

SOUTH DAKOTA COMMISSION ON GAMING

87 Sherman Street • Deadwood, SD 57732 (605) 578-3074 • dor.sd.gov/gaming

UNAPPROVED MINUTES

South Dakota Commission on Gaming Quarterly Business Meeting

MINUTES

March 30, 2020

The South Dakota Commission on Gaming meeting was held by telephone conference call on March 30, 2020. at 9:00 a.m. Commissioner Dennis McFarland, Commissioner Karen Wagner, Commission Karl Fischer, Commissioner Greg Strommen, and Commissioner Mike Wordeman were present. Staff members present for the meeting were Mike Shaw, Commission Attorney; Susan Christian, Executive Secretary; Craig Sparrow, Deputy Executive Secretary; Larry Eliason, Special Assistant; Kathy Fredericksen, Recorder. Other persons participating in the meeting were David Wiest, Deputy Secretary of Revenue; Mike Rodman, Executive Director, Deadwood Gaming Association; Roger Tellinghuisen, Attorney representing DGA; Tony Sieber, General Manager of Gold Dust; Bart Hamm, Owner of AGT, Charlie Hamm, General Manager of AGT, and Mike Trucano, Owner of Iron Horse Inn.

The meeting was called to order by Commissioner McFarland at 9:00 a.m.

Conflicts of Interest Disclosure

No conflicts of interest were disclosed.

On a roll call no conflicts of interest were noted.

Commissioner Wagner	Nay
Commissioner McFarland	Nay
Commission Fischer	Nay
Commission Strommen	Nay

Mike Shaw addressed that during a telephonic meeting there are formalities if you want to speak please identify yourself before speaking to the Commission.

January 22, 2020 Special Meeting

Commissioner Wagner made a motion to adopt the minutes as drafted for the January 22, 2020 special meeting. Commissioner Fischer seconded the motion.

On a roll call vote motion was carried unanimously.

Commissioner Wagner	Aye
Commissioner McFarland	Aye
Commission Fischer	Aye
Commission Strommen	Aye

Commissioner Wordeman joined the meeting at 9:15 a.m. and had no conflicts of interest.

Commissioner Strommen disclosed that he was a law partner with Roger Tellinghuisen. If there was anything conflict of interest it would be noted.

No old business to be discussed.

Revenue Deputy Secretary David Wiest

Mr. Wiest was appearing on behalf of Secretary, Jim Terwilliger, and updated the Commission on the Legislative Session.

Executive Secretary Report

Susan Christian, Executive Secretary, addressed that the Commission on Gaming office will be closed until May 1, 2020 with essential staff only and nonessential staff will be tele working. There were new staff changes in February, the Operations Manager is Kelly Hanson and the new Auditor is Monica Waisanen. On March 21, 2020 a memo was sent out to all Managers suggesting procedures on the City of Deadwood ordinance to close casinos.

Deadwood Licensing Matters

Key License Approvals

- ✓ David Rogers
- ✓ Gaylene Septka

Commissioner Wordeman made a motion to approve the Key License approvals as staff recommended. Commissioner Wagner seconded the motion.

On a roll call vote motion was carried unanimously.

Commissioner Wagner	Aye
Commissioner McFarland	Aye
Commissioner Fischer	Aye
Commissioner Strommen	Aye
Commissioner Wordeman	Aye

SDCG Special Meeting Minutes March 30, 2020

Key License Renewals

- ✓ Deborah O'Bryan
- ✓ Thomas Frank

Commissioner Fischer made a motion to approve the Key license renewals as staff recommended. Commissioner Strommen seconded the motion.

On a roll call vote motion was carried unanimously.

Commissioner Wagner	Aye
Commissioner McFarland	Aye
Commissioner Fischer	Aye
Commissioner Strommen	Aye
Commissioner Wordeman	Aye

Business License Approvals

- ✓ Approval of Takatomo Imai (10386-DR) as a Director on the JCM American Corporation Manufacturer license (0132-MA).
- ✓ Approval of Michael Domimelli (11274-DR) as a Director on the NRT Technology Corporation Manufacturer license (0125-MA).
- ✓ Approval of Latchstring Getaways Holding, LLC (11505-RT) with Troy Gorans (11506-OW), Marc Gorans (11507-OW), and Dean Lindblad (11508-OW) as members of a new retail license. The license is to be assigned to 27 Deadwood Street (Iron Horse Inn location) effective April 1, 2020 and replacing the existing license.

Commissioner Wagner made a motion to approve the Business license approvals as staff recommended. Commissioner Wordeman seconded the motion.

On a roll call vote motion was carried unanimously.

Commissioner Wagner	Aye
Commissioner McFarland	Aye
Commissioner Fischer	Aye
Commissioner Strommen	Aye
Commissioner Wordeman	Aye

Mike Rodman, Executive Director, Deadwood Gaming Association

Mike Rodman addressed the voluntary closure by the City of Deadwood ordinance for the Deadwood casinos to close operations by March 25, 2020 at 5:00p.m. This will be an economic impact for the casinos, hotels, and restaurants. There will be loss of gaming tax revenues and income for employees. The Deadwood casinos will be included in the Legislative delegation care pact. They will be sending a proposal to local state Legislator's.

Listed in the proposal will be:

- 1. Waiving gaming license tax stamp fee that is due July 1, 2020 for all devices in use as of March 25, 2020
- 2. A staggered schedule for all other licenses and for the following year.
- 3. Requirement for Business interruption insurance
- 4. Lowering the Minimum Bankroll requirement for the next 18 months to 40%
- 5. A Marketing Fund to the industry.

The Deadwood Gaming Association is asking the Commission to address the July licensing requirement to be held after the special Legislative Session. The Minimum Bankroll would be a rule change and are asking if the Commission could start on that change so when the casinos are open then the rule would be in place at that time.

Public Comments

There was no participation for the comment period of the meeting.

With no further business to be discussed Commissioner Fischer made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Wagner seconded the motion.

On a roll call vote motion was carried unanimously.

Commissioner Wagner	Aye
Commissioner McFarland	Aye
Commissioner Fischer	Aye
Commissioner Strommen	Aye
Commissioner Wordeman	Aye

The meeting was adjourned at 9:41 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Kathy Fredericksen

Dennis McFarland, Chairman

Susan Christian, Executive Secretary