MINUTES OF THE SOUTH DAKOTA ANNUAL WEED & PEST CONTROL COMMISSION MEETING April 11, 2024 – 10:30 am CT Matthew Training Center, Foss Building, 523 E. Capitol Ave., Pierre, SD

Chairman Darwin Kurtenbach called the meeting to order at 10:40 am, April 11, 2024.

Members Present: Commissioners Dennis Feickert (remote), Bruce Helbig, Darwin Kurtenbach, Chuck Anderson (remote), Deb Schultz (remote), Department of Transportation Representative Christina Bennett; Game Fish & Parks representative Ryan Wendinger (remote); and School and Public Lands representative Brock Greenfield. Non-Voting Members - SD Department of Agriculture representative Bill Smith; SDSU Representative Eric Jones (remote); and Commission Secretary and Plant Industry Program Manager Brenda Sievers. (Exhibit #1)

Deb Schultz made a motion to approve the agenda (Exhibit #2). Seconded by Bruce Helbig. Roll call vote: Chuck Anderson – yes; Christina Bennett – yes; Dennis Feickert – yes; Bruce Helbig – yes; Deb Schultz – yes; Ryan Wendinger – yes. Motion carried 6 yes and 0 no.

A motion was made by Chuck Anderson, seconded by Ryan Wendinger, to approve the minutes from Meeting 1 and Meeting 2 held on February 21, after correcting Meeting 2, Brock Greenfield's name on page 5 in the third paragraph under the chart. Roll call vote: Chuck Anderson – yes; Christina Bennett – yes; Dennis Feickert – yes; Bruce Helbig – yes; Deb Schultz – yes; Ryan Wendinger – yes. Motion carried 6 yes and 0 no.

Activity Reports

Weed & Pest Coordinator's Report – Department of Agriculture & Natural Resources

Brenda Sievers reported that contractual grant amounts for FY2025 were \$6,100 for the full amount and \$3,400 for those who only had one person at the Conference. Sievers also reported on hiring a State Survey Coordinator for the CAPS program.

District Reports

District reports were given by Dennis Feickert, District 1 – attended Weed Board Meeting in McPherson County and he is now on the Brown County Weed Board; Darwin Kurtenbach, District 2 – attended Hutchinson County Annual Meeting; Bruce Helbig, District 3 – nothing to report; Chuck Anderson, District 4 – business as usual, chemical bids coming in; and Deb Schultz, At Large – people in area are gearing up for spring spraying.

Department of Agriculture & Natural Resources

Bill Smith, Division Director of Resource Conservation & Forestry, reported on emerald ash borer detection in Lennox, staffing changes and the Conservation Commission Meeting.

Department of Game Fish & Parks

Ryan Wendinger reported they had nothing new. Seasonals have been hired and they are gearing up for the season and spraying.

Department of Transportation

Christina Bennett reported that there were 30 spraying contracts issued in March and April for a total of \$945,903.

SDSU

Eric Jones reported they have posted online the updated Noxious Weed Management Guide and the Range and Pasture Guide. They are planning to have sites set up for the tour this fall. He is working on greenhouse trials for yellow toadflax management.

Old Business

No old business to report.

New Business

Weed & Pest Conference 2024 & 2025

Gary Pribyl reported there were 157 people registered for the 2024 Conference. The 2025 Weed and Pest Conference will be held February 19-21 in Huron. Pribyl also reported that the Association of SD County Weed and Pest Boards decided in February to not host District Meetings in the fall of 2024. It was decided the meetings weren't useful for the costs.

Brock Greenfield joined the meeting.

Long Range Directives

The Long Range Directives were presented. Brenda Sievers explained the changes made to the document from last year. Discussion was held and Commission members decided to change Section V, D1 to state f. Cheyenne River and to change h. from Pine Ridge to Oglala Lakota (Pine Ridge). Discussion was also held on those in charge of tribal land operations. A motion was made by Bruce Helbig, seconded by Christina Bennett to approve the Long Range Directives with the changes made. Roll call vote: Chuck Anderson – yes; Christina Bennett – yes; Dennis Feickert – yes; Brock Greenfield – yes; Bruce Helbig – yes; Deb Schultz – yes; Ryan Wendinger – yes. Motion carried 7 yes and 0 no.

Annual Work Plan

The Annual Work Plan was presented. Brenda Sievers went over the changes made, including the new dates on the calendar of events. The fall Commission Meeting is scheduled for District 1 on September 10th, with the fall tour September 11th. Chuck Anderson had questions on page 6, section 3D, about mailing notices to landowners. Sievers addressed the questions on mailing notices out and how some counties have allowed including noxious weed information with tax notices and other counties have not allowed it. A motion was made by Dennis Feickert, seconded by Ryan Wendinger, to approve the Annual Work Plan as presented. Roll call vote: Chuck Anderson – yes; Christina Bennett – yes; Dennis Feickert – yes; Brock Greenfield – yes; Bruce Helbig – yes; Deb Schultz – yes; Ryan Wendinger – yes. Motion carried 7 yes and 0 no.

Elections

Chairman Kurtenbach turned the meeting over to Brenda Sievers to conduct elections. Sievers called for nominations for Chairman. Dennis Feickert nominated Darwin Kurtenbach for Chairman. A motion was made by Chuck Anderson, seconded by Ryan Wendinger, to have nominations cease and cast a unanimous ballot for Darwin Kurtenbach for Chairman. Roll call vote: Chuck Anderson – yes; Christina Bennett – yes; Dennis Feickert – yes; Brock Greenfield – yes; Bruce Helbig – yes; Deb Schultz – yes; Ryan Wendinger – yes. Motion carried 7 yes and 0 no. Sievers turned the meeting back over to Chairman Kurtenbach.

Chairman Kurtenbach called for nominations for Vice-Chairman position. Dennis Feickert nominated Lynn Deibert. A motion was made by Bruce Helbig, seconded by Chuck Anderson, to have nominations cease and cast a unanimous ballot for Lynn Deibert for Vice-Chairman. Roll call vote: Chuck Anderson – yes; Christina Bennett – yes; Dennis Feickert – yes; Brock Greenfield – yes; Bruce Helbig – yes; Deb Schultz – yes; Ryan Wendinger – yes. Motion carried 7 yes and 0 no.

Public Comment Period

Chairman Kurtenbach opened the meeting for public comments, with a 3-minute limit per speaker. Nathan Jagim talked about the Weed Watcher Plus that they are working on that will be available for educational information to mail out. He also talked about the poster created containing all the state and locally noxious weeds. It is available for supervisors and others who are interested. He will make them available after the meeting to take and distribute to agencies and counties around the state, with no plans to ship any of the posters due to costs involved.

Approval of Bills

A motion was made by Bruce Helbig, seconded by Dennis Feickert, to pay the meeting expenses, salary and per diem for meetings attended. Roll call vote: Chuck Anderson – yes; Christina Bennett – yes; Dennis Feickert – yes; Brock Greenfield – yes; Bruce Helbig – yes; Deb Schultz – yes; Ryan Wendinger – yes. Motion carried 7 yes and 0 no.

Chairman Kurtenbach declared the meeting adjourned at 11:55 am.

_____ films **Brenda Sievers**

Commission Secretary

Darwin W. Kurtenbach, Commission Chairman (Approved Minutes)