

1140 19<sup>th</sup> Street, NW | Suite 400 Washington, DC 20036

tel: 202.223.0077 | fax: 202.296.6620

caepnet.org

May 15, 2020

Ms. Sheila K. Gestring President University of South Dakota 414 East Clark Street Vermillion, SD 57069

Dear Ms. Gestring:

The Accreditation Council of the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) met on April 27, 2020, and I would like to inform you of the following accreditation decision:

The School of Education at University of South Dakota is granted **Probationary Accreditation** at the initial-licensure level and advanced-level as described in the Accreditation Action Report.

Included with this letter are two subsequent documents:

- 1) The Accreditation Action Report provides details of the accreditation status.
- 2) Information on CAEP Probationary Accreditation provides further information on the Council's decision process and provider responsibilities during the accreditation term.

A significant amount of thought and effort goes into the accreditation process. CAEP has confidence in its site visitors and councilors, and I want you to know that your EPP was examined with great care throughout each stage of the accreditation process. The recent meeting of the Accreditation Council culminates several years of preparation and deliberation on the part of both the EPP seeking accreditation and CAEP, beginning with the self-study report process and ending with the deliberation of the Council.

I encourage you to contact Dr. Vince O'Neill (vince.oneill@caepnet.org), Accreditation Director, for further explanation of the Council's findings or to assist you in determining any future courses of action.

I appreciate your commitment to excellence in educator preparation accreditation.

Sincerely yours,



Christopher A. Koch, Ed.D. President

Enclosures: Accreditation Action Report and Information on CAEP Probationary Accreditation

cc: Dr. Amy Schweinle, School of Education

Dr. Karen Kindle, School of Education

Dr. Robin Wiebers, School of Education

Ms. Kathy Riedy, South Dakota Dept. of Educ. and Cultural Affairs;

Jacquie Larsen, South Dakota Dept. of Educ. and Cultural Affairs;

Site Team