# State Conservation Commission Minutes January 19, 2023 Microsoft Teams

Call to Order: Chairman Doug Hansen called the meeting to order at 2:04 PM CT.

#### **Roll Call of Members:**

Mike Konechne, Gene Williams, Tom Glover, Dusty Rodiek, Charlie Moe, Dean Odden, Doug Hansen, Bruce Haines.

Members Absent: Bill Coburn

## Others present Via Teleconference:

Bill Smith (DANR), Alex Roeber (DANR), Jordan Turgeon (DANR), Kim Paxton (DANR), Angela Ehlers (SDACD), Peggy Loomis (Hamlin CD), Shauna Kopren (Perkins CD), Dennis Clemens (Spink CD), Charlie Groen (Turner CD), Tony Sunseri (NRCS), Ryan Wendinger (GFP)

**Conflict of Interest Disclosure:** Chairman Hansen asked the Commission members if they had any conflicts of interest to disclose at this time. None were disclosed.

### **Election of Chair:**

Chairman Hansen turned over the gavel to Bill Smith to open the floor for nominations for Chairman and Vice Chairman.

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to nominate Doug Hansen to serve as the chairman and Gene Williams Vice Chairman. Roll Call Vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Gloveraye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. Motion carried.

## **Approval of the November 15, 2022 Minutes:**

A motion was made by Dean Odden and seconded to approve the November 15 minutes as submitted. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried**.

**Upcoming travel:** Bill Smith gave an update for upcoming travel.

Request for new business to be placed on the agenda: Alex Roeber requested the Commission Docket be discussed.

Correspondence: None.

**Revolving Loan Report:** Jordan Turgeon gave the revolving loan status report.

**Revolving Loan Application:** Jordan Turgeon presented four revolving loan application for the commission's consideration.

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the Minnehaha Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$55,692 to purchase a 5120 John Deere Tractor. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve the Perkins Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$59,565 to purchase a No-Till Drill. Roll call vote:

Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Oddenaye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

A motion was made by Gene William and seconded to approve the Spink Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$180,000 to purchase a John Deere 6R155 Tractor. Roll call vote:

Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Oddenaye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

A motion was made by Mike Konechne and seconded to approve the Turner Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$30,000 to purchase a No-Till Drill. Roll call vote:

Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Oddenaye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Amendments: Alex Roeber gave an update on the grants program. A motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded for the Hamlin/Codington Multi-use Projects Grant #2022-CSW-014, to transfer the grant funds of \$4,000 from Pasture Pipe category to Dugout category. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines. Motion carried.

**Historical Grant update**: Alex Roeber gave the report.

**Grant Extensions Request:** None

### **Brown-Marshall and South Brown Name:**

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve the new Brown Conservation district's name: Brown County Conservation District: Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye: Motion carried.

**Appointment of the New Brown County District Board Supervisors:** 

A motion made by Gene Williams and seconded to approve the new list of new board supervisors for the Brown County Conservation District: Judy Skoglund (Supervisor #1), Allen Ryckman(Supervisor #2), Teresa Taxinger (Supervisor #3), Randy Wiedenbush (Supervisor #4), and Scott Sperry (Supervisor #5). Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen, -aye Bruce Haines-aye: Motion carried

**Commission Docket:** Alex Roeber updated the board on docket changes and provided an update.

**Spring Grant Round Date:** The Spring Grant Round date will be determined.

**Soil Awards:** Bill Smith informed the commission that Soil Awards will be reviewed in the spring grant round meeting.

**Division Report:** Alex Roeber updated the Commission on division activities.

**Advisory Board members Reports:** Angela Ehlers gave the SDACD report, Tony Sunseri gave the NRCS update, Ryan Wendinger gave the GFP update.

**Open Forum and Public Comment:** None

**New Business:** The State Conservation Commission will need to provide a judge for upcoming speech contest set for April 22, 2023. Dean Odden volunteered to be a judge and Charlie Moe will be the backup if Dean would not be able to attend.

Next Meeting location and place: The next commission meeting will be determined.

**Ending Remarks:** None

The Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 3:12 PM CDT.