## Meeting Minutes SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRICAL COMMISSION

Microsoft Teams Meeting September 8, 2023, 9:00 a.m. CDT

President Lyons called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m. Director Scouten called the roll. A quorum was present.

Members Present: Sean Lyons, Dave Eide, Doug Fuerst, Tor Sorlien, Russ VanDerWerff

Members Absent: Rick Cronin

**Others Present:** Pamela Scouten– executive director, Kenisha Ewoldt- senior secretary, Jerry McCabe– DLR Sr. staff attorney, Ryan Darling- hearing examiner, Eric Collins, Craig Oedens, Jeff Kirstein, Donna Collins, Mark Collins, Tim Collins, Sally Haring, Marlys Mardian, Dave Costine, and Trisha Collins.

Doug Fuerst made a motion to add an executive session to the agenda after the appeal hearing. Tor Sorlien seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED.** Russ VanDerWerff made a motion to approve the amended meeting agenda. Dave Eide seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED.** 

Doug Fuerst made a motion to approve the July 18, 2023, meeting minutes. Russ VanDerWerff seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED.** 

President Lyons opened the floor to public input. No input was received.

Hearing Examiner Darling convened an administrative hearing to hear the matter of Eric L. Collins, case no. 2023-01 to order at 9:08 a.m. Separate minutes of the administrative hearing were taken.

Tor Sorlien made a motion to enter executive session for the purpose of deliberation. Dave Eide seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED**. The commission entered executive session at 10:27 a.m. with Hearing Examiner Darling to deliberate. The Board exited the executive session at 11:08 a.m. The Board reversed the decision of the Board office.

Hearing Examiner Darling concluded the administrative hearing at 11:12 a.m.

The next Commission meeting is tentatively scheduled for October 17<sup>th</sup>, 2023.

Rick Cronin made a motion to adjourn the Commission meeting. John Hoffman seconded the motion. A roll call vote was held. (Lyons -Aye, Cronin- Aye, Eide – Aye, Fuerst – Aye, Hoffman – Aye, Sorlien -Aye) **MOTION PASSED.** The meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.