-atthe board's-etfice-byJunet-orpostmarked;

by June—t+ first of the year in which the peer review is due. If the Request for Acceptance of

Equivalent Review form is submitted late, the-administrative late fee is-$425 an additional seventy-

five dollars.

othee:
If a firm filing a Request for Acceptance of Equivalent Review form has not engaged a

reviewer by June-t first, the firm must file a copy of the Request for Acceptance of Equivalent

Review form by June first with the-$75ene-hundred-twenty—five-doHar one hundred twenty-five-

dollar fee. The original Request for Acceptance of Equivalent Review signed by the firm and
reviewer must then be filed within-30 thirty days after the reviewer is engaged. If the original
Request for Acceptance of Equivalent Review form is not filed within—38_thirty days after the

reviewer is engaged, the firm must submit an additional-$58 seventy-five dollars.
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The peer review is limited to the firm's accounting and auditing practice and;—+frequired;
may include its related quality control system.
Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 39 SDR 33, effective September 5, 2012;
45 SDR 84, effective December 20, 2018 (effective January 1, 2020).
General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(9)(10)(11).
Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-36.
Cross-References:
Discretion to waive certain requirements, § 20:75:01:07.

Equivalent reviews, § 20:75:07:05.
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20:75:07:05. Equivalent reviews. If a firm undergoes an equivalent peer review during its
three-year review cycle, it may request that the board accept the review as fulfilling the
requirements of § 20:75:07:02.

The administrative fee for a peer review is one hundred twenty-five dollars. The request

must be submitted on forms provided by the board, and must set forth the name of the reviewing
body, the date of the review, and any other information requested by the board. If the review has
not been completed, the reviewer must agree to retain all materials associated with the peer review
until notice from the board of the acceptance of the review. The request for acceptance of an

equivalent review form must be received-by-the-beard-byJunet-orbepostmarked-by; June first

of the year in which the peer review is due. If the firm subject to review has not engaged a reviewer

by June first, the firm must submit a copy of the request for equivalent review, with the one hundred

twenty-five dollar fee and the form without the reviewer's signature and submit the original form

with the reviewer's signature within-39 thirty days after engaging the reviewer. If the original form

with the reviewer's signature is not received within—30_thirty days,—& the firm must submit an

additional late fee of-$50-will-be-charged seventy-five dollars.

If the board approves the request for an equivalent review, the firm subject to review must

submit, to the board, the reviewer's report; the findings for further consideration, if any; the
reviewed firm's response to the findings for further consideration, if any; the final letter of
approval; and a description of the status of any disciplinary action prescribed by the particular
reviewing body. If the equivalent peer review was completed prior to the firm's request, the firm
must submit the required information to the board within-38 thirty days after the date on the board's
letter confirming the request. If the equivalent peer review-wal_is to be completed after the firm

receives board confirmation of the request, the firm must submit the required information within
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30 _thirty days after the date of the final letter of approval from the reviewing body. If the
information isfled submitted after-36 thirty days from the date of the final letter of approval from

the reviewing body, it must be accompanied by a fee of-$50-ene-hundred one hundred dollars.

Following receipt of the required information, the board shall proceed in accordance with
§ 20:75:07:15 or 20:75:07:16.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 30 SDR 119, effective February 9, 2004;
35 SDR 165, effective December 22, 2008; 36 SDR 216, effective July 6, 2010.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(9)(10)(11).

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-36.
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20:75:07:11. Report -- Findings for further consideration. Within-30_thirty days after
the date of the exit conference, the reviewer must issue a written report and, if applicable, findings
for further consideration to the reviewed firm. If the reviewer issues-this the report after the-30-

day thirty-day period, the reviewer must submit a late fee of-$50ene-hundred-delars one hundred

dollars to the board.

The report and letter must be addressed to the proprietor, partners, members, officers, or
shareholders of the reviewed firm and must be dated as of the date of the exit conference. The
report must include the following:

(1) The year covered by the review;

(2) A statement of the scope of the review;

(3) A description of the general characteristics of a system of quality control, if applicable;

and
(4) The reviewer's opinion.

If the opinion is pass with deficiency or fail, the report must include a description of the
reasons for the deficiency.

If the reviewer finds deficiencies, the reviewer must issue, to the firm under review, findings

outlining the deficiencies and-recommending-aetion recommend actions to correct the deficiencies.

Source: 29 SDR 16, effective August 14, 2002; 35 SDR 165, effective December 22, 2008;
36 SDR 216, effective July 6, 2010; 39 SDR 33, effective September 5, 2012.

General Authority: SDCL 36-20B-12(9)d6y(11).

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-20B-36.

Cross-Reference: Discretion to waive certain requirements, § 20:75:01:07.
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