SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF MEDICAL AND OSTEOPATHIC EXAMINERS (SDBMOE)

Minutes: June 11, 2020 Public Board Meeting (all votes will be by roll call)

The members of the public may have access to the meeting using one of the following options

1. Appear in person in the Board Conference Room: 101 N. Main Ave., Suite 306, Sioux Falls, SD 57104

2. Public phone conference line

Board members present: Kevin Bjordahl MD; Walter Carlson, MD, MBA; Christopher Dietrich, MD; Mr. Richard Hainje; Laurie Landeen, MD

Jeffrey Murray MD; Aaron Shives, MD; Mrs. Suzanne Veenis

Board members absent: Philip Mever DO

Board staff: Ms. Margaret Hansen, Mr. Tyler Klatt, Ms. Misty Rallis

Counsel: SDBMOE: Assistant AG Steven Blair, SDBMOE Staff: Assistant AG Caroline Srstka

This was a public meeting and other parties may have been in attendance.

President Murray called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM (CDT). Roll was called, and a quorum was confirmed. President Murray called for public comment pursuant to SDCL 1-25-1. There was no public comment. President Murray referenced the following documents: The Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Policy for Use by State Authority, Board, Commission, and Committee Members, and the BMOE member specific administrative rules: 20:78:05:09 Conflict of Interest and 20:78:05:10 Potential Conflict of Interest.

A motion for unanimous approval of the consent agenda was ratified by roll call vote (Carlson/Landeen/unanimous)1.

Physician Hearing (closed confidential session pursuant to SDCL 36-4-31.5):

- Dr. Picardi-A motion to approve a full and unrestricted license was ratified by roll call vote (Carlson/Landeen/unanimous). Public Hearings:
 - Nicholas Knotek-Wangberg-A motion to discharge him from the Medical Board Monitoring Program (MBMP) and approve a full and unrestricted license was ratified by roll call vote (Bjordahl /Shives/unanimous with Landeen abstaining).
 - Veronica Myers-A motion to adopt the Hearing Examiner's Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law to deny the license was ratified by roll
 call vote. (Shives/Landeen/unanimous).

The Medical Board Monitoring Program (MBMP) and the Executive Director reports were accepted for information.

Annual election of officers: A motion for officer nominations of Bjordahl-president, Meyers—vice president, and Landeen-secretary was ratified by roll call vote. (Carlson/Hainje/unanimous).

A motion to enter Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2 (3) to consult with legal counsel was ratified by roll call vote (Murray/Landeen/unanimous).

The public meeting resumed. A motion to send a letter to the Health Professionals Program Service Committee and copy the Department of Health, and its related licensee associations was ratified by roll call vote (Murray/Shives/unanimous).

President Bjordahl adjourned the meeting at 10:27 AM (CDT).

¹ Format for motions, second and vote results: BMOE member Name (Making the motion/Second/Vote result is either unanimous or Yes: and No: results and abstentions noted by name)