Extraordinary Cost Oversight Board Minutes May 8, 2024 - 10:00 a.m. CT

MacKay Building, Conference Room 5 / Virtual Public Listening

Members Present:

- Trent Osborne, Chair
- Fallon Woods Vice Chair
- Amy Bessette
- Caleb Case
- Kelly Christopherson
- Kristi Curd
- Representative Mellissa Heermann
- Tim Graf
- Linda Turner

Members Absent:

Alan Neville

Others Present:

- Bobbi Leiferman
- Krislyn Norgaard
- Dr. Joseph Graves
- Cody Stoeser
- Brooke Morris
- Janet Penticoff

The meeting was called to order at 10:02 a.m., May 8, 2024, by Chair Trent Osborne.

Motion by Amy Bessette, second by Vice Chair Fallon Woods to approve the meeting agenda. Motion carried by roll call vote.

Motion by Kristi Curd, second by Amy Bessette to approve the minutes from May 17, 2023. Motion carried by roll call vote.

Bobbi Leiferman provided a status report on the request for 2024 Extraordinary Cost Fund (ECF). Total of 18 requests in the amount of \$4,642,802.

District Number	District Name	Requested Amount
21001	Armour 21-1	\$52,962
4001	Avon 04-1	\$302,674
9001	Belle Fourche 09-1	\$59,400
30003	Bridgewater-Emery 30-3	\$219,146
5001	Brookings 05-1	\$1,096,187

43001	Canistota 43-1	\$165,333
41001	Canton 41-1	\$130,398
64002	Dupree 64-2	\$270,039
14001	Florence 14-1	\$51,290
14002	Henry 14-2	\$83,477
60003	Marion 60-3	\$180,836
43007	McCook Central 43-7	\$166,489
15002	McLaughlin 15-2	\$275,803
25004	Milbank 25-4	\$766,380
43002	Montrose 43-2	\$122,006
17003	Mount Vernon 17-3	\$264,272
41005	Tea Area 41-5	\$122,869
49006	Tri-Valley 49-6	\$313,241

TOTAL REQUEST

\$4,642,802

There is a total of \$5,433,775 available for ECF funding in FY2024, based on the above recommended funding amounts - \$790,973 will rollover to be available as carryover in FY2025. The Dept. would not be reverting any ECF funds to the State's general fund at the end of this fiscal year.

A motion was made by Tim Graf and second by Amy Bessette to go into executive sessions to consider applications at 10:08 am.

Chair Osborne declared the Board out of executive session at 11:17 a.m.

A motion to fund all applications submitted with exception of Belle Fourche for the requested amounts was made by Tim Graf and second by Vice Chair Woods. The motion carried by roll call vote.

A motion to fund Belle Fourche as requested was made by Kristi Curd and second by Kelly Christopherson. The motion carried by roll call vote with Caleb Case abstaining.

Based on a risk rubric developed by this Board, Linda Turner reviewed the districts that may be elected for follow-up by the Office of Special Education. The risk rubric flagged the following districts Avon, Brookings, Milbank, and Mt. Vernon. A motion was made by Chair Osborne to review Brookings and Milbank and second by Tim Graf. Motion was carried by roll call vote.

A discussion was held on recommendations on district eligibility and application process to apply.

None of the current Board members terms are due to expire. Chair Osborne and Vice Chair Woods both agreed to serve another term. Motion was made by Tim Graf to continue with current Chair and Vice Chair and second by Caleb Case. Motion carried by roll call vote.

A motion to adjourn was made at 11:43 a.m. by Vice Chair Woods and seconded by Kristi Curd. Chair Osborne declared the meeting adjourn.