MINUTES OF THE SD WEED & PEST CONTROL COMMISSION April 23, 2019 – 1 pm CDT SDSU Regional Extension Center, 400 W. Missouri Ave., Pierre, SD

Lynn Deibert called the meeting to order at 1:10 PM, April 23, 2019.

Members Present: Chairman Lynn Deibert, Commissioners Ron Thyen, Floyd Muntefering, Duane Buckmeier, and Craig Magedanz; Department of Transportation representative Tony Ondricek, Association of County Commissioners Representative Neil VonEschen and School & Public Lands Representative Ryan Brunner.

Ex-Officio/Non-Voting Members Present: Dept. of Ag representative Tom Gere, SDSU representative Paul Johnson, and Commission Secretary/Plant Industry Program Manager Brenda Sievers.

Also present were those listed on Exhibit #1.

Introductions were made of Commission members.

Chairman Deibert asked for any changes to the agenda. A motion was made by Ryan Brunner, seconded by Craig Magedanz, to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Chairman Deibert asked for any changes to the minutes from the two February meetings. A motion was made by Ryan Brunner, seconded by Floyd Muntefering, to approve the minutes from Meeting 1 and Meeting 2 held on February 20th. Motion carried.

Activity Reports

Department of Agriculture

Brenda Sievers gave an update on the Weed and Pest Program Specialist position that was open after Ron Moehring retired. The weed and pest contractual grant amounts were still being calculated. The Department attended a number of annual weed meetings since February.

Dale Anderson reported on the CAPS pest surveys that are being planned for the upcoming season. Mike Stenson reported on the bio control survey plans.

District Reports

District reports were given by Craig Magedanz, At Large – he attended three county annual meetings this spring; Ron Thyen, District 1 – a lot of snow and water in his area which resulted in loss of calves; Floyd Muntefering, District 2 – the leafy spurge is coming and they will spray where they can in his area; Lynn Deibert, District 3 – only had six inches of snow in last storm but the wormwood sage is coming; and Duane Buckmeier, District 4 – most counties have ordered or have chemical on hand but not sure how soon they will spray.

Association of County Commissioners

Neil VonEschen reported that it is too wet to start road spraying and they have soft roads in his area.

Department of Agriculture

Tom Gere reported the legislative session ended with a lot of talk on industrial hemp. One concern is the administration of the program.

Department of Transportation

Tony Ondricek is the new representative for Department of Transportation on the Commission. He reported that they have let contacts for the year for many projects, with things coming in higher than expected.

School & Public Lands

Ryan Brunner reported that they have just completed their lease auctions.

SDSU

Paul Johnson talked about weed meetings attended and he now has management duties over the NE Research Farm.

Public Comment Period

Chairman Deibert opened up the meeting for public comments, but none were presented.

Old Business

Weed and Pest Conference

Brenda Sievers read a report from Gary Pribyl on the 2019 Conference. There were 176 registered attendees and 14 exhibitors at the Conference as well as income for the scholarship program was at \$2050. There were many good comments on the Conference this year. The 2020 Conference will be in Aberdeen February 19-21. There hasn't been a decision on the location for the 2021 Conference.

Code of Conduct for Commission Members

Chris Petersen, Finance Director for SD Department of Agriculture, talked about the Code of Conduct for Commission Members and handed out a copy. The State Board of Internal Controls hasn't made any changes to the document since the last time he had met with the Commission. Chris answered questions from Commission members on that document and discussion was held. A motion was made by Ryan Brunner, seconded by Floyd Muntefering, to adopt the Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Policy as presented. Motion carried.

New Business

Locally Noxious Weed Request

Pennington County was requesting to add Absinth Wormwood to their locally noxious listing. They didn't get it added to their county weed board agenda in time for the February Commission Meeting. A motion was made by Craig Magedanz, seconded by Ryan Brunner to approve Pennington County's request to put Absinth Wormwood on their locally noxious list. Motion carried.

Long Range Objectives

The Long Range Objectives were presented. A motion was made by Ryan Brunner to accept the Long Range Objectives. Seconded by Neal VonEschen. Motion carried.

Annual Work Plan

Brenda Sievers discussed the Annual Work Plan, including the calendar and meeting dates. A motion was made by Neal VonEschen to accept the Annual Work Plan. Seconded by Craig Magedanz. Motion carried.

Chairman Lynn Deibert led a discussion on the statewide and locally noxious weed lists. Discussion was held on palmer amaranth as well. By the September meeting, the Department of Agriculture will work to clarify acre numbers that have been reported by the counties for Russian Knapweed, since there have been issues finding those acres in the past. Also at the September meeting, the Commission again would like to discuss Absinth Wormwood as a state noxious weed.

Elections

Chairman Deibert turned the meeting over to Paul Johnson to conduct elections. Paul Johnson called for nominations for Chairman. A motion was made by Craig Magedanz, seconded by Ryan Brunner to nominate Lynn Deibert for Chairman. A motion was made by Duane Buckmeier, seconded by Ron Thyen, to have nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast for Lynn Deibert as Chairman. Motion carried. Chairman will be Lynn Deibert.

Paul Johnson turned the meeting back to Chairman Deibert. Chairman Deibert called for nominations for Vice Chairman. A motion was made by Ryan Brunner, seconded by Neal VonEschen to nominate Craig Magedanz. A motion was made by Ron Thyen, seconded by Duane Buckmeier, that nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast for Craig Magedanz as Vice-Chairman. Motion carried. The Vice-Chairman will be Craig Magedanz.

Approval of Bills

A motion was made by Floyd Muntefering, seconded by Neal VonEschen, to pay the meeting expenses, salary and per diem for meetings attended. Motion carried.

Chairman Deibert declared the meeting adjourned at 2:51 pm.

Brenda Sievers	
Commission Secre	tary
Lynn Deibert, Com	
(Approved Minutes)