Extraordinary Cost Oversight Board Minutes May 9, 2017 - 12:30 PM CDT MacKay – Conference Room 5 Second Floor

Member's Present

- Kelly Glodt
- o Jennifer Heggelund
- o Brian Jandahl, President
- o Brian Lueders, Vice President
- Shayne McIntosh
- o Niki Mohr
- o Denise Perry
- o Kathy Schmeichel
- o Linda Turner

• Member's Absent

Susan Kurtz

Others Present

- o Tamara Darnall
- o Travis Jordan
- o Bobbi Leiferman
- Olivia Waggoner
- Susan Woodmansey

The meeting was called to order at approximately 12:34 p.m., May 9, 2017 by President Jandahl.

Motion by Turner, second by McIntosh, to amend the agenda by moving discussion and adoption of risk rubric to identify districts for follow up monitoring, to after recommendations on application. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Glodt to approve the minutes from the May 19, 2016 meeting, seconded by McIntosh. The motion carried unanimously.

Susan Woodmansey provided a status report on the Extraordinary Cost Fund (ECF). Susan gave a 15 year history of funding related to the districts that applied this year. It was noted that this is the first time there has not been enough funding to cover all requests. There were two first year applications in FY2017 and three districts that had recovery payments in FY2016. The total appropriation available for ECF for FY2017 was \$4,940,197 and if all the districts that applied were approved for funding at the amounts requested, the fund would be in a deficit in FY2017 a total of \$(33,086).

A motion was made by Glodt and seconded by Schmeichel to go into executive session to consider applications at approximately 1:05. The motion carried unanimously.

President Jandahl declared the board out of executive session at approximately 2:50 p.m.

A motion to recommend for approval the amount requested for Brookings School District in the amount of \$361,930 was made by Glodt and seconded by McIntosh. The motion carried unanimously with Brian Lueders abstaining.

District Name	Recommended Amount
Brookings 05-1	\$361,930

A motion to recommend for approval the amount requested for Smee School District for a total amount of \$349,199 was made by Glodt and seconded by McIntosh. The motion carried unanimously with Kathy Schmeichel abstaining.

District Name	Recommended Amount
Smee 15-3	\$349,199

Motion by McIntosh, seconded by Glodt, to recommend for approval any district whose fund balance grew as a result of Extraordinary Cost Fund funding from FY16 will be reduced by the amount of the increase in the fund balance that exceeds zero as a result of such payment. The motion carried unanimously. The below amount of \$915,525 was recommended for these 8 districts.

District Name	Recommended Amount
Baltic 49-1	\$83,722
Flandreau 50-3	\$167,952
Florence 14-1	\$165,474
Lake Preston 38-3	\$66,716
Marion 60-3	\$153,470
Mount Vernon 17-3	\$46,081
Sioux Valley 05-5	\$251,611
Wilmot 54-7	\$99,591

A motion to recommend for approval the amount requested for the following 19 districts in the amount of \$3,099,789 was made by McIntosh and seconded by Lueders. The motion carried unanimously.

District Name	Recommended Amount
Avon 04-1	\$176,171
Belle Fourche 09-1	\$121,996
Bon Homme 04-2	\$217,684
Bridgewater-Emery 30-3	\$73,749
Canistota 43-1	\$110,862
Dell Rapids 49-3	\$154,258
Dupree 64-2	\$136,017
Edgemont 23-1	\$50,000
Estelline 28-2	\$211,550
Garretson 49-4	\$152,055
Hamlin 28-3	\$122,238
Lead-Deadwood 40-1	\$69,862
Lennox 41-4	\$146,215
McCook Central 43-7	\$57,501
McLaughlin 15-2	\$276,737
Montrose 43-2	\$160,218
Sisseton 54-2	\$80,143
Tea Area 41-5	\$579,886
Tri-Valley 49-6	\$202,647

Linda Turner reviewed the proposed risk rubric. Final decision was proposed to remove the two risk indicators regarding amount and percent of request to total budget, and replace with "receive an automatic review if the district applying is at 30% of SE budget or receives more than \$500,000 unless they have received an onsite review as a result of ECF in the last fiscal year". Additionally, the points were adjusted to reflect updates.

A motion was made by Lueders to adopt revised rubric and seconded by Perry. The motion carried unanimously.

Linda Turner presented the current membership list and discussed the upcoming term expirations with the board. Board members Kurtz and McIntosh are at termend, and were recognized for their service on the Extraordinary Cost Board. It was recommended that Perry be moved to a voting member position and recommendations be presented to Melody Schopp for appointment.

President Jandahl called for nominations for President. President Jandahl was nominated to serve as president again. No other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Glodt to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for President Jandahl, second by Schmeichel. The motion carried unanimously.

President Jandahl called for nomination for Vice President. Lueders was nominated, no other nominations were offered. Motion was made by Turner and seconded by Schmeichel to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Lueders. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion to adjourn was made at approximately 3:24 p.m. by Turner and seconded by Glodt. The motion carried unanimously.

