## MINUTES OF THE SOUTH DAKOTA PETROLEUM RELEASE COMPENSATION CONFERENCE CALL BOARD MEETING

June 14, 2018

The South Dakota Petroleum Release Compensation Board Meeting was called to order by Chairman Dennis Rowley at 1:30 P.M. on June 14, 2018, and was held in the Foss Building, Matthew Training Center via conference call. A quorum was declared with four board members present.

Members Present: David Kallemeyn, Don Meyers, Dennis Rowley and Bert Olson.

Others Present: Alan Bakeberg, Nayyer Syed, Kim McIntosh and Vickie Maberry, DENR; Craig Eichstadt, Office of Attorney General; Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum & Propane Marketers Association; and, Daniel Lupton, Taylor & Mulder.

Chairman Dennis Rowley requested a motion to approve or disapprove the minutes of the March 22, 2018 meeting. A motion was made by Bert Olson to approve the minutes, and seconded by Dave Kallemeyn.

Alan Bakeberg reported on the financial status of the fund from the April 2018 fund statistics report in the Board packet.

Daniel Lupton with Taylor & Mulder Property and Casualty Consulting Actuaries explained their actuarial analysis of the Petroleum Release Compensation Fund and the results presented in their draft report dated June 11, 2018. Discussion followed regarding the results of the actuarial analysis and the impact that the recent changes to the UST rules may have on future costs.

Dawna Leitzke gave an update on the UST Owner/Operator Training they are providing under contract with DENR.

Alan Bakeberg and Craig Eichstadt informed the board of House Bill 1172 that changes SDCL 1-25-1 to require all meetings by public bodies after July 1, 2018, to provide a period for public comment during every official meeting. The board asked that a public comment period be added to the meeting agenda following review and approval of minutes.

Future meeting dates are tentatively set for September 13, 2018 and December 13, 2018.

A motion to adjourn was made by Dave Kallemeyn and seconded by Bert Olson. The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 pm.

http://boardsandcommissions.sd.gov/Meetings.aspx?BoardID=73.

Denni	s Rowley	. Chairm	a <b>n</b>	