SOUTH DAKOTA COUNCIL ON DD SECTION OF THE BYLAWS ON OFFICERS and ELECTIONS

ARTICLE IV: OFFICERS

Section 1. Positions

The officers of the Council shall include a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson, who shall be consumer Council members only (non-service providing members), and a Member-at-Large who shall be any Council member. These three officers shall comprise the Council's Executive Committee. The Council may elect such additional officers as are deemed necessary.

Section 2. Duties

- a. Chairperson. The Chairperson shall preside at all meetings of the Council. The Chairperson, in cooperation with the Executive Committee, Council staff and the Designated State Agency, shall schedule all meetings of the Council and perform all such duties relative to the office. The Chairperson shall represent the Council in dealing with other organizations and at public meetings and conferences, or designate an alternate to do so.
- b. Vice-Chairperson. The Vice-Chairperson shall act as Chairperson in the absence of the Chairperson. In the event of the resignation, incapacity, or death of the Chairperson, the Vice-Chairperson shall serve as Chairperson until the Council elects a new Chairperson. The Vice-Chairperson shall perform other duties as may be assigned by the Chairperson.
- c. Member-at-Large. The Member-at-Large shall serve as a member of the Executive Committee.

Section 3. Nominations

Nominations for Council officers shall be made from the floor.

Section 4. Election

The Council officers shall be elected by a majority vote of the Council membership in attendance and voting. Elections shall be held during the second quarter of the State fiscal year (October, November, or December).

Section 5. Eligibility to Hold Office

Only consumer members (not state agency nor service providing representatives) of the Council shall be eligible to hold the offices of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson. The Member-at-Large, and any additional officers as deemed necessary, shall be elected from the membership at large.

Section 6. Terms

The term of office for the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson shall be two years. The term of office for the Member-at-Large shall be one year.

No member shall hold the same office for more than two terms.

November 2024

Members whose terms expire on June 30, 2025:

Bob Blechinger (not eligible for another term)
James Macris (he has not attended any meetings of the Council)
Kate Armstrong (eligible for another term)
Keath Rick (eligible for another term)
Joe Carlson (eligible for another term)
Sara Valle (not eligible for another term)

Members eligible for Member at Large (1 year term – can serve two terms):

All members of the Council except for Caryn Johnson who has just served two terms as the Member at Large.