UNAPPROVED RECORDS DESTRUCTION BOARD MEETING MINUTES

July 19, 2022 at 9:00 a.m. Capitol Building – Room 412 Pierre, South Dakota 57501

The following members present: Jenny Jorgenson, Office of the Attorney General; Jenna Latham, Office of the State Auditor; Russ Olson, Department of Legislative Audit; Chelle Somsen, Department of Education, State Archives; and Chairman Scott Bollinger, Bureau of Administration (BOA). Rick Augusztin, BOA was the recording secretary.

Others attended from agencies: Dana Hoffer, State Records Manager, BOA; Anita Fuoss, General Counsel, BOA; Nikole Miller, Department of Transportation; Olivia Waggoner, Department of Education; Dawn Hill, Department of Public Safety; Darcy Keiser, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Tony Rae, Dino Brooks and Dan Hoblick, Bureau of Information and Telecommunications.

Call to Order and Roll Call

Chairman Bollinger called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Roll call was taken. Chairman Bollinger announced that a quorum was present.

Introduction of BIT Staff

Chairman Bollinger noted the presence of Tony Rae, Dino Brooks and Daniel Hoblick of the Bureau of Information and Telecommunications were present to assist in any technology related aspects of retention rules.

General Conflict of Interest Disclosure

Chairman Bollinger requested that board members declare any conflict of interest at this time.

Chairman Bollinger recused himself from discussion or action on Bureau of Administration items and Chelle Somsen recused herself from discussion or action on Department of Education items on the agenda.

Approval of Agenda

Russ Olson moved and Jenna Latham seconded to approve the agenda. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Chairman Bollinger	Aye
Jenny Jorgenson	Aye
Chelle Somsen	Aye

Jenna Latham	Aye
Russ Olson	Aye

Approval of Minutes

Russ Olson moved and Jenny Jorgenson seconded to approve the minutes from the December 8, 2021 meeting. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Chairman Bollinger	Aye
Jenny Jorgenson	Aye
Chelle Somsen	Aye
Jenna Latham	Aye
Russ Olson	Aye

Public Comment

Chairman Bollinger asked for public comment.

No public comment. Chairman Bollinger closed the Public Comment session.

Department of Transportation

Chairman Bollinger asked the Board to consider the current petition to *revise* one existing record series for the Department of Transportation having the record series number(s) of DOT-043; and *add* two record series having the record series number(s) of DOT-031.1A and DOT-049.1A.

The floor was open for discussion and/or motion.

A short discussion was held between Russ Olson and Nikole Miller with the Department of Transportation regarding local and state checking accounts for records series DOT-049.1A. Nikole indicated the accounts were inactive.

Russ Olson moved and Jenna Latham seconded to approve the petition. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Chairman Bollinger	Aye
Jenny Jorgenson	Aye
Chelle Somsen	Aye
Jenna Latham	Aye
Russ Olson	Aye

Chairman Bollinger authorized the destruction of the records described in the records retention and destruction schedule's foregoing petition provided for the retention of each record. Records destruction authority is granted under Records Destruction Board number (RDB) 22-001.

Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Chairman Bollinger asked the Board to consider the current petition to *revise* four existing record series for the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources having the record series number(s) of DANR-81, DANR-82, DANR-121, and DANR-122.

The floor was open for discussion and/or motion.

Russ Olson moved and Chelle Somsen seconded to approve the petition. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Chairman Bollinger	Aye
Jenny Jorgenson	Aye
Chelle Somsen	Aye
Peggy Livingston	Aye
Russ Olson	Aye

Chairman Bollinger authorized the destruction of the records described in the records retention and destruction schedule's foregoing petition provided for the retention of each record. Records destruction authority is granted under Records Destruction Board number (RDB) 22-002.

Department of Education

Chairman Bollinger asked the Board to consider the current petition to *revise* eleven existing record series for the Department of Education having the record series number(s) of DOE-1J, DOE-89, DOE-90, DOE-91, DOE-93, DOE-82, DOE-85, DOE-86, DOE-87, DOE-32, and DOE-38; and *delete* seven existing record series having the record series number(s) of DOE-88, DOE-239, DOE-102, DOE-54, DOE-159, DOE-216, and DOE-222.

The floor was open for discussion and/or motion.

Jenny Jorgenson moved and Jenna Latham seconded to approve the petition. The motion passed 4-0 by roll call vote. Chelle Somsen recused herself due to a conflict of interest.

Chairman Bollinger	Aye
Jenny Jorgenson	Aye
Chelle Somsen	Recused
Jenna Latham	Aye
Russ Olson	Aye

Chairman Bollinger authorized the destruction of the records described in the records retention and destruction schedule's foregoing petition provided for the retention of each record. Records destruction authority is granted under Records Destruction Board number (RDB) 22-003.

Bureau of Administration – Fleet and Travel Management

Vice Chairman Jorgenson asked the Board to consider the current petition to *delete* one record series for Fleet and Travel Management having the record series number(s) of FTM-4.

The floor was open for discussion and/or motion.

A short discussion was held between Russ Olson and Dana Hoffer regarding FTM-4. Dana indicated FTM-4 was obsolete. Fleet and Travel staff had advised Records Management that their office had no record of receiving this type of record.

Russ Olson moved and Jenna Latham seconded to approve the petition. The motion passed 4-0 by roll call vote. Chairman Bollinger recused himself due to a conflict of interest.

Chairman Bollinger	Recused
Jenny Jorgenson	Aye
Chelle Somsen	Aye
Jenna Latham	Aye
Russ Olson	Aye

Vice Chairman Jorgenson authorized the destruction of the records described in the records retention and destruction schedule's foregoing petition provided for the retention of each record. Records destruction authority is granted under Records Destruction Board number (RDB) 22-004.

Department of Public Safety

Chairman Bollinger asked the Board to consider the current petition to *revise* two existing records series for the Department of Public Safety having the record series number(s) of SDDA-94 and SDDA-95; and *add* one record series having the record series number(s) of HP-10.1.

The floor was open for discussion and/or motion.

A short discussion was held between Jenny Jorgenson and Dawn Hill with the Department of Public Safety regarding the 3 year retention period for the record types listed in HP-10.1. Dawn stated 3 years corresponds with the updated policy manual.

Russ Olson moved and Jenny Jorgenson seconded to approve the petition. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

Chairman Bollinger	Aye
Jenny Jorgenson	Aye
Chelle Somsen	Aye
Peggy Livingston	Aye
Russ Olson	Aye

Chairman Bollinger authorized the destruction of the records described in the records retention and destruction schedule's foregoing petition provided for the retention of each record. Records destruction authority is granted under Records Destruction Board number (RDB) 22-005.

Other Business

Jenna Latham moved to adjourn, and Russ Olson seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

Adjourned meeting at approximately 09:15 a.m.