Extraordinary Cost Oversight Board Minutes May 7, 2025-12:30 PM CDT

MacKay Building, Library Commons/Virtual Public Listening

Members Present:

- Trent Osborne, Chair
- Amy Bessette
- Caleb Case
- Kelly Christopherson
- Kristi Curd
- Tim Graf
- April Hobert
- Senator Stephanie Sauder
- Linda Turner
- Jeremy Wollman

Members Absent:

• None

Others Present:

- Bobbi Leiferman
- Krislyn Norgaard
- Dr. Joseph Graves
- Cody Stoeser
- Janet Penticoff

The meeting was called to order at 12:32 pm, May 7, 2025, by Chair Trent Osborne.

Motion by Kristi Curd, second by Caleb Case to approve the meeting agenda.

Motion by Tim Graf, second by Kristi Curd to approve the minutes from May 8, 2024.

Bobbi Leiferman provided a status report on the request for 2025 Extraordinary Cost Fund (ECF). There were a total of 20 requests in the amount of \$5,143,528.

District Number	District Name	Requested Amount
21001	Armour-21-1	\$71,825
4001	Avon 04-1	\$360,058
61002	Beresford 61-2	\$36,350
30003	Bridgewater-Emery 30-3	\$341,725
5001	Brookings 05-1	\$1,030,775
43001	Canistota 43-1	\$104,894
41001	Canton 41-1	\$100,992
49003	Dell Rapids 49-3	\$184,342
64002	Dupree 64-2	\$141.770

50003	Flandreau 50-3	\$391,172
14001	Florence 14-1	\$181,234
60003	Marion 60-3	\$115,123
43007	McCook Central 43-7	\$151,195
25004	Milbank 25-4	\$673,794
17002	Mitchell 17-2	\$324,504
43002	Montrose 43-2	\$162,015
17003	Mount Vernon 17-3	\$240,246
15003	Smee 15-3	\$50,000
49006	Tri-Valley 49-6	\$254,531
47001	White River 47-1	\$226,983
	Total Request	\$5,143,528

There is a total of \$4,790,973 available ECF funding in FY2025.

A motion by Kristi Curd and second by April Hobert to go into executive session at 12:36 PM and invite the present Department of Education staff.

Chair Osborne declared the Board out of executive session at 2:14 PM.

Risk Rubric:

Based on the risk rubric developed by this Board, Linda Turner reviewed the districts that may be elected for follow-up by the Office of Special Education. The risk rubric flagged the following districts: Avon, Bridgewater-Emery, Brookings, Milbank and Mount Vernon. A motion was made by Chair Osborne to review Bridgwater-Emery and Mount Vernon based on the automatic triggers and not having been recently reviewed or have a pending review, second by Kristi Curd.

District Eligibility:

Tim Graf asked that future applications consider the ability for districts to raise revenue based on their assessed valuation and look at total valuation per general student count on the application. The platform for grant application may be changing in the next few years.

Panel Membership and Appointment Status:

Review of panel membership and appointment status: Chair Osborne's term is expiring June 30, 2025. Tim Graf is retiring, and his position will be open. There will be an opening for a large school district and a medium school district. Secretary Graves makes the appointment to the Board. Caleb Case moved to nominate Kristi Curd for Chair for 25-26 Board and seconded by Tim Graf. Motion carried. Kristi Curd moved to nominate Caleb Case for Vice Chair and seconded by April Hobert. Motion carried.

Based on the Board's discussion during executive session, the recommended funding amounts by the Board were presented by Bobbi Leiferman.

District Number	District Name	Requested Amount
21001	Armour-21-1	\$68,234
4001	Avon 04-1	\$267,008
61002	Beresford 61-2	\$0

30003	Bridgewater-Emery 30-3	\$324,639
5001	Brookings 05-1	\$979,236
43001	Canistota 43-1	\$101,514
41001	Canton 41-1	\$95,942
49003	Dell Rapids 49-3	\$150,848
64002	Dupree 64-2	\$86,400
50003	Flandreau 50-3	\$371,613
14001	Florence 14-1	\$172,172
60003	Marion 60-3	\$109,367
43007	McCook Central 43-7	\$140,040
25004	Milbank 25-4	\$642,061
17002	Mitchell 17-2	\$114,249
43002	Montrose 43-2	\$153,914
17003	Mount Vernon 17-3	\$229,415
15003	Smee 15-3	\$50,000
49006	Tri-Valley 49-6	\$211,552
47001	White River 47-1	\$186,294
	Total Request	\$4,454,498

Kristi Curd moved to approve the recommended dollar amounts as read by Bobbi Leiferman, second by Tim Graf. Roll call vote was taken, and motion passed.

A motion to adjourn was made by Kristi Curd and seconded by Senator Sauder to adjourn. Chair Osborne declared the meeting adjourned at 2:35 PM