South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Board Meeting Minutes Monday, April 25, 2022 8:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. – 4:17 p.m. Via Zoom Teleconference

Call to Order: Chairman Tim Ostrem called the meeting to order at 8:00 am.

Present: Tim Ostrem, Chairman; David Struck, Vice-Chairman; Todd Hanten, Treasurer; Jason Frerichs, Secretary; Heather Beaner, Ardon Wek, and Craig Converse. Dawn Scheier joined the call at 8:50 a.m. and Mike McCranie joined the call at 9:35 a.m.

A quorum is present with seven members.

Staff Present: Adam Kask, Market Development & Research Director- Technical support, Jerry Schmitz, Executive Director

Candidates for USB: Michael Miller, Lynn Deibert, Tyler Urban, Dawn Scheier, Lee Friesen, Dave Poppens, and Michael McCranie

Jason Frerichs moved to go into Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2(1) for the purpose of discussing a personnel matter.)
Seconded by Heather Beaner.
Motion passed.

The Council moved into Executive Session at 8:03 am. The Council exited Executive Session at 10:30 am.

Motion by Jason Frerichs to recess until 3 pm. Seconded by David Struck.

Motion Passed

The Council reconvened at 3 pm with all members present.

Siting her candidacy for USB, Dawn recused herself from the USB nomination process and left the meeting at 3:12.

The Council used the ballot method to anonymously vote via Zoom for nominees to the United Soybean Board.

Candidates for USB: Michael Miller, Lynn Deibert, Tyler Urban, Dawn Scheier, Lee Friesen, Dave Poppens, and Michael McCranie.

Dawn Scheier was elected as the primary nominee for the first open seat. Mike McCranie was elected as the primary nominee for the second open seat. Dave Poppens was selected as the secondary nominee for both seats for USB.

Lee Friesen was elected as the preferred alternate nominee and Tyler Urban was elected as the second-choice alternate nominee for both seats.

Dawn Scheier returned to the meeting at 3:41 pm.

Craig Converse left the meeting at 4:03 p.m.

Mike McCranie moved to allocate \$100,000 from the current fiscal budget for Gray's Harbor Planning Project.

Seconded by Dawn Scheier. Jason Frerichs moved to amend it to \$175,000.

Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by David Struck to adjourn. Seconded by Mike McCranie Motion passed.

| The meeting was adjourned at 4:17 p.m. | |
|---|-------------------|
| | Date Approved |
| SD Soybean Research & Promotion Council | |