SOUTH DAKOTA STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES Cultural Heritage Center, Pierre SD Conference Call – 10:00 a.m. Central Time Friday, July 12, 2019

Call to Order

The meeting of the South Dakota State Historical Society Board of Trustees was called to order by President Brad Tennant on July 12, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. via conference call. A quorum was present.

Board Members Present

Sean J. Flynn, John D. Fowler, Richard D. Harnois, Tom Hurlbert, Laurie Langland, Peggy Sanders, Rolene R. Schliesman, Brad Tennant, Tom D. Tobin, and Francis Whitebird.

Board Members Not Present Jon Lauck and David A. Wolff.

State Historical Society Staff Present

Jay D. Vogt, Renee Boen, Chelle Somsen, Ted Spencer, Jeanne Ode, Jay Smith, Catherine Forsch, and Caroline C. Uecker.

Others Present Bob Mercer of Pierre.

Welcome and Announcements

President Brad Tennant welcomed the members of the board, staff of the South Dakota State Historical Society, and guests. New trustees Sean J. Flynn and Tom Hurlbert were recognized.

Board Minutes

Minutes of the Board of Trustees' meeting of April 25, 2019 were mailed to the members of the Board of Trustees after the meeting. A MOTION TO APPROVE the minutes of April 25, 2019 was made by Laurie Langland and seconded by Sean Flynn. Motion prevailed unanimously on a roll call vote with ten ayes. Members voting aye: Flynn, Fowler, Harnois, Hurlbert, Langland, Sanders, Schliesman, Tennant, Tobin, and Whitebird.

Tennant asked if there was any public comment now. There was none.

There was no State Review Board.

Reports

Director Jay D. Vogt submitted his report. (Attachment #1). Vogt mentioned that state government offices are getting a new telephone system and that the Society has made the change already. He also mentioned that the Cultural Heritage Center will be getting a new security system and work will begin soon on the installation.

Renee Boen, State Archaeologist, submitted her report. (Attachment #2). Boen confirmed that the Archaeological Research Center's building was sold in June and plans continue to look for a new location for the office, with an anticipated move for next summer. Boen mentioned that the US Forest Service was invited to process their bulk soil samples using the Archaeological Research Center's water-

screening setup as they don't have one. There will be two separate groups at the Center July 15 and 16 to work on processing. The Center staff will provide lunch to them and to visiting researchers.

Chelle Somsen, State Archivist, submitted the Archives report. (Attachment #3). Somsen provided an update on the Archives Support Unit equipment operation's status and yearly maintenance.

Ted Spencer, Director of the Historic Preservation Office, submitted his report. (Attachment #4). Spencer gave an update on the CR Grid database system and said the site will soon be up and running with a new user interface. He mentioned that the McDowells purchased the vacant lot from the Sapienzas in the McDowell v. Sapienza lawsuit.

Jay Smith, Museum Director, submitted his report. (Attachment #5). Smith reported that a donation of \$1,500 from Dwight Walters was made towards the restoration of the Carl's Bait Shop Sign. He mentioned that Johnson Controls is the provider selected to install the new building security system.

Nancy T. Koupal, Director of Research and Publishing, submitted her report. (Attachment #6). Koupal was not available. Jeanne Ode reported that *First Strike: Doolittle Raider Don Smith* and *Equality at the Ballot Box: Votes for Women on the Northern Great Plains* will go to the printer in a couple weeks. The Spring issue of the quarterly will go to the printer next week and South Dakota History Notes is currently at the printer.

Catherine Forsch, President of the South Dakota Historical Society Foundation, submitted her report. (Attachment #7). Forsch had no additions to her report.

<u>Old Business</u> There was no old business.

Election of Officers

A MOTION WAS MADE by Peggy Sanders and seconded by Laurie Langland, to re-elect as vicepresident, David Wolff to a two-year term. Motion prevailed unanimously on a roll call vote with ten ayes: Flynn, Fowler, Harnois, Hurlbert, Langland, Sanders, Schliesman, Tennant, Tobin, and Whitebird.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Rolene Schliesman and seconded by Peggy Sanders, to re-elect as president, Brad Tennant to a two-year term. Motion prevailed unanimously on a roll call vote with ten ayes: Flynn, Fowler, Harnois, Hurlbert, Langland, Sanders, Schliesman, Tennant, Tobin, and Whitebird.

Other Business

(Attachment #8) A MOTION WAS MADE by Brad Tennant and seconded by Sean Flynn, to award a certificate of recognition to Sue Gates, as the long-time director of the Dacotah Prairie Museum in Aberdeen. Motion prevailed unanimously on a roll call vote with ten ayes: Flynn, Fowler, Harnois, Hurlbert, Langland, Sanders, Schliesman, Tennant, Tobin, and Whitebird.

The next Board of Trustees meeting is scheduled for September 6, 2019 in Pierre.

There was no executive session.

The meeting was adjourned by acclamation at 10:40 a.m.

I, Jay D. Vogt, Director of the South Dakota State Historical Society, declare that these minutes are a true and accurate reflection of the business conducted at the July 12, 2019 meeting of the South Dakota State Historical Society Board of Trustees.

Jay D. Vogt, Director South Dakota State Historical Society

Caroline C. Uecker Recording Secretary