Hagen-Harvey Memorial Scholarship Board MEETING MINUTES

April 4th, 2025, at 8:15 a.m. CST

MacKay Building, 1st Floor Library Commons 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Present: Lorenzo Bettelyoun, President Brian Brown, Member Amy Boutchee, Member Valentina Merdanian, Member (Virtual) Brian Wagner, Member

Department of Education staff in attendance: Melissa Bothun and Janet Penticoff

Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance, and Roll Call:

The Hagen-Harvey Memorial Scholarship Board was called to order by President Bettelyoun at approximately 8:30 a.m. CST.

Adoption of Agenda:

Boutchee made a motion to amend the agenda by moving the Executive Session from line-item number 12 to follow line-item number 5 and adopt. Motion seconded by Brown. The motion prevailed by voice vote: agenda adopted as amended.

Approval of Minutes:

Brown moved to amend the spelling of Boutchee's last name in the May 29, 2024, meeting. Motion seconded by Wagner. The motion prevailed by voice vote.

Boutchee moved to approve minutes as amended. Motion second by Wagner. The motion prevailed by voice vote. Minutes approved as amended.

Public Comment:

No individuals were registered nor present to make public comment.

Available Funding:

Funding report was given by Melissa Bothun with the Department of Education. Pursuant to SDCL, the total amount of awards in any year may not invade the principal investment referenced in § 13-55-37. The fund report, generated on March 20th, 2025, was shared with the Board. Available interest for scholarship disbursement for the 25-26 school year was \$62, 729.12. Of this amount, \$37, 437.20 was accrued in the current year. The interest balance carried forward was \$25,291.92.

Discussion with the Board about how many applicants to award for 2025 based on funding available was held.

Continuing scholarship awards in award years two through four for the 25-26 school year will total \$23,500. Those same continuing awards will total \$30,500 for the 26-27 school year. Should past interest trends continue, interest accrued and available for the 26-27 school year should be approximately \$38,000.

Hagen-Harvey Memorial Scholarship Board MEETING MINUTES

April 4th, 2025, at 8:15 a.m. CST MacKay Building, 1st Floor Library Commons 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Discussion was held as to the ability of the board to increase the scholarship award amounts pursuant to SDCL 13-55. The Board discussed the potential need to increase award amounts within the four-year schedule to be responsive to the rise in post-secondary tuition. The Board requested Bothun consult legal to determine if an increase by the board was permissible.

Brown moved to collect and track degree attainment data for scholarship recipients. Motion seconded by Wagner. Bothun will gather available data to be discussed within the agenda of the 2026 Board Meeting.

Bettelyoun expressed desire to better understand the Board members have in the selection of nominees for Board appointment by the Governor.

Continuation Scholarships

There are currently sixteen continuation scholarships for the 25-26 school year. Three in year four, six in year three, and seven in year two.

Determination of Scholarships to be Awarded 25-26

The Board determined a maximum of five additional four-year scholarships could be awarded within the 25-26 school year to ensure accrued interest in subsequent years would be enough to sustain the awarded scholarships through the four years of the award; year 1: \$1,000, year 2: \$1,000, year 3: \$1,500, and year 4:\$2,500. The addition of five scholarship awards beginning in the 25-26 school year would bring the scholarship award total in 25-26 expended to \$28,500, and the 26-27 total to \$35,500.

Continuation Scholarship letters will be sent out in the coming week to all continuing scholarship recipients. An Eligibility Letter and Eligibility Form will be sent. The Eligibility Letter informs continuing scholarship recipients of the deadlines for the Eligibility Form and official post-secondary transcript.

Executive Session:

The Board members moved into executive session to discuss applicant details for the 2025 award year at 10:15 AM. The Board moved out of executive session at 11:00 AM.

Scholarships were awarded to the following applicants:

August Bartels Cole Ducheneaux Kyra Perkins Ethan Phelps Scarlett Renville

Two Alternates selected: Lavina Patton Mason Schempp

Hagen-Harvey Memorial Scholarship Board MEETING MINUTES

April 4th, 2025, at 8:15 a.m. CST MacKay Building, 1st Floor Library Commons 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Brian Wagner moved to award the scholarships as read, second by Merdanian. The motion prevailed by voice vote.

Award Letters and Letters of Acceptance will be sent out next week to all new scholarship recipients which includes the date the acceptance letters must be received by. A copy of South Dakota Codified law 13.55 will accompany the letters, which outlines the requirements.

Future Meeting Schedule:

Merdanian moved to establish a date and time as a Board to have a working session to address Agenda Items 9. Application Revision, and 10. Application Process when the Board has the necessary information gathered to better develop the application and Rubic form. Motion seconded by Boutchee. Merdanian amended her motion to include the schedule for how application is posted and application window; how the word is distributed to public and BIE schools to receive applications. Wagner added to discuss what Bothun discovers from requested legal counsel inquiries. Motion second by Boutchee. The motion prevailed by voice vote.

Adjournment:

Brown made a motion to have the meeting adjourned and seconded by Wagner. Meeting was adjourned at approximately 11:52 a.m. CDT.