## MINUTES OF THE SOUTH DAKOTA ANNUAL WEED & PEST CONTROL COMMISSION MEETING 1 Wednesday, February 21, 2024 – 1 pm MT Spearfish Holiday Inn – Convention Center, Spearfish, SD

Chairman Darwin Kurtenbach called the meeting to order at 1:02 pm, February 21, 2024.

Members Present: Commissioners Dennis Feickert, Chuck Anderson, Deb Schultz, Bruce Helbig, Darwin Kurtenbach, Game Fish & Parks representative Ryan Wendinger, Association of SD County Commissioners Representative Lynn Deibert; Department of Transportation Representative Christina Bennett; School and Public Lands Commissioner Brock Greenfield; Non-Voting Member - SDSU Representative Eric Jones; SD Department of Agriculture & Natural Resources Representative Bill Smith; and Commission Secretary and Plant Industry Program Manager Brenda Sievers.

Chairman Kurtenbach asked the Commission members to introduce themselves.

Brock Greenfield made a motion to approve the agenda. Seconded by Ryan Wendinger. Motion carried.

The Grant Committee met on January 3<sup>rd</sup> in Pierre. The Committee consisted of Chairman Darwin Kurtenbach, Dennis Feickert, School and Public Lands Commissioner Brock Greenfield, SDSU Representative Eric Jones and Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Representative Bill Smith. Chairman Kurtenbach asked Brenda Sievers to announce the Committee recommendations for funding the FY2025 Competitive Grants.

The Committee recommended not funding the following Competitive Grant:

WP-C25-4 – Butte County – Leafy Spurge & Phragmites; Contractual Cost Share, Mapping with Drone on Belle Fourche River (\$3,500)

The Committee recommended funding the following Competitive Grants at a reduced amount:

WP-C25-2 – Fall River County – Baby's Breath Control Assistance – reduced by \$7,500 to be funded at \$2,500 WP-C25-3 – Fall River County – Common Mullein Assistance Project – reduced by \$10,000 to be funded at \$10,000

The Committee recommended funding the following Competitive Grants:

WP-C25-1 - Hyde County - \$8,500

WP-C25-5 - Davison County - \$3,500

WP-C25-6 - Clay County - \$26,500

WP-C25-7 - Association of SD County Weed & Pest Boards - \$50,000

WP-C25-8 - Pennington County - \$5,000

WP-C25-9 - Brown County - \$2,000

WP-C25-10 - SDSU Extension Service - \$50,000

WP-C25-11 - Meade County - \$5,000

Chairman Kurtenbach explained the Committee reasons for those recommended for reduction of funds and those not recommended to receive funding. Discussion took place on the committee recommendations.

Chairman Kurtenbach opened the public comment period. There were none.

A motion was made by Brock Greenfield, seconded by Dennis Feickert, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried. Chairman Kurtenbach declared the meeting adjourned at 1:27 pm.

Brenda Sievers Commission Secretary

Darwin Kurtenbach, Commission Chairman (Approved Minutes)

