State Conservation Commission outline for the minutes September 20, 2021 Holiday Inn Spearfish Convention Center – Spearfish, SD

Call to Order: via teleconference: the meeting was called to order at 7:00 am MDT via Chairman Hansen.

Roll Call of members:

Members Present: Gene Williams, Doug Hansen, Charlie Moe, Gerald Thaden, Bruce Haines.

Members Absent:

Mike Konechne, Dusty Rodiek

Members on the Conference call:

Tom Glover

Others present in person:

Bill Smith (DANR), Alex Roeber (DANR), Kim Paxton (DANR), Angela Ehlers (SDACD), Amy Sis (Grant Conservation District), Eric Weeman (Brule-Buffalo Conservation District), Mike Baldwin (Conservation District), Jamie Forbes (Kingsbury Conservation District), Katie Schultz (Haakon Conservation District), Tammy Moore (Miner Conservation District), Tim Reich (Butte Conservation District), Freed Butzke (McCook Conservation District), Dave Thom (Custer Conservation District), Jackie Byram (NRCS), Karl Jansen (SDACD), John Parker (Minnehaha Conservation District), Annette Steilen (Hanson Conservation District), Cliff Conroy (Butte Conservation District), Mitch Norman (Stanley Conservation District), Don Sandal (Stanley Conservation District),

Others that were on Teleconference:

Paul Coughlin (Game Fish and Parks), Barry McLaury (DANR)

Approval of April 6, 2021 Minutes: A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded by Gerald Thaden to approve the April 6, 2021 minutes as submitted. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover- absent, Doug Hansen- aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. **Motion carried**

Corrections and or additions to the minutes: None

Upcoming travel: Bill Smith gave an update for the upcoming travel.

Request for new business to be placed on the agenda: None

Correspondence: None

Revolving Loan Report: Bill Smith gave the revolving loan status report.

Revolving Loan Application: (Grant County CD For New pickup)

Motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded to defer the loan application from Grant Conservation Commission to purchase a new pickup until the next meeting. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. **Motion approved** Grant County will not need to reapply this loan application for the fall round.

Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Amendments: Bill Smith gave an update

Grant Extension/Amendment Request (6 total)

A one-year Extension request was made by the Brule-Buffalo Conservation District Grant #2020-CSW-029 Renovation & Tree Planting. A motion was made by Gerald Thaden, seconded to approve the one-year extension. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. Motion carried

A one-year Extension request was made by the Custer Conservation District Grant # 2021-CSW-023-Thinning for a Resilient Forest. A motion was made by Charlie Moe, seconded to approve the one-year extension. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. Motion carried

A one-year Extension request was made by the Lawrence Conservation District Grant #2021-CSW-016 Thinning for Forest Health. A motion was made by Charlie Moe, seconded to approve the one-year extension. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. Motion carried

A one-year Extension request was made by the McPherson County Conservation District Grant #2020-CSW-021 Tree Project Health to expire on June 30, 2022. A motion was made by Gerald Thaden, seconded by Bruce Haines to approve the one-year extension. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. Motion carried

A one-year Extension request was made by the Miner Conservation District Grant #2020-CSW-024 for Soil Health Improvement. A motion was made by Gene Williams, seconded to approve the one-year extension. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. Motion carried

A request was made by the Davison County Conservation District Grant #2020-CSW-010 Cover Crop Grazing to add Sanborn County to the grant. A motion was made by Gene Williams, seconded to approve request. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-absent, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansenaye, Charlie Moe-absent, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. **Motion carried**.

Grant Status-FINAL REPORTS: Bill Smith gave a report on the final reports that are in the binders.

Commission Member reports: None

SDACD Partner Retreat: Angela Ehlers gave a report on the SDACD Retreat

2022 Cost Share Docket Comments: Alex Roeber informed the commission on a memo that was sent out to all the conservation districts detailing how to request changes for the 2022 cost share docket.

Soil Award (Roberts Conservation District):

Motion was made by Bruce Haines, seconded to recognize Todd Whepner from Roberts Conservation District with an Award-winning Soil and Conservation Farm and Ranch designation. Roll call vote: Mike Konechneabsent, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Charlie Moe-absent, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Corburn-absent. **Motion carried**.

Division Report: Alex Roeber gave the division report

Advisory Board members Reports: Jackie Byram gave the NRCS report.

Open Forum and Public Comment: None

New Business: None

Next Meeting location and place: The fall grant round will be on November 10, 2021 at the DANR Floyd Mathews Training room in Pierre. The time of the meeting is yet to be determined.

Ending Remarks: None

Meeting Adjourned at: 8:05 am MDT