Meeting Minutes WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL Mitchell Technical College, Muth Electric Technology Center, Room 138 1800 East Spruce Street, Mitchell

Or via Teams August 10, 2022 1:00 p.m. CDT

Department of Labor and Regulation Secretary Marcia Hultman called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. (CDT). Caitlin Sheppard called the roll. A quorum was present.

Members Present: Secretary Hultman, Caleb Arceneaux, David Bonde, Carl Carlson, Carla Gatzke, Chris Houwman, Kim Ludwig, Brian Maher, Adam Molseed, James Peterson, Laura Scheibe

Members Absent: Chairman Lee Anderson, Vice Chairwoman Keri Wientjes, Rick Larson, Mark Rogers, Randy Stainbrook

Others Present: Mackenzie Decker, Kendra Ringstmeyer, Beth Schneider, Nathan Schlimgen, Tara Bartekoske, Caitlin Kemnitz, Tha Gerh Paw, Htee P. Htoo, Eh Ser R. Na, John Taylor, Neil Cruise, Carmen Pacheco, Lexie Warejcka, Nora Kohlenberg, Sommer VanDewater, Jon Mahan, Lois Niedert, Cheyenne Wallowing Bull, Dylan Anderson, Hannah Willis, Gigi Tavarez, Devon Bartscher, Robin Wallum, Michelle Black, Brian Kemnitz, Thai P. Say, Dawn Dovre, Bob Mercer, Gloria Miller, Gloria Pluimer, John Hamilton, Kim Olson, Kara Palmer, Brenda Weishaar, Debra Owen, Kevin Herbst, Kim Edson

AGENDA ITEM C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM MAY 18, 2022

Dave Bonde made a motion to approve the meeting minutes from May 18, 2022. Chris Houwman seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED** by 11-0 roll call vote.

AGENDA ITEM D.

REGISTERED APPRENTICESHIP

DLR Labor Program Specialist II Tara Bartekoske reviewed the growth of Registered Apprenticeship Programs (RAPs) in South Dakota since 2016 and provided an overview of the needed components for a RAP. Bartekoske also highlighted the federal grant of \$3.1 Million DLR received to expand and improve RAPs and reviewed current and upcoming projects.

AGENDA ITEM E. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Department of Education (DOE) Director Laura Scheibe gave a presentation on Growing South Dakota's Workforce. Her presentation was aimed at working with South Dakota's youth and efforts to connect youth with all the different career pathways South Dakota offers. Beth Schneider of DOE also provided an overview of the Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG), designed to help empower South Dakota's youth.

AGENDA ITEM F. SUMMER PASSPORT

DLR Labor Program Specialist Aaron Morlock gave a presentation on the Summer Passport activities held at job service offices across the state from May through August. Htee P. Htoo, Eh Ser R. Na, Cheyenne Wallowing Bull, and Dylan Anderson spoke about their experiences, highlights, and takeaways from the program offerings in Huron and Madison. Huron Employment Specialists Tha Gerh Paw and Neal Cruse reviewed the impact of the Summer Passport program and the benefits of pairing Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) funding with Family Focus funding helped make the program a success.

AGENDA ITEM G. TRAINING AND WORKFORCE RECRUITMENT

Brian Kemnitz and Michelle Black from NorthWestern Energy reviewed their efforts to recruit and train new employees around the state, including partnerships with DLR job service offices and Week of Work. NorthWestern Energy Summer Intern Thai P. Say, WIOA participant and engineering student at South Dakota State University, spoke about his summer activities in their Huron location and the benefits of hands-on experience in his field of study. Say noted the valuable work skills and life skills he learned from his mentors.

AGENDA ITEM H.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

AGENDA ITEM I. DIRECTOR UPDATES

Executive Director Mackenzie Decker reviewed the potential upcoming meeting date and communication plan as there will be a new Council Secretary and Executive Director at the next meeting. Decker thanked the members for their service on the Council and their participation in workforce development in South Dakota.

AGENDA ITEM J. DLR UPDATES

Secretary Hultman updated the Council on current and upcoming DLR efforts and highlighted the new Hot Careers from the Labor Market Information Center.

Secretary Hultman called the meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m. (CDT).