## SOUTH DAKOTA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION ON THE ROAD MEETING

## September 24, 2019 at 1:00 p.m. CDT

Pierre Region Complex - 104 S. Garfield Ave, Pierre

**COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:** Kathy Zander, Chair

Mike Vehle, Co-chair (arrived at 1:20 p.m.)

Rod Fouberg, Member Ron Rosenboom, Member Larry Nelson, Member Bruce Cull, Member Don Roby, Member

DOT STAFF PRESENT: Darin Bergquist, Kellie Beck, Mike Behm, Karla Engle,

Jason Humphrey, Scott Rabern, Rocky Hook, Mark Leiferman, Jacob Rosecky, Tony Ondricek, Brad Maupin, Kristi Sandal, Tammy Williams, Joel Gengler, Joe Feller, Tom Grannes, Darin Hodges, Bob Schilling, Rick Rowen, Jim Costello, Kyle Watkins, Jason Smith, Kenny Marks, Nels Nelson, Dean VanDeWiele, Tyler Green and Kari Kroll

OTHERS PRESENT: Representative Mary Duvall

Chair Kathy Zander called the meeting of the Transportation Commission (the "Commission") to order at 1:04 p.m.

Zander opened the floor to the Commission members to disclose potential conflicts of interest and to present requests for waivers pursuant to the South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) chapters 3 – 23.

No conflicts of interest were disclosed, and no waivers were requested.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

Secretary Darin Bergquist welcomed the Commission to their On the Road meeting.

Mike Behm, Director of Planning and Engineering presented the Informational Item: Concept to Contract.

Karla Engle, Office of Legal Counsel, presented the Informational Item: Open Meeting Laws.

The Commission took a break from 2:23 – 2:35 p.m.

Joel Gengler, Office of Right of Way, presented the Informational Item: Right of Way Acquisition.

Engle presented the Informational Item: Eminent Domain.

Tony Ondricek, Construction and Maintenance Engineer presented the Informational Item: Maintenance Decision Support System (MDSS).

Jason Humphrey Pierre Region Engineer, introduced Tom Grannes of the Central Materials Lab who provided the Commission a tour of the lab with help from Darin Hodges and Bob Schilling in the concrete lab and Rick Rowen and Jim Costello in the asphalt lab. Kyle Watkins and Jason Smith explained the ground penetrating radar to the Commission.

Ken Marks and Rocky Hook provided a tour and explanation of the falling weight deflectometer and "spider" van to the Commission.

Humphrey presented the snow plows trucks to the Commission with assistance from Department of Transportation (the "Department") staff Nels Nelson, Dean VanDeWiele, Brad Maupin, Jacob Rosecky, and Tyler Green. Commissioners Rosenboom and Vehle drove a snowplow with assistance from the Department staff. Chair Zander took a ride in the tow-plow.

Humphrey and VanDeWiele provided a tour of the salt stockpile site.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:25 p.m.