# SOUTH DAKOTA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Thursday, November 14, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. CST

Becker-Hansen Building/Commission Room - 700 East Broadway Avenue, Pierre, South Dakota

**COMMISSIONER PRESENT:** Rick Vallery

**COMMISSIONER PRESENT** 

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Lynn Jensen, Chairman

Jaf Karim Chris Frick Larry Nelson Ron Rosenboom Mike Vehle Austin Simons

**DOT STAFF PRESENT:** Joel Jundt, Karla Engle, Sam Weisgram, and Kari Kroll

**DOT STAFF PRESENT** 

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Mike Behm

**OTHERS PRESENT** 

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Kirk Van Roekel – Federal Highway Administration (FHWA); Toby Crow –

Association of General Contractors (AGC); Leah Demers – FHWA; and

Frank Kloucek

Chairman Lynn Jensen called the meeting of the South Dakota Transportation Commission (the "Commission") to order at 9:00 a.m. CT. A roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

\*\*\*

Jensen opened the floor to the Commission members to disclose potential conflicts of interest and to present requests for waiver pursuant to South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) chapters 3-23.

No members of the Commission disclosed a conflict or requested a waiver.

\*\*\*

Jensen asked for a motion to approve the October 24, 2024 Commission meeting minutes.

Kari Kroll, Office of the Secretary, noted a correction on page two in the motion for the approval of the September minutes that it should read motion made by Rosenboom and seconded by Vallery, not Valley.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Vehle and seconded by Frick to approve the October 24, 2024 Commission meeting minutes with the correction on page two requested by Kroll. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

\*\*\*

Jensen opened the floor to public input.

No members of the public addressed the Commission nor offered input.

\*\*\*

Sam Weisgram, Office of Project Development, presented to the Commission the following bid letting results:

#### November 6, 2024

# Cold Milling, Asphalt Concrete Surfacing/Resurfacing, Guardrail, Pipe Work, Ramp Detours, Acceleration and Deceleration Lane Modification

1 06P3 IM 0295(46)139 Brookings, Deuel County
Duininck, Inc \$9,840,426.33
I29 S - Fm SD30 to SD28

#### Structure (127' Continuous Concrete Bridge) & Approach Grading

2 08ML BRO-B 8010(29)
Grangaard Construction Inc \$1,668,709.50

Structure 1 S & 3 W of Newell on Viken Rd over Horse Ck SN 10-280-349

#### Structure (125'-7" Continuous Concrete Bridge) & Approach Grading

3 08MM BRF-B 6510(05) Codington County
Grangaard Construction Inc \$2,417,063.00
Structure 4 S & 2.6 E of Watertown on 176th St over the Big Sioux Rv SN 15-216-220

#### **Bridge Deck Treatment**

6 08P8 IM-NH-P 0020(225) Lincoln, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Turner County Journey Group Companies \$246,246.46 Various Locations Throughout the Mitchell Region

## Spot Grading, PCC Surfacing, Crossover, Structures (8x8 CIP or Precast RCBC, 2-9x4 Precast RCBC, 11x5 Precast RCBC)

7 07W6 PT 0908(105)349 Hanson, McCook County T&R Contracting Inc \$11,108,700.00 190 E & W - Fm Exit 350 (SD25) to 4 W of Exit 364 (Salem)

#### **Asphalt Concrete Surfacing**

8 06WY P 0025(90)132
Asphalt Paving & Materials Company
SD25 - Fm N of the N Jct of SD28 N 6.3

Clark County \$3,747,159.92

A MOTION WAS MADE by Frick and seconded by Rosenboom to approve bids #1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8. All present voted age by roll call vote. The motion carried.

### Structure (5-12'x12' CIP RCBC) & Approach Grading

4 08N8 BRO-B 8058(31) Lehtola Builders, Inc. Spink County

\$1,229,188.53

Structure 1 N & 5 W of Tulare on 182nd St over Turtle Ck SN 58-050-340

### Structure (4-12'x9' CIP RCBC) & Approach Grading

5 08N9 BRO-B 8058(32) Lehtola Builders, Inc. Spink County

\$848,769.52

Structure 1 S & 1.8 W of Northville on 155th St over Snake Ck SN 58-052-070

A MOTION WAS MADE by Vallery and seconded by Simons to approve bids #4 and 5. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

\*\*\*

Secretary Joel Jundt reminded the Commission that the next regular meeting is Tuesday, November 26, 2024 via conference call.

With no further business to come before the Commission, Chairman Jensen declared the meeting adjourned at 9:09 a.m. CT.