DATE: Wednesday, May 29, 2024- 1:00-3:00 p.m. CDT

- Location: Mackay Building, Library Commons 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501
- Present: Lorenzo Bettelyoun, President Brian Brown, Member Amy Butchee, Member Valentina Merdanian, Member (Virtual) Brian Wagner, Member

Department of Education staff in attendance: Mark Gageby and Janet Penticoff

Opening Comments:

Welcome and introductions of members and staff present were made. Meeting was called to order by President Bettelyoun at approximately 1:22 p.m. CDT.

Adoption of Agenda:

Merdanian made a motion to approve the May 29, 2024, agenda; the motion was seconded by Wagner. The motion prevailed by voice vote.

Approval of Minutes:

Butchee made a motion to approve the minutes of the last meeting on June 21, 2023; the motion was seconded by Brown. The motion was prevailed by voice vote.

Available Funding:

Mark Gageby with the Department of Education gave an overview of funding available. Only the interest on this fund can be spent on scholarships; principal cannot be used. Discussion with the Board about how many applicants to award for 2024 based on funding available was held. The available funding to work with is \$60,791.92.

Merdanian made a motion to limit the funding to seven (7) new scholarships for 2024 fiscal year. Motion second by Brown. Motion passed with voice vote.

Continuation Scholarships

There is \$33,000 that is to be delivered to 19 applicants. The deadline for all their information and school transcript is May 31. They need to maintain their 12 credit hours and keep a 2.5 GPA. They get one grace period to get their credits increased or GPA up. The college does sign off if they have met the criteria or not.

Application Discussion:

Deadline for the grant applications changes each year. The grant opportunity is open for six weeks. It is a competitive grant.

Goal would be to have grant award information sent out beginning of February and due in March. The goal is to have this award process done before school is out. This would allow for winners to be notified at awards/scholarship banquet at the schools.

Rubric: Correct the GPA on Academic Performance for the Below Average, Average, Above Average. Also change the Below Average Accuplacer score to <221.

Remind students that Artificial Intelligence (AI) and CHAT GTP should not be used in personal essays.

Remind Board Members to watch for AI when reviewing the applications.

Public Comment:

No public comment.

Merdanian rescinded her motion to limit the scholarships to seven; the motion was seconded by Wagner. The motion was prevailed by voice vote.

Butchee moved to choose eight (8) recipients of the scholarships with no alternates; the motion was second by Brown. The motion was prevailed by voice vote.

Applications went the middle of January and deadline end of February. It was suggested to send out the first part of January and due March 1.

Executive Session:

The Board members moved into executive session to discuss applicant details for the 2024 award year at 2:07 PM. The Board moved out of executive session at 2:30 PM.

The following are recipient award winners.

Linkin Ballard, Caputa Alexander Poitra, Sioux Falls Caleb Zephier, Pickstown Makana Little Sky, Porcupine Naveah Morgan, Armour Hannah Tronvold, Lake Andes Kira Dermatis, Edgemont Alejandra Juarez, Fort Pierre

Future Meeting Schedule:

The board plans to meet the in the spring of 2025 for the next meeting. The goal is to have the grant notices go out the first week of January and have them due on March 1.

Adjournment:

Wagner made a motion to have the meeting adjourned and seconded by Brown. Meeting was adjourned at approximately 2:45 p.m. CDT.