## Extraordinary Cost Oversight Board Minutes May 11, 2022 – 10:00 a.m. CDT Virtual Public Listening

## • Member's Present

- o Trent Osborne, Chair
- o Fallon Woods Vice Chair
- Kelly Christopherson
- Amy Bessett
- Linda Turner
- Caleb Case
- o Alan Neville
- o Representative Lana Greenfield
- Tim Graf
- Kristi Curd

## Others Present

- o Bobbi Leiferman
- Krislyn Norgaard
- Melissa Manning
- Cody Stoeser

The meeting was called to order at 10:05 a.m., May 11, 2022, by Chair Trent Osborne.

Motion by Vice Chair Woods, second by Tim Graf to approve the agenda for this meeting. Motion carried by roll call vote.

Motion by Kristi Curd, second by Representative Lana Greenfield to approve the minutes from May 27, 2020, and May 12, 2021. The motion carried by roll call vote.

Bobbi Leiferman provided a status report on the request for 2022 Extraordinary Cost Fund (ECF). Total of 16 requests in the amount of \$2,725,825 and the appropriation available for FY2022 is \$5,500,000.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Woods and seconded by Tim Graf to go into executive session to consider applications at 10:09 a.m. The motion carried by roll call vote.

Chair Trent Osborne declared the Board out of executive session at 11:40 a.m.

Motion by Vice Chair Woods and second by Kristi Curd to approve supplemental aid request for Belle Fourche at the requested amount of \$50,000. Caleb Case abstained from the vote. The motion carried by roll call vote.

Belle Fourche 09-1	\$50,000
--------------------	----------

A motion to recommend for approval the amount requested for the 15 remaining districts in the total amount of \$2,675,825 was made by Vice Chair Fallon Woods and seconded by Tim Graf. The motion carried by roll call vote.

District Name	Recommended Amount
Avon 04-1	\$214,674
Bridgewater-Emery 30-3	\$36,480
Brookings 05-1	\$281,927
Canistota 43-1	\$219,476
Dupree 64-2	\$98,546
Flandreau 50-3	\$96,373
Florence 14-1	\$59,998
Henry 14-2	\$103,535
Marion 60-3	\$170,181
McCook Central 43-7	\$197,057
McLaughlin 15-2	\$225,758
Montrose 43-2	\$233,511
Mount Vernon 17-3	\$194,168
Sioux Valley 05-5	\$134,156
Tri-Valley 49-6	\$409,985

Based on a risk rubric developed by this board, Linda Turner reviewed the districts that may be eligible for follow up by the Office of Special Education. The risk rubric flagged the following districts: Avon, Canistota, Henry (reviewed last year), Montrose, Mount Vernon and Sioux Valley. Based on capacity of Special Education Programs to conduct reviews, Turner recommended no more than 3-4 be selected. The Board discussed selecting from the districts requesting over 30% of their projected budget and with the highest overall risk on the risk rubric. A motion was made by Representative Lana Greenfield to review Avon, Montrose and Mount Vernon and seconded by Kristi Curd. The motion was carried by roll call vote.

Turner discussed if the application process is capturing what is needed to make for future considerations. There were no recommendations.

Turner reviewed the current membership list and noted there were no members leaving.

Chair Osborne called for nominations for Chair. Trent Osborne was nominated as President. No other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Tim Graf to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Trent Osborne, seconded by Kristi Curd. The motion carried by roll call vote.

Trent Osborne called for nomination for Vice Chair. Fallon Woods was nominated as Vice Chair; no other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Kristi Curd and seconded by Representative Lana Greenfield to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Fallon Woods. The motion carried by roll call vote.

A motion to adjourn was made at approximately 11:50 a.m. by Representative Lana Greenfield and seconded by Vice Chair Woods. Chair Osborne declared the meeting adjourned.