State Conservation Commission Minutes September 19, 2022 Arrowwood-Cedar Shore – Oacoma, SD

Call to Order: Chairman Doug Hansen called the meeting to order at 7:00 AM CT.

Roll Call of Members:

Dean Odden; Bruce Haines; Mike Konechne; Charlie Moe; Tom Glover; Dusty Rodiek; Doug Hansen.

Members Present on the Conference Call: Gene Williams

Member Absent: Bill Coburn

Others Present in Person: Angela Ehlers (SDACD), Bill Smith (DANR), Kim Paxton (DANR), Jordan Turgeon (DANR), Alex Roeber (DANR), Dennis Clemens (Spink Conservation District), Jessica Michalski (NRCS), Kristin Pester (Roberts Conservation District), Cliff Conroy (Butte Conservation District), Tate Lantz (NRCS), Triniti Sowards (Hughes Conservation District), Drew Anderson (Perkins Conservation District), Tony Sunseri (NRCS), MaryBeth Fravel (Stanley Conservation District), Gordon Heber (Minnehaha Conservation District), Eric Weeman (Brule-Buffalo Conservation District), Mitch Norman (Stanley Conservation District), Robert Lee (Kingsbury Conservation District), Karl Jensen (Lawrence Conservation District), Carolyn Rudebusch (Lake Conservation District), Jean Fagerland (Marshall Conservation District), Amanda Finstad (Clark Conservation District), Shauna Kopren (Perkins Conservation District), Robin Viestenz (Beadle Conservation District), Fred Butzke (McCook Conservation District), John Parker (Minnehaha Conservation District), Mike Langren, Deanna Kunkel (Codington Conservation District)).

Others Present on the Conference Call: Timothy Schoonhoven (DANR).

Conflict of Interest Disclosure: None

Approval of the April 20, 2022, Minutes and August 22, 2022, Minutes:

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve the August 22, 2022; minutes as submitted. Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried.**

Corrections and or additions to the minutes: None

Upcoming travel: Bill Smith gave an update for upcoming travel.

Request for new business to be placed on the agenda: None

Correspondence: None

Revolving Loan Report: Jordan Turgeon gave the revolving loan status report.

Revolving Loan Applications: Jordan Turgeon present three revolving loan requests.

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the Beadle Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$30,000 to purchase a pickup. Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried.**

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the Codington Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$17,000 to new compressor for their tree cooler. Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried.**

A motion was made by Dusty Rodiek and seconded to approve the Codington Conservation District's loan application in the amount of \$27,950 to refinance a vehicle loan. Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Charlie Moe-nay, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried.**

Grant Extension/Amendment requests: Grant extensions and amendments were presented by Alex Roeber.

The Butte Conservation District's request for a two-year extension on Grant # 2021-CSW-004 Envirothon Grant.

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to approve the Butte Conservation District's extension request. Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried.**

The Davison Conservation District's request for an amendment to Grant # 2022-CSW-027 Cover Crop Grant.

A motion was made by Mike Konechne and seconded to approve the Davison Conservation District's amendment request. Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Gloveraye, Mike Konechne-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried.**

The Kingsbury Conservation District's request for an amendment to Grant # 2022-CSW-017 Multi Practice Grant.

A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to deny the Kingsbury Conservation District's amendment request. Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Mike Konechne-aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried. Reason for the denial, the amendment changed the scope of the grant from what was approved by the commission.**

The Kingsbury Conservation District's request for an amendment to Grant # 2022-CSW-018 Urban Conservation Grant. A motion was made by Charlie Moe and seconded to deny the Kingsbury Conservation District amendment.

Reason for the denial, the amendment changed the scope of the grant from what was approved by the commission.

Grant Program/Updates/Changes/Amendments: Alex Roeber provided a status report on the grants program

Final Reports: Alex Roeber provided the commission with 16 final reports on closed projects.

Appoint a Hearing Officer to Conduct the Layton vs Fritz Contested Case Hearing: A motion was made by Gene Williams and seconded to appoint David McVey as the hearing officer for the Layton vs Fritz Contested Case hearing.

Roll call vote: Dean Odden-aye, Bruce Haines-aye, Tom Glover-aye, Mike Konechne -aye, Charlie Moe-aye, Dusty Rodiek-aye, Gene Williams-aye, Doug Hansen-aye. **Motion carried.**

Commission Member Reports: None

Special Revenue Fund (Revolving Loan Program) Rules: Bill Smith gave an update on the rules hearing scheduled for October 3 at 1 p.m. Central time.

2023 Cost-Share Docket (put out the request for comments to district and partners): Alex Roeber reported on a memo sent out to districts requesting changes to the commission docket. Docket suggestions are due by October 3, 3022.

Division Report: Bill Smith gave the division report.

Advisory Board members Reports: Angela Ehlers (SDACD) and Tony Sunseri (NRCS) provided reports to the commission.

Open Forum and Public Comment: Dennis Hoyle addressed the commission regarding how scalp planting of trees could be an alternate to traditional planting methods that required the ground be tilled in the year prior.

New Business: None

Next meeting location and place: The next commission meeting will be held in Pierre on November 15, 2022, at the Matthews Center in the Foss Bldg.

Ending Remarks: none

Meeting Adjourned at 8:10 AM CDT.