

AGENDA

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 26, 2025, at 8:00 a.m. (MT)

Education & Outreach Building, Large Conference Room

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, https://zoom.us.join

NOTICE: Members of the public may listen to the meeting by calling 1-669-900-6833 and entering Meeting ID code: 605 722 4000. Please mute your phone after joining.

SDSTA Mission: We advance world class science and inspire learning across generations.

	Title	Report	Recommendations	
1.	Call to order A. Call roll B. Introduce guests including 2025 summer interns C. Submit public comment form	Chair Casey Peterson	1A. Confirm quorum by calling roll 1B. Ask guests to announce their name/affiliation 1C. Ask if there are any public comment form(s) submitted and announce time will be given at the end of the agenda to discuss	
2.	Approve agenda	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve agenda	
3.	Approve minutes	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve the March 20 and May 22, 2025, minutes	
4.	General conflict of interest disclosure	Mr. Tim Engel	Informational	
5.	Conflict of interest disclosure and waiver under SDCL CH. 3-23	Mr. Tim Engel	"Motion to approve or deny" (as appropriate)	
6.	Annual appointment of Audit Committee members	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to confirm chairperson's appointment of audit committee members	
7.	Financial Report A. Review financial statements B. Approval of FY2026 budget	Mr. Mike Headley Mr. Terry Miller Mr. Terry Miller	7A. Motion to accept financial report as presented 7B. Motion to approve FY2026 budget as presented	

Please do not place or accept cell phone calls during this meeting. A copy of this agenda has been posted in a manner visible to the public at the entrance to the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority office located at 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota at least 72 hours prior to this meeting. Telephone: (605) 722-8650.

SDSTA Board of Directors Meeting

June 26, 2025

Page 1 of 4, v2

Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 26, 2025, at 8:00 a.m. (MDT)

	Title	Report	Recommendations	
8.	SURF Foundation update A. Approve re-appointment of Justin Varland to Foundation board of three-year term commencing June 2025	Ms. Annie Averitt	Informational 8A. Motion to approve re-appointment of Justin Varland to the SURF Foundation board for a three-year term, effective June 2025	
9.	Report from Executive Director A. Declarations of Surplus (4) B. SDSTA quarterly update C. E&O update D. Water Project update	Mr. Mike Headley Ms. Nicol Reiner Ops Team	Informational Informational Informational Informational Informational Motion to accept executive director's report	
10.	 SDSTA policies and procedures A. Annual statements affirming compliance with Financial Conflict of Interest policy B. Discuss proposal to change SDSTA Manual C. Review and approval of updated policies 	Mr. Mike Headley	10A. Each board member to sign a copy of the Financial CoI statement 10B. Motion to accept proposal as discussed; reference board packet 10C. Motion to accept proposal to change the SDSTA manual; reference board packet Motion to approve updated policies; reference board packet	
11.	Approval of FY2026 Office of Risk Management Intergovernmental Agreement	Mr. Mike Headley	Motion to approve FY2026 Intergovernmental Agreement between the Bureau of Administration, Office of Risk Management of the State of SD and SDSTA and authorize the SDSTA executive director to sign the agreement	
12.	Report from nominating committee	Vice Chair Dykhouse	Slate of officers recommended: Chairperson: Mr. Casey Peterson Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Dana Dykhouse Secretary Treasurer: Ms. Patricia Lebrun	
13.	Election of officers	Chair Casey Peterson	Elect officers as described in procedure adopted August 2008; reference board packet	

Please do not place or accept cell phone calls during this meeting. A copy of this agenda has been posted in a manner visible to the public at the entrance to the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority office located at 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota at least 72 hours prior to this meeting. Telephone: (605) 722-8650.

Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 26, 2025, at 8:00 a.m. (MDT)

	Title	Report	Recommendations	
14.	Executive session (closed meeting)	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel matters and to consult with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters—SDCL 1-25-2(1), (3) and (4); 19-19-502	
15.	Report from executive session	Chair Casey Peterson	"The board consulted with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters. No action was taken." ORas discussed and stated otherwise	
16.	Confirm date and time of next meeting	Chair Casey Peterson	Thursday, September 18, 2025, at 8:00 a.m. (MT)—meeting held in SURF's E&O large conference room	
17.	Public comments	Chair Casey Peterson		
18.	Board comments	Chair Casey Peterson		
19.	Adjourn	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to adjourn	

Please do not place or accept cell phone calls during this meeting. A copy of this agenda has been posted in a manner visible to the public at the entrance to the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority office located at 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota at least 72 hours prior to this meeting. Telephone: (605) 722-8650.

Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 26, 2025, at 8:00 a.m. (MDT)

SDSTA Board Member Terms of Service, Committees and Schedule

	Board Members and Terms of Service							
	Board Members	Board Members Appointed						
1.	Dr. Ani Aprahamian	Re-appointed January 7, 2022		December 9, 2027				
2.	Mr. Dana Dykhouse, Vice-Chair	Re-appointed	August 15, 2020	August 14, 2026				
3.	Dr. Chris Fall	Appointed De	cember 1, 2021	August 8, 2027				
4.	Ms. Patricia Lebrun, Secretary-	Re-appointed August 8, 2022		August 8, 2028				
	Treasurer							
5.	Mr. Roger Musick	Reappointed August 8, 2022		August 8, 2028				
6.	Mr. Casey Peterson, Chair	Re-appointed	December 1, 2021	August 8, 2027				
7.	Mr. Ron Wheeler	Re-appointed April 28, 2020		April 9, 2026				
8.	Mr. Steve Elliott, ex officio member	Black Hills State University (BHSU) President						
9.	Dr. Brian Tande, ex officio member	South Dakota	South Dakota School of Mines & Technology					
	-	(SD Mines) President						
	Committe	Committees and Members (2025-2026)						
	Audit Committee Members	Nominating Committee Members						
	(Selected in June):		(Selected in March):					
	> Pat Lebrun-Chair		Dana Dykhouse					
	> Dana Dykhouse		> Roger Musick					
	Roger Musick							
	> Casey Peterson, ex officio							
	2025 Board Regular Schedule							
	SD Boards & Commissions Portal							
	Thursday, March 20, 2025		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, June 26, 2025 — Annual Meeting		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, September 18, 2025		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, December 11, 2025		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg				

Please do not place or accept cell phone calls during this meeting. A copy of this agenda has been posted in a manner visible to the public at the entrance to the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority office located at 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota at least 72 hours prior to this meeting. Telephone: (605) 722-8650.