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South Dakota State Brand Board  

Notice of Public Hearing to Adopt Rules 

 

A public hearing will be held at the South Dakota State Library, MacKay Building, Conference 

Room #1, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota, on October 3, 2024 at 11:00 a.m. 

Central Time, to consider the amendment of proposed Administrative Rules of South Dakota   

 

§§ 12:10:02:25, 12:10:02:34 to 12:10:02:36 inclusive. 

 

The effect of rule, §12:10:02:25, will change the Lifetime Travel Permit fee on horses.  The 

current fee is $20.00 per Lifetime Permit. The proposed fee is $40.00 per Lifetime Permit. The 

effect of rules §§12:10:02:34 to 12:10:02:36, inclusive, will update laws implemented to 

current state statutes.  

 

The reason for adopting the proposed rule on Lifetime Travel Permits is to generate additional 

revenue needed for operating the brand inspection program. The reason for adopting 

proposed rules §§12:10:02:34 to 12:10:02:36 is the state statute listed on these rules is no 

longer correct.  

 

Persons interested in presenting amendments, data, opinions, and arguments for or against 

the proposed rules may appear in-person at the hearing, or mail or e-mail them to SD State 

Brand Board, Attn:  Debbie Trapp, 209 W Dakota Ave., Pierre SD  57501  - email to 

debbie.trapp@state.sd.us. The deadline to submit any such written comments for 

consideration is September 30, 2024  

 

After the written comment period, the South Dakota State Brand Board will consider all written 

and oral comments it receives on the proposed rules. The South Dakota State Brand Board  

may modify or amend a proposed rule at that time to include or exclude matters that are 

described in this notice. 

 

For Persons with Disabilities: This hearing will be located at a physically accessible place. 

Please contact the Brand Board office at least 48 hours before the public hearing if you have 

special needs for which special arrangements can be made by calling 605 773 3324. 

 

Copies of the proposed rules may be obtained without charge at rules.sd.gov and/or  

 

 South Dakota State Brand Board           

 209 W Dakota Ave.,  

     Pierre SD 57501 

 605 773 3324 

 

 
 


