

AGENDA

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 22, 2023 at 8:00 AM (MT)

Yates Education & Outreach Building—large conference room Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, <u>https://zoom.us/join</u>

SDSTA Mission: We advance world class science and inspire learning across generations.

NOTICE: Members of the public may listen to the meeting by calling 1-669-900-6833 and entering Meeting ID code: 605 722 4000. Please announce your name and affiliation after joining then mute your phone.

	Title	Report	Recommendations
1.	Call to order	Chair Casey Peterson	
	A. Call roll		1A. Confirm quorum by calling roll
	B. Introduce guests		<i>1B. Ask guests to announce their name/</i> <i>affiliation</i>
	C. Public comment form		<i>1C. Reminder request to submit public comment form(s)</i>
2.	Approve agenda	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve agenda
3.	Approve minutes	Chair Casey Peterson	<i>Motion to approve the March 16 and June 6</i> <i>minutes</i>
4.	Conflict of interest disclosure	Mr. Tim Engel	Informational
5.	Conflict of interest disclosure and waiver under SDCL CH. 3-23	Mr. Tim Engel	<i>"Motion to approve or deny" (as appropriate)</i>
6.	SURF Foundation	Ms. Michelle Kane	6A. Motion to confirm the reelection of Mr.
	A. Confirmation of the re-election of Fred Romkema to the Foundation board		Fred Romkema to the SURF Foundation Board for an additional 3-year term
	B. Foundation Update		
7.	Audit Committee	Chair Casey Peterson	
	A. Annual appointment of members		7A. Motion to confirm chairperson's appointment of audit committee members
	B. Acceptance of Audit Report-fiscal year ended June 30, 2022	Ms. Pat Lebrun	7B. Motion to accept Audit Report Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2022 as reviewed and discussed at March 16, 2023 board meeting
8.	Financial Report	Mr. Mike Headley	
0.	A. Review financial statements	Mr. Terry Miller	8A. Motion to accept financial report as presented
	B. Approval of FY2024 budget	Mr. Terry Miller	8B. Motion to approve FY2024 budget as presented



AGENDA

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 22, 2023 at 8:00 AM (MT)

Yates Education & Outreach Building—large conference room Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, https://zoom.us/join

	Title	Report	Recommendations
9.	Report from Executive DirectorA. Declaration of SurplusB. SDSTA quarterly update	Mr. Mike Headley	Informational Presentation
	C. Hoists & Shafts updateD. LBNF excavating to outfitting update	Ms. Wendy Straub Mr. Josh Willhite	Presentation Presentation Motion to accept executive director's report
10.	SDSTA policies and proceduresA. Annual review of PY & PPB. Annual statements affirming compliance with Financial Conflict of Interest policy	Mr. Mike Headley	10A. Motion to approve updated policies; reference board packet 10B. Each board member to sign a copy of the CoI statement
11.	Report from nominating committee	Vice Chair Dykhouse	Slate of officers recommended: Chairperson: Mr. Casey Peterson Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Dana Dykhouse Secretary Treasurer: Ms. Patricia Lebrun
12.	Election of officers	Chair Casey Peterson	Elect officers as described in procedure adopted August 2008; reference board packet
13.	Executive session (closed meeting)	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel matters and to consult with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters—SDCL 1-25-2(1), (3) and (4); 19- 19-502.
14.	Report from executive session	Chair Casey Peterson	"The board consulted with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters. No action was taken." OR as discussed and stated otherwise



AGENDA

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 22, 2023 at 8:00 AM (MT)

Yates Education & Outreach Building—large conference room

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, <u>https://zoom.us/join</u>

	Title	Report	Recommendations	
	Approval of documents A. Review amended waivers	Mr. Tim Engel	15A. Motion to approve amendments to the Acknowledgment of Risk Waiver and Release, Agreement Not To Sue And Waiver subject to review by Homestake	
	B. Review Risk Transfer Protocols	Mr. Tim Engel	15B. Motion to approve revised Risk Transfer Protocols, subject to approval by the Department of Energy and review by Homestake as provided in the Property Donation Agreement	
	C. Approval of FY2024 Office of Risk Management Intergovernmental Agreement	Mr. Mike Headley	15C. Motion to approve FY2024 Intergovernmental Agreement between the Bureau of Administration, Office of Risk Management of the State of SD and SDSTA and authorize SDSTA executive director to sign agreement	
16.	Confirm date, time and location of next meeting	Chair Casey Peterson	Thursday, September 21, 2023 at 8:00am (MDT)/9:00am (CDT) to be held at the Washington Pavilion in Sioux Falls and via Zoom	
17.	Public comments	Chair Casey Peterson		
18.	Board comments	Chair Casey Peterson		
19.	Adjourn	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to adjourn	



SDSTA Board Member Terms of Service, Committees and Schedule

	Board Members and Terms of Service					
	Board Members	Board Members Appointed				
1.	Dr. Ani Aprahamian	Re-appointed January 7, 2022	December 9, 2027			
2.	Mr. Dana Dykhouse, Vice-Chair	Re-appointed August 15, 2020	August 14, 2026			
3.	Ms. Patricia Lebrun, Secretary-	Re-appointed August 8, 2022	August 8, 2028			
	Treasurer	SDCL 1-7-1.1				
4.	Dr. Chris Fall	Appointed December 1, 2021	August 8, 2027			
5.	Mr. Roger Musick	Reappointed August 8, 2022	August 8, 2028			
		SDCL 1-7-1.1				
6.	Mr. Casey Peterson, Chair	Re-appointed December 1, 2021	August 8, 2027			
7.	Mr. Ron Wheeler	Re-appointed April 28, 2020	April 9, 2026			
8.	Dr. James Rankin, ex-officio member SD Mines President as of Jan 8, 2018					
	Committees and Members (2022-2023)					
	Audit Committee Members Nominating Committee Members					
	(Sep):	(Jun):				
	 Pat Lebrun-Chair, tbd 	 Dana Dykhouse, tbd 				
	 Dana Dykhouse, tbd 	 Roger Musick, tbd 				
	 Casey Peterson, ex-officio, tbd 					
	2023 Board Schedule					
	Thursday, March 16 2023	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg			
	Thursday, June 22, 2023	8:00 am (MT), annual	E&O Bldg			
	Thursday, September 21, 2023	8:00 am (MT), Sioux Falls tbc	E&O Bldg			
	Thursday, December 14, 2023	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg			