SOUTH DAKOTA AERONAUTICS COMMISSION MEETING

Wednesday, December 21, 2022, at 2:00 p.m. CST

Becker-Hansen Building/ Commission Room – 700 E. Broadway Ave, Pierre SD 57501

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT VIA CONFERENCE CALL:	Eric Odenbach, Chairman Bob Huggins, Vice-chairman Christopher Funk Rolf Johnson Dave Luers Kassidy Nelson
DOT STAFF PRESENT:	Kellie Beck, Jack Dokken, Tom Koch, Jon Becker, Katlyn Wieme and Kari Kroll
DOT STAFF PRESENT VIA CONFERENCE CALL: OTHERS PRESENT VIA CONFERENCE CALL:	Joel Jundt, Dustin DeBoer, and Brad Remmich Steve Hamilton – South Dakota Pilots Association (SDPA) and Mike Ginther – Lemmon Airport
Chairman Eric Odenbach cal	led the meeting of the South Dakota Aeronautics Commission (the

Chairman Eric Odenbach called the meeting of the South Dakota Aeronautics Commission (the "Commission") to order at 2:00 p.m. CDT. A roll call was taken, and a quorum was determined.

Odenbach opened the floor to the Commission to disclose potential conflicts of interest and to present requests for waiver pursuant to the South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) Chapter 3-23.

No members of the Commission disclosed any conflicts of interest, and no waivers were requested.

Odenbach asked for a motion to approve the October 20, 2022 Commission meeting minutes.

Vice-chairman Bob Huggins asked for the minutes to be edited to reflect the correct minutes date in the motion. It currently reads August 18, 2022, and it should read September 15, 2022.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Huggins and seconded by Luers to approve the October 20, 2022 Commission meeting minutes with the correction requested by Huggins. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Odenbach opened the floor to nominations for the election of officers. Commissioner Johnson nominated the Chairman and Vice-Chairman remain the same. There were no further nominations.

Commissioner Christopher Funk joined the meeting at 2:08 p.m.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Johnson and seconded by Luers to elect Eric Odenbach as Chairman. All present voted aye by roll call vote except Eric Odenbach who abstained. The motion carried.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Johnson and seconded by Luers to elect Bob Huggins as Vice-chairman. All present voted aye by roll call vote except Bob Huggins who abstained. The motion carried.

Odenbach opened the floor to public input.

No one from the public addressed the Commission or offered input.

Commissioner Kassidy Nelson joined the meeting at 2:12 p.m.

Secretary Jundt presented the Secretary's Report to the Commission. He reported Congress passed a continuing resolution to the federal appropriations bill that will expire December 23, 2022. He also noted Congress agreed to start the bill in the Senate, followed by the House. If passed, the appropriations bill will provide the full year federal funds for FFY 2023.

Jundt also presented the proposed 2023 Commission meeting dates.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Huggins and seconded by Funk to approve the proposed 2023 Commission meeting dates. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Jack Dokken, Program Manager for the Office of Air, Rail, and Transit, presented to the Commission for their approval the final draft of the 2022 Aeronautics Report for Governor Noem pursuant to SDCL § 50-2-4.

SDCL Chapter § 50-2-4: Report to Governor. On or before the thirty-first day of December, in each year, the commission shall make, to the Governor, a full report of its proceedings for the year ending the thirtieth day of June preceding and may submit with the report any recommendations pertaining to the commission's affairs as seem to the commission to be desirable.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Johnson and seconded by Funk to approve the presented draft as the final copy of the 2022 Aeronautics Commission Report and authorized the Department of Transportation (the "Department") to deliver to the Governor. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

The Department has prepared a cover letter for Chairman Odenbach to sign as requested by the Commission.

Jon Becker, Office of Air, Rail and Transit, presented to the Commission for their consideration a Request for Proposal (RFP) to authorize the Department to hire a consultant firm to study all public use airports in South Dakota in order to identify their current airport zoning statuses. The study would review public use airports across South Dakota and determine their respective local zoning ordinances that are in place to determine if there are properly zoned based on federal and state requirements. Outside resources are needed to perform this work since Department does not have the resources to review nor do they have current documentation of which airports have the proper zoning ordinances in place. The project would be funded by the State Aeronautics Fund and would be capped at \$60,000.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Huggins and seconded by Luers to authorize the Secretary or his designee to solicit proposals from consulting firms for the South Dakota Public Use Airport Zoning Study that would utilize up to \$60,000 of State Aeronautics Funds. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Tom Koch, Office of Air, Rail, and Transit, presented to the Commission the consideration of the 2023 Airport License Renewal list. The list consisted of 70 airports.

The Department recommends approval of the 2023 public use license with the restrictions as noted on Attachment #5 and subject to the receipt of their applications.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Luers and seconded Johnson to approve all the airports as recommended by the Department with the exceptions of Aberdeen Regional, Eureka Municipal, Brookings Municipal, and Watertown Municipal Airports. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Luers and seconded by Nelson to approve the Aberdeen Regional Airport. All present voted aye by roll call vote except Commission Rolf Johnson who abstained due to previously disclosed conflict of interest. The motion carried.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Johnson and seconded by Luers to approve the Brookings Municipal Airport. All present voted aye by roll call vote except Commission Christopher Funk who abstained due to previously disclosed conflict of interest. The motion carried. A MOTION WAS MADE by Johnson and seconded by Luers to approve the Eureka Municipal Airport. All present voted aye by roll call vote except Chairman Eric Odenbach who abstained due to previously disclosed conflict of interest. The motion carried.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Luers and seconded by Nelson to approve the Watertown Municipal Airport. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Koch presented to the Commission for their consideration a request from the city of Lemmon for \$552.96 of airport fuel tax funds to pay for airport signs. The new signs are needed due to a change in the runway designation.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Funk and seconded by Huggins to approve the payment of \$552.96 in airport fuel tax funds to the city of Lemmon. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Odenbach requested that a discussion about maintenance of weather reporting devices at the airports be put on the agenda.

Vice-chairman Bob Huggins brought to the Commissions attention about a Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) funded program to install weather cameras at local airports.

Jon Becker shared that the Department has been in contact with the FAA about the FAA weather camera program and an application was submitted for the Black Hills airports.

This item will be added to the January agenda for future discussion.

With no further business to come before the Commission, Odenbach adjourned the meeting at 2:43 p.m. CT