State Conservation Commission Minutes Tuesday, April 8, 2025 8:15 PM CT Matthews Training Center, Pierre

Call to Order: Chairman Doug Hansen called the meeting to order at 8:15 AM CT.

Roll Call of Members Present: Gene Williams, Tom Glover, Dusty Rodiek, Dean Odden, Bruce Haines, Duane Schneider, Bill Coburn, Doug Hansen, and Charlie Moe.

Absent:

Others Present: Bill Smith (DANR), Alex Roeber (DANR), Jordan Turgeon (DANR), Paul Lorenzen (DANR), Betty Dunaway (DANR), Angela Ehlers (SDACD), Mary Beth Fravel (Stanley County), David Smith (SDFU), Ken Steele (Gregory County), Colette Kessler (NRCS).

Conflict of Interest Disclosure: None.

Approval of the January 15, 2025 Minutes: A motion was made by Bill Colburn and seconded by Bruce Haines to approve the January 15, 2025 minutes as submitted. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek, aye, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn -aye and Charlie Moe-aye. Motion carried.

Request for new business to be placed on the agenda: None.

Upcoming travel: Bill Smith and Angela Ehlers gave the upcoming travel and meetings.

Correspondence: None.

Revolving Loan Report: Jordan Turgeon gave the revolving loan report. There are no new applications.

Coddington County Loan Withdrawal: They have found a fabric machine to lease this year and want to withdrawal previous loan application. A motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded by Tom Glover. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dusty Rodiek, abstained, Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Duane Schneider-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bill Coburn -aye and Charlie Moe-aye. Motion carried.

Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Amendments: Alex Roeber gave an update on the grants program: A motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded to approve the Dewey Conservation District to use the 2025 conservation commission docket on their "Tree Grant" 2024-CSW-015. Roll call vote: Gene Williams-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-nay, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion Carried.

A motion was made by Bruce Haines and seconded to approve a one-year extension for Mellette Conservation District Multi-Practice grant 2024-CSW-013. Roll call vote: Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Dean Odden-aye, Doug Hansen-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Bill Coburn-aye, Charlie Moe-abstain, Duane Schneider-aye. Motion Carried.

Progress Reports: Chairman Doug Hanson provided an updated on the commission subcommittees establishing guidelines for information and education grants as well as shelterbelts.

Division Report: Paul Lorenzen updated the Commission on division activities.

Advisory Board Members Reports: Angela Ehlers updated the commission on SDACD activities.

Open Forum and Public Comment: None received.

New Business: None.

Next Meeting location and place: The next commission meeting will be the Spring Grant Round, with a tentative date of April 8th or 9th at the Matthews Training Center of the Joe Foss Building in Pierre.

Ending Remarks: None.

Chairman Hansen declared the meeting adjourned at 3:12 PM CT.

