CHAPTER 20:69:03

LICENSING AND LICENSES
Section
20:69:03:01 Application for license by examination.
20:69:03:02 Proof of education to accompany application.
20:69:03:02.01 Proof of passing score to accompany application.
20:69:03:03 Repealed.
20:69:03:04 Authority to take examination.
20:69:03:04.01 Registering for examination.
20:69:03:05 Icailure to appear for examination.
20:69:03:06 Administration of examination.
20:69:03:06.01 Testing service.
20:69:03:07 Passing score on licensing examination.
20:09:03:08 Cheating on examination.
20:69:03:09 Reinstatement of licensees discharged from armed forces.
20:69:03:10 Application fee -- Brokers and salespersons.
20:69:03:11 Repealed.
20:69:03:12 Application fee -- Iirm license.
20:69:03:12.01 Registration fee -- Broker or associate licensee business corporation or limited
liability company.
20:69:03:13 Biennial renewal fee -- Broker.
20:69:03:14 Biennial renewal fee -- Salesperson.

20:69:03:15 Biennial renewal fee -- Firm.



20:69:03:16 Office management.

20:69:03:17 Commission split -- Out-of-state.

20:69:03:18 Transferred.

20:69:03:19 Advance compensation.

20:69:03:20 Replacement-of license—I-icense-displayed Repealed.

20:69:03:21 Reciprocal agreements.

20:69:03:22 Nonresident licensee as applicant -- Certificate of licensure required.
20:69:03:22.01 Nonresident licensee -- Renewal of license on active status -- Certificate of
licensure required.

20:69:03:23 Supervising broker to be licensed in South Dakota.

20:69:03:24 South Dakota resident licensed as salesperson by examination in another state --
Requirements for obtaining a broker associate license in South Dakota.

20:69:03:25 Nonresident salesperson licensed in South Dakota -- Time to qualify for broker
associate upon establishing residency in state.

20:69:03:26 Fees -- Certification of licensure, additional license, duplicate license, and
transfer of license.

20:69:03:27 Late renewal fee.

20:69:03:20. Replacement of license -- Licensce displayed.Halicense-islost;
misplaced;-stolen;-or destroyedthe ticensee-shall immediately report-thatfaet-te-the-commission
writine U } sion's receintof e the i 4 .
: i Cthe oriainalli Y Lol ] be-displaved is the otieinal-or

duplicateissued-by-the-commissien Repealed.



Source: 1 SDR 33, effective January 1, 1975; 10 SDR 54, effective December 5, 1983; 12
SDR 102, effective December 22, 1985; 12 SDR 151, 12 SDR 155, effective July 1, 1986; 15 SDR
100, effective January 10, 1989; 18 SDR 101, effective December 17, 1991; transferred from

§ 20:56:12:20, 20 SDR 18, effective August 16, 1993; 35 SDR 305, effective July 1, 2009.

—— General Authority: SDCL3621A 89(2).

20:69:03:26. I'ces -- Certification of licensure, additional license, duplicate license, and

transfer of license. Fees include the following:

(1) For cach certification of licensure, §$15;
(2) For each additional license, a biennial fee of $30;

(3) For each license included in a statement of registration to change an office or place of
business, $15; and

(4) For each license included in a statement of registration to change association with a

responsible broker, $15+-and
Source: 34 SDR 323, effective July 3, 2008.

General Authority: SDCL 36-21A-60.



Law Implemented: SDCL 36-21A-60.

CHAPTER 20:69:06

REAL ESTATE AUCTIONEER LICENSES

Section

20:69:06:01 Transferred.

20:69:06:01.01 Definitions.

20:69:06:02  Auctioneers -- License required.

20:69:06:03  Qualifieationseofapplicants Repealed.

20:69:06:04  Duties of auctioneer.

20:69:06:05  Listings to be in writing,

20:69:06:06  Auction advertisements.

20:69:06:07  Auction sale procedure.

20:69:06:07.01 Auction with reserve sale procedure.

20:69:06:07.02 Absolute auction sale procedure,

20:69:06:07.03 Secured party or lien holder not prohibited from bidding at an absolute auction --
Conditions.

20:69:06:07.04 Internet auction sale procedure.

20:69:06:08  Auctioncer to maintain records.

20:69:06:09  Certain acts prohibited.

20:69:06:10  Rules applicable to real estate brokers, broker associates, and salespersons.



20:69:06:03. Qualifications of applicants. An-applieantfor-a—real estate—auctioneer’s

license;in-additionte-the otherrequirementsin-SDCL chapter 3621 A—shall-furnish-evidence-of

completion-of H6-classroom-hours-within the two-years-before the-date-of-application-ina course
on-theprineiplesand-practices-of real-estate Repealed.

Source: 1 SDR 33, effective January 1, 1975; 2 SDR 7, effective July 30, 1975, and omitted

as a temporary rule; readopted and transferred from § 20:56:12:08, 20 SDR 18, effective August

16, 1993; 23 SDR 110, effective January 9, 1997; 29 SDR 48, effective October 10, 2002; 35 SDR

305, effective July 1, 2009.

20:69:06:09. Certain acts prohibited. Prohibited acts include the following:

(1) Knowingly receiving or using a rafter bid, puffing of a bid, or any type of bid rigging

such as utilizing the services of a shill; or

(2) Knewingly-permitting-an-unticensed-individual-to-eall-or take bids-n-an-auction-sale;



3) Knowingly misleading or creating a false impression among the seller, buyer, or bidders

in the advertising, conduct, and closing of an auction.

