# **State Conservation Commission Meeting Outline**

## February 11, 2021

## Via Teleconference

Call to Order: meeting was called to order at 1:00 pm by Chairman Doug Hansen.

## **Roll Call:**

Charlie Moe, Gene Williams, Doug Hansen, Gerald Thaden, Dusty Rodiek, Bruce Haines, Mike Konechne, Tom Glover, Bill Coburn

Others present Via Teleconference: Bill Smith (SDDA), Brian Scott (SDDA), Bailey Kaskie (SDDA), Kim Paxton (SDDA), Kris Dozark (DENR), Colette Kessler (NRCS-Huron), Angela Ehlers (SDACD), Dawn Schulte and Alex Petrik (Charles Mix District), Michael Meester (Clark District), Tami Moore (Miner District), Yvette Kirkman (Butte District), Peggy Loomis (Hamlin District), and Malisa Niles (Fall River District)

Conflict of Interest Disclosure: Chairman Hansen asked the Commission members if they had any conflicts of interest to disclose at this time. There were none. The Chairman also reminded the Commission that they would need to abstain from voting on requests submitted by their districts.

## **Election of Chair:**

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the appointment of Doug Hansen to serve as the chairman. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

## **Election of Vice Chair:**

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the appointment of Gene Williams as Vice Chairman. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

## **Approval of November 19, 2020 Minutes:**

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve November 19, 2020 minutes as submitted. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

**Upcoming travel:** Colette Kessler provided information on the upcoming NRCS State Technical meetings. Angela Ehlers provided information on future SDACD meetings.

Request for New Business to be placed on the agenda: None

**Correspondence:** None

**Revolving Loan Report** -Bailey Kaskie gave a report on the Revolving Loan Program.

**Revolving Loan Applications (2 applications)**-Bailey Kaskie presented the two Revolving Loan Applications

<u>Butte Loan Application – No Till Drill for \$24,500.00:</u> A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve loan application to Butte Conservation District in the amount of \$24,500.00 for a no till drill. Roll Call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

<u>Fall River Loan Application -No Till Drill for \$10,000.00:</u> A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve the loan application to Fall River Conservation District in the amount of \$10,000.00 for a

no till drill. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

**Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Amendments/Reports** Brian Scott lead the discussion on grant amendment requests.

# One-year extension request for Day County Conservation Grant # 2020-CSW-011 NE Glacial Lake Critical Area Planting:

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the extension. Roll call vote: Mike Konechneaye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-abstain, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

One-year extension request for Edmunds County Conservation Grant # 2019-CSW-042 Conservation Practices: A motion was made by Gerald Thaden and seconded to approve the extension. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen- aye, Bill Coburnaye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. Motion carried.

### 2021 Docket

A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to leave the Shelterbelt Renovation & Cost Share Percentages as is. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to accept the amendments as requested for cost share docket Practices Costs: Trees & planting to L.f. \$.37, Fabric weed barrier & install L.f. \$.64. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansenaye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

**Spring Grant Round Date:** April 6, 2021 is the proposed date

# **Coordinated Plan for Natural Resources Conservation update:**

Bill Smith provided an update. The public comment period on the plan closes on February 22. Bill Coburn motioned and seconded to amend the draft Coordinated Plan to include the SDACD forestry policy statement provided by Angela Ehlers. Roll call vote: Mike Konechne-abstained, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Gloveraye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried.** 

Motion by Charlie Moe and second to conditionally approve the Coordinated Plan.

Mike Konechne-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburnaye, Charlie Moe-aye, Gerald Thaden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye. **Motion carried** 

## **Division Report:**

Bill Smith gave the Division report.

## **Commission Member:**

Commission provided reports.

#### **Advisory Board Member Reports:**

Reports were given by Angela Ehlers with SDACD, Kris Dozark with DENR, and Tami Moore with the SDACDE, Colette Kessler (NRCS-Huron),

**Open Forum and Public Comment: None** 

**New Business: None** 

**Next Meeting location:** The next State Conservation Commission meeting will tentatively take place on April 6, 2021 in Pierre at the Mathews Training Center at the Foss Bldg.

**Ending Remarks & Adjournment: None** 

Meeting adjourned at 2:45 PM CT

