## Extraordinary Cost Oversight Board Minutes May 17, 2023 - 10:00 a.m. CT Virtual Public Listening

## **Members Present:**

- Trent Osborne, Chair
- Fallon Woods Vice Chair
- Amy Bessette
- Caleb Case
- Kelly Christopherson
- Kristi Curd
- Representative Mellissa Heermann
- Tim Graf
- Linda Turner

## **Members Absent:**

Alan Neville

## **Others Present:**

- Bobbi Leiferman
- Krislyn Norgaard
- Cody Stoeser
- Janet Penticoff

The meeting was called to order at 10:05 a.m., May 17, 2023, by Chair Trent Osborne.

Motion by Vice Chair Woods, second by Amy Bessette to approve the meeting agenda. Motion carried by roll call vote.

Motion by Amy Bessette, second by Kristi Curd to approve the minutes from May 11, 2022. Motion carried by roll call vote.

Bobbi Leiferman provided a status report on the request for 2023 Extraordinary Cost Fund (ECF). Total of 16 requests in the amount of \$4,066,225.

A motion was made by Amy Bessette and second by Tim Graf to go into executive sessions to consider applications at 10:10 am. The motion carried by roll call vote.

Chair Osborne declared the Board out of executive session at 11:06 a.m.

A motion to recommend for approval the amount requested for the 16 districts in the total of \$4,066,225 was made by Vice Chair Woods and second by Amy Bessette. The motion carried by roll call vote.

District Name	FY2023 Total Funding Requested
Avon 04-1	\$253,351
Bridgewater-Emery 30-3	\$151,751
Brookings 05-1	\$722,629
Canistota 43-1	\$254,619
Canton 41-1	\$243,928
Dupree 64-2	\$272,681
Flandreau 50-3	\$17,105
Florence 14-1	\$68,338
Henry 14-2	\$111,150
Marion 60-3	\$239,530
McCook Central 43-7	\$150,437
McLaughlin 15-2	\$275,063
Milbank 25-4	\$275,635
Montrose 43-2	\$243,896
Mount Vernon 17-3	\$175,867
Tri-Valley 49-6	\$610,245
TOTAL	\$4,066,225

Based on a risk rubric developed by this Board, Linda Turner reviewed the districts that may be elected for follow-up by the Office of Special Education. The risk rubric flagged the following districts Avon, Montrose and potentially Marion and Tri-Valley. Since Avon and Montrose were reviewed last year, they would not be reviewed the second year in a row. A motion was made by Tim Graf to review Marion and Tri-valley and second by Vice Chair Woods. Motion was carried by roll call vote. It was mentioned to possibly have an application to better fit the High-Cost Programs.

The current membership list was reviewed and noted no member's terms were up. Chair Osborne call for nominations for the Chair. Trent Osborne was nominated as President. No other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Vice Chair Woods to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Trent Osborne, seconded by Kristi Curd. Motion carried by roll call vote.

Chair Osborne called for nomination for Vice Chair. Fallon Woods was nominated as Vice Chair. No other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Kristi Curd and second by Tim Graf to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Fallon Woods. Motion was carried by roll call vote.

A motion to adjourn was made at 11:15 a.m. by Kristi Curd and seconded by Amy Bessette. Chair Osborne declared the meeting adjourn. Motion carried by roll call vote.