Source: 5 SDR 12, effective August 14, 1978; 12 SDR 151, 12 SDR 155, effective July 1,
1986; 15 SDR 100, effective January 10, 1989; transferred from § 20:56:12:24, 20 SDR 18,

effective August 16, 1993; 37 SDR 112, effective December 8, 2010.

General Authority: SDCL 36-21A-89(7).

Law Implemented: SDCL36-21A-1, 36-21A-6, 36—21@ 36-21A-47, 36-21A-68, 36-
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CHAPTER 20:69:13
TIME-SHARE AGENTS
Section
20:69:13:01 Definition of time-share agent.
20:69:13:02  Time-share agents -- License required.
20:69:13:03  OPC exempt from licensing.
20:69:13:04  Persons and organizations exempt {from licensing or examination.
20:69:13:05  Application.
20:69:13:06  Application fee.
20:69:13:07  Repealed.
20:69:13:08  Grounds for denial of license.

20:69:13:09 Examination.



20:69:13:10

20:69:13:11

20:69:13:12

20:69:13:13

20:69:13:14

20:69:13:14.01

20:69:13:15

20:69:13:16

20:69:13:17

20:69:13:18

20:69:13:19

20:69:13:20

20:69:13:21

20:69:13:22

Authorization to take examination.

Repealed.

Administration of examination.

Cheating on examination.

Results of examination.

Rights to passing score.

Biennial renewal fee.

Cancellation of license upon failure to pay fee.
Replacement-of-licenseand-change-ofaddress Repealed.
Trust account requirements.

Office requirements.

Auditing.

Real estate law applicable.

Supervising agent.

20:09:13:17. Replacement of license and change of address. H-anoriginal-dicense-or
} ssion in-writingU | ssion's receint o | : )

§-20:69:03:26 Repealed.



Source: 10 SDR 68, effective January 1, 1984; 12 SDR 102, effective December 22, 1985;
12 SDR 151, 12 SDR 155, effective July 1, 1986; 18 SDR 101, effective December 17, 1991;
transferred from § 20:56:21:19, August 16, 1993; 34 SDR 323, effective July 3, 2008.
—Eawtmplemented:i- SDCL36-21A-60,36-21A47-43- 1586431587

A
20:69:12:01. Deﬁnitions.}erﬁ used in this chapter mean:
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(1) "Agent" or "time-share agent," means a lmited-ticensee-licensed by the commission
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(2) "Commissmn, means the South Dakota Real Estate Commission;

(3) "Developer," means a person in the business of creating a time-share project or in the

business of selling its own time-share in a project;
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(4) "Facility," means a strueture, service, or property, whether improved or unimproved,
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(5) "Invitee," means an individual who is contacted and invited or encouraged to attend a

time-share sales presentation;
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(6) "Material change," means a change of-eirewmstanee that weuld make the information
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(7) "Multiple location time-share plan," means a time-share plan that includes time-share

units located both in this state and in another state or country;

(8) "Outside public contact" or "OPC," means an individual who contacts invitees but
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) ”Precxisting?ime—share unit," means a time-share unit in-existenee-before-July.l, \

498371 which the(actﬁabreceipt of possession, occupancy, or right of use of the unit was
obtained by the purchaser or user before July 1, 1983, evidenced by tenancy in common, sale,
deed, membership agreement, lease, rental agreement, license, use agreement, or security; or a

/ tnd fro/
time-share unit which-has-been-explicitly-previded-forin a project instrument or in a declaration

or other instrument describing a time-share plan for a property and recorded in the state before

July 1, 1983; j
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(10) "Registrant," means a developer; agent;-er-planmanager who is required to file with

the commission;
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(11) "Responsible managing employee" or "RME," means the individual employed by a
registrant who is responsible for the @irect management of the registrant's time-share unif/ or

time-share plan;af ﬁ wf\m';f s yif}én/ 3 /mm‘,(j{; men f' 7 (5.n->/'aﬁ4ffc;h,ym%7
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(12) "State," means the state of South Dakota;

13) "Supplementary disclosure statement," means an amended disclosure statement filed
PP

when there has been a material change inrthe-informatien-provided-in-the-original-disclosuie—
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(14) "Time-share operation," means a business er-operation which, for compensation,
solicits or encourages others to attend a time-share sales presentation or to contract with an agent
or developer; creates a time-share plan; sells time-share units; sells or offers to sell an interest in
a time-share plan for a developer; or undertakes the duties, responsibilities, and obligations of

managing a time-share plan;
(15) "Time-sharewnit," means the time interval for right to use or occupy;

A
(16) "Unit," means ghe @fﬁ:ﬁ!)condominium er-eampground-space.
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Source: 10 SDR 68, effec;[ive January 1, 1984; 10 SDR 121, amended May 17, 1984,

retroactively effective January 1, 1984; 12 SDR 102, effective December 22, 1985; 12 SDR 151,
12 SDR 155, effective July 1, 1986; transferred from § 20:56:20:01, August 16, 1993.

General Authority: SDCL 36-21A-89, 43-15B-6.

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-21A-47, 43-15B-1, 43-15B-3, 43-15B-6.

Cross-Reference: Limited time-sharing licenses, ch 20:69:13.

10



