SOUTH DAKOTA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Thursday, June 15, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. CDT

Becker-Hansen Building/Commission Room - 700 East Broadway Avenue, Pierre, South Dakota

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Jaf Karim, Chairman

Lynn Jensen, Vice-chairman

Ron Rosenboom Kathy Zander Mike Vehle Larry Nelson Chris Frick Austin Simons

DOT STAFF PRESENT: Secretary Jundt, Mike Behm, Craig Smith, Karla Engle, Mark Leiferman,

Sam Weisgram, Katlyn Wieme, and Kari Kroll

OTHERS PRESENT

VIA CONFERNECE CALL: Toby Crow – Associated General Contractors (AGC) and Gerrit Juffer -

Wagner

Chairman Karim called the meeting of the South Dakota Transportation Commission (the "Commission") to order at 9:00 a.m. CDT. A roll call was taken and a quorum was determined.

Karim opened the floor to the Commission members to disclose potential conflicts of interest and to present a request for waiver pursuant to South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) chapters 3 – 23.

No members of the Commission disclosed a conflict of interest or requested a waiver.

Karim asked for a motion to approve the May 25, 2023 Commission meeting minutes.

Karla Engle, Office of Legal Counsel, asked the Commission to approve the minutes with the insertion of the word "Regents" after the phrase "Board of" in the first sentence of the first motion on page two of the minutes, as that word was accidently deleted during proofing by Department of Transportation (the "Department") staff.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Vehle and seconded by Jensen to approve the May 25, 2023 Commission meeting minutes with the word "Regents" inserted after the phrase "Board of" in the first sentence of the first motion on page two of the minutes. All present voted age by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Karim opened the floor to public input.

Gerrit Juffer of Wagner, South Dakota, addressed the Commission to give his assessment of the progress regarding the proposed 3-lane highway project through Wagner. He mentioned that a concerned group of citizens met with officials of the Department, some Wagner City Council members, and the Mayor of Wagner to continue the discussion about the construction plans. Juffer said the group could agree on the plans for the east and west side of Wagner as well as the proposed 5-lane segment but that there was still concern over 7 blocks of the plan through the Wagner business area. He thanked the Department and the Commission for their work on the project to date.

Sam Weisgram, Office of Project Development, presented to the Commission the following bid results.

June 7, 2023

Structure (4-11'x10' CIP RCBC) & Approach Grading

1 08MN BRF-B 6266(08) Grant County
Lehtola Builders, Inc. \$847,669.88
Structure 2.5 Miles South and 12.2 Miles west of Marvin on 149th Street over the Big Sioux River

Rapid City County Pavement Marking

2 07DV, 07X1 P 000S(00)288, PH 000S(421)

Dakota Barricade, LLC

Various Locations in the Rapid City Region

Rapid City Region

\$1,754,107.04

Signing & Delineation

3 04L9 PH 8053(23) Perkins County
Hamm Contracting, LLC \$1,518,151.90
Various County, City, & Township Roads in Perkins County

A MOTION WAS MADE by Nelson and seconded by Rosenboom to approve bids #1, 2, and 3. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Secretary Joel Jundt acknowledged the two new Transportation Commissioners – Chris Frick and Austin Simons – and noted a more formal introduction will take place at the June 29, 2023 in-person meeting.

With no further business to come before the Commission, Karim adjourned the meeting at 9:10 a.m. CT.