Meeting Minutes - Draft Executive Committee Conference Call

South Dakota Council of Juvenile Services (CJS) August 18, 2023

CJS Executive Committee Members: Beth O'Toole, Chair and Professor at the University of Sioux Falls; Sara McGregor-Okroi, Vice-Chair and Director of Aliive Roberts County; Judge Tami Bern, Circuit Court Judge in the First Circuit; Charles Frieberg, Director of Court Services; and Sheriff Brad Howell, Codington County Sheriff.

Executive Committee Members Present: Chair Beth O'Toole, Vice-Chair Sara McGregor-Okroi, Judge Tami Bern, and Charles Frieberg.

Executive Committee Members Absent: Sheriff Brad Howell

Others Present: Kristi Bunkers, Haley Carey, Bridget Coppersmith and John Stewart, South Dakota Department of Corrections (DOC).

1. WELCOME

Chair Beth O'Toole called the meeting to order at 2:02 PM on Friday, August 18, 2023, and welcomed everyone to the call. Chair O'Toole explained that the purpose of the meeting was to act regarding the FY2023 Formula Grant Application.

2. DISCLOSURE OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

Coppersmith asked if any Council Members had conflicts of interest with the proposed agenda to disclose. No conflicts were disclosed.

3. PERIOD FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair O'Toole asked if there were any public comments to be brought before the Council at the meeting. After confirmation that no one had comments to share, Chair O'Toole proceeded with the meeting agenda and ended the period for public comment.

4. APPROVAL OF FY2022 FORMULA GRANT APPLICATION

Coppersmith explained that the FY2023 Formula Grant Application was the third year of the 2021 Three-Year Plan and that funding would run from October 2023 to September 2027. Coppersmith noted that FY2020 Formula Grant funds are currently being spent and that South Dakota had been awarded funding for FY2021 and FY2022 which would be spent prior to utilizing the FY2023 award. The FY2023 application was due to the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention by August 21, 2023.

Coppersmith explained that federal fiscal year 2022 detention data findings were inputted to OJJDP's Compliance Monitoring Tool (CMT). John Stewart reported zero deinstitutionalization of status offender (DSO) violations, zero jail removal, and zero sight and sound separation violations.

Coppersmith stated the program narrative outlines South Dakota's compliance with the 33 statutory requirements of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA) and contains goals, objectives, and action plans consistent with current justice program areas. Coppersmith noted that, along with the budget, the narrative is based on what is currently being implemented and can be amended once South Dakota gets closer to drawing down the award. Since program goals have not changed since the FY2021 application, a statement of no change would be submitted in lieu of a new narrative.

Discussion ensued regarding the content of the application and appreciation to staff at the Department of Corrections for their work on it.

Charles Friberg moved to approve the FY2023 Formula Grant Application for submission to OJJDP as presented. Sara McGregor-Okroi seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

5. WRAP-UP AND ADJOURN

At 2:08 PM, Beth O'Toole moved to adjourn the Executive Committee Meeting. Charles Friberg seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

Recorded by Bridget Coppersmith
Juvenile Justice Specialist