State Conservation Commission Minutes Wednesday, January 15, 2025 2:00 PM CT Microsoft Teams

Call to Order: Chairman Doug Hansen called the meeting to order at 2:10 PM CT.

Roll Call of Members Present: Gene Williams, Tom Glover, Dean Odden, Bruce Haines, Duane Schneider, Doug Hansen, and Charlie Moe.

Absent: Dusty Rodiek and Bill Coburn

Others Present: Bill Smith (DANR), Alex Roeber (DANR), Jordan Turgeon (DANR), Paul Lorenzen (DANR), Betty Dunaway (DANR), Angela Ehlers (SDACD), Yvette Kirkman (Butte Conservation District), Deanna Kunkle (Codington Conservation District), Amy Sis (Grant Conservation District), Ivy Latham-Pazour (Spink County Conservation District), and Angie Jones (Dewey Conservation District) and Mike Larson (NRCS).

Conflict of Interest Disclosure: None.

Election of Officers: Doug Hansen turned over the gavel to Bill Smith for the election of officers. A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to nominate Doug Hansen as chairman and Gene Williams as vice -chair. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-abstain, Tom Glover-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-abstain, Charlie Moe-aye, Duane Schneider-aye, Bill Coburn-absent, and Dusty Rodiek-absent. Motion carried.

Approval of the November 6, 2024, Minutes: A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to approve the November 6, 2024, minutes as precented. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye, Bill Coburn-absent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, Doug Hansen-aye, and Charlie Moe-aye. Motion carried.

Request for new business to be placed on the agenda: None.

Upcoming travel: Bill Smith gave the upcoming travel. Dean Odden did not attend the December 12 Nonpoint Task Force meeting.

Correspondence: None.

Revolving Loan Program Report: Jordan Turgeon gave the Revolving Loan Program report.

Revolving Loan Program Applications: Jordan Turgeon presented six revolving loan applications for the commission's consideration.

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the Butte Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$33,000 to purchase a new drill. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Duane Schneider-aye, Bill Coburn-absent, and Dusty Rodiek-absent. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Duane Schneider and seconded to approve the Codington Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$18,000 to purchase a fabric machine. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Gloveraye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Bill Coburn-absent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Dean Odden and seconded to approve the Davison Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$50,000 to refinance a new truck. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Oddenaye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-abstain, Charlie Moe-aye, Bill Coburnabsent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to approve the Grant Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$16,500 to replace a compressor for a tree cooler. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Gloveraye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Bill Coburn-absent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded to approve the Jones Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$27,100 to purchase a grass drill. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Oddenaye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Bill Coburn-absent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to approve the Spink Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$171,000 for a tractor. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Bill Coburn-absent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Amendments: A motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded to approve the Dewey Conservation District's request to use the 2025 conservation commission docket for 2024-CSW-015 their Tree Grant. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-nay, Bill Coburn-absent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to approve a one-year extension for Mellette Conservation District Multi-Practice grant 2024-CSW-013. Roll call vote: Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-abstain, Bill Coburn-absent, Dusty Rodiek-absent, and Duane Schneider-aye. Motion carried.

Progress Reports: Chairman Doug Hanson provided an updated on the commission subcommittees establishing guidelines for information and education grants as well as shelterbelts. Discussion on guidelines will be deferred until the next meeting.

Division Report: Paul Lorenzen updated the Commission on division activities.

Advisory Board Members Reports: Angela Ehlers updated the commission on SDACD activities. Mike Larson updated the commission on the Natural Resources Conservation Service's activities.

Open Forum and Public Comment: None received.

New Business: None.

Next Meeting location and place: The next commission meeting will be the Spring Grant Round, with a tentative date of April 8 or 9 at the Matthews Training Center of the Joe Foss Building in Pierre.

Chairman Hansen declared the meeting adjourned at 3:12 PM CT.