

AGENDA

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, June 20, 2024 at 8:00 a.m. (MT)

Yates Education & Outreach Conference Room

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, https://zoom.us/join

NOTICE: Members of the public may listen to the meeting by calling 1-669-900-6833 and entering Meeting ID code: 605 722 4000. Please mute your phone after joining.

SDSTA Mission: We advance world class science and inspire learning across generations.

	Title	Report	Recommendations	
1.	Call to order A. Call roll B. Introduce guests including 2024 Davis-Bahcall Scholars C. Submit public comment form	Chair Casey Peterson	1A. Confirm quorum by calling roll 1B. Ask guests to announce their name/affiliation 1C. Ask if there are any public comment form(s) submitted and announce time will be given at the end of the agenda to discuss	
2.	Approve agenda	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve agenda	
3.	Approve minutes	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve the March 21, 2024 minutes	
4.	General conflict of interest disclosure	Mr. Tim Engel	Informational	
5.	Conflict of interest disclosure and waiver under SDCL CH. 3-23	Mr. Tim Engel	"Motion to approve or deny" (as appropriate)	
6.	Annual appointment of Audit Committee members	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to confirm chairperson's appointment of audit committee members	
7.	Financial Report A. Review financial statements B. Approval of FY2025 budget	Mr. Mike Headley Mr. Terry Miller Mr. Terry Miller	7A. Motion to accept financial report as presented 7B. Motion to approve FY2025 budget as presented	

8.	SURF Foundation (SURFF) A. Foundation update B. Approve Memorandum of Agreement concerning rock conveyor donation	Ms. Michelle Kane Mr. Tim Engel	8A. Informational 8B. Motion to approve agreement between SDSTA and SURFF relating to acceptance of a rock conveyor system from Thyssen Mining, Inc., and requiring SDSTA to assume responsibility for insurance, maintenance, and other potential liabilities associated with the ownership of the system, and authorizing the executive director to negotiate the final terms and conditions in consultation with the chairperson and legal counsel, and authorize the SDSTA executive director to sign the agreement
9.	Report from Executive Director A. Declaration of Surplus (2) B. SDSTA quarterly update C. E&O update D. Sacred Circle planting update SDSTA policies and procedures A. Annual review of PY & PP	Mr. Mike Headley Ms. Nicol Reiner Ms. Rochelle Zens Mr. Mike Headley	Informational Informational Informational Informational Motion to accept executive director's report
	Annual review of PY & PPB. Annual statements affirming compliance with Financial Conflict of Interest policy		10A. Motion to approve updated policies; reference board packet 10B. Each board member to sign a copy of the Financial CoI statement
11.	Approval of FY2025 Office of Risk Management Intergovernmental Agreement	Mr. Mike Headley	Motion to approve FY2025 Intergovernmental Agreement between the Bureau of Administration, Office of Risk Management of the State of SD and SDSTA and authorize the SDSTA executive director to sign the agreement
12.	Report from nominating committee	Vice Chair Dykhouse	Slate of officers recommended: Chairperson: Mr. Casey Peterson Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Dana Dykhouse Secretary Treasurer: Ms. Patricia Lebrun
13.	Election of officers	Chair Casey Peterson	Elect officers as described in procedure adopted August 2008; reference board packet

14.	Executive session (closed meeting)	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel matters and to consult with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters—SDCL 1-25-2(1), (3) and (4); 19-19-502
15.	Report from executive session	Chair Casey Peterson	"The board consulted with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters. No action was taken." OR as discussed and stated otherwise
16.	Termination of land use agreements (4)	Mr. Tim Engel Mr. Mike Headley	Motion to approve termination of the following land use agreements and authorize the executive director to negotiate final terms and conditions in consultation with the chairperson and general counsel, and to authorize the SDSTA executive director to sign the final agreements— • Termination of Land Use Agreement dated December 9, 2020 between SDSTA and TMI for the City of Lead Property • Termination of Land Use Agreement dated December 4, 2020 between SDSTA and TMI for the Homestake Mining Company Property • Termination of Land Use Agreement dated December 9, 2020 between SDSTA and TMI for SDSTA Property – TMI • Termination of Land Use Agreement dated December 9, 2020 between SDSTA and TMI for SDSTA Property – KAJV
17.	Assignment of easements (3)	Mr. Tim Engel Mr. Mike Headley	Motion to approve the following agreements and authorize the executive director to negotiate final terms and conditions in consultation with the chairperson and general counsel, and to authorize the SDSTA executive director to sign the final agreements— • New Easement between SDSTA and SURF Foundation for that portion of the rock conveyor donation located on SDSTA property

			 Non-exclusive assignment of easement for Homestake property to SURF Foundation Non-exclusive assignment of easement for City of Lead property to SURF Foundation
18.	Confirm date and time of next meeting	Chair Casey Peterson	Thursday, September 19, 2024 at 8:00 a.m. (MT)—meeting held in SURF's E&O large conference room
19.	Public comments	Chair Casey Peterson	
20.	Board comments	Chair Casey Peterson	
21.	Adjourn	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to adjourn

SDSTA Board Member Terms of Service, Committees and Schedule

	Board Members and Terms of Service				
	Board Members	Appointed		Term Expires	
1.	Dr. Ani Aprahamian	Re-appointed January 7, 2022		December 9, 2027	
2.	Mr. Dana Dykhouse, Vice-Chair	Re-appoir	nted August 15, 2020	August 14, 2026	
3.	Dr. Chris Fall	Appointed December 1, 2021		August 8, 2027	
4.	Ms. Patricia Lebrun, Secretary- Treasurer	Re-appointed August 8, 2022		August 8, 2028	
5.	Mr. Roger Musick	Reappointed August 8, 2022		August 8, 2028	
6.	Mr. Casey Peterson, Chair	Re-appointed December 1, 2021		August 8, 2027	
7.	Mr. Ron Wheeler	Re-appointed April 28, 2020		April 9, 2026	
8.	Mr. Steve Elliott, ex-officio member	Black Hills State University (BHSU) President			
9.	Dr. James Rankin, ex-officio member	South Dakota School of Mines & Technology			
	(SD Mines) President				
	Committees and Members (2023-2024)				
	Audit Committee Members		Nominating Committee Members		
	(Selected in June):		(Selected in March):		
	Pat Lebrun-Chair		Dana Dykhouse		
	Dana Dykhouse		Roger Musick		
	Roger Musick				
	> Casey Peterson, ex-officio				
	2024 Board Schedule				
	Thursday, March 21, 2024		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg	
	Thursday, June 20, 2024 — Annual Meeting		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg	
	Thursday, September 19, 2024		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg	
	Thursday, December 12, 2024		8:00 am (MT)	SURF E&O Bldg	