

AGENDA

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota Telephonic Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 9:00 AM (MT)

Yates Administration Bldg, 2nd Floor Vault Conference Room

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4022, https://zoom.us/join

SDSTA Mission: To advance compelling underground, multidisciplinary research in a safe work environment and to inspire and educate through science, technology and engineering.

	Title	Report	Recommendations
1.	Call to order A. Call roll B. Introduce guests C. Reminder request for public comment form	Chair Casey Peterson	Informational
2.	Approve agenda	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve agenda
3.	Approve minutes	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve the September 19 and October 31, 2019 minutes
4.	Conflict of interest disclosure	Mr. Tim Engel	Informational
5.	Conflict of interest disclosure and waiver under SDCL CH. 3-23	Mr. Tim Engel	
6.	Update on scoping study for potential STEM institute	Ms. Elizabeth Freer	Informational
7.	Report from Audit Committee		Discussion
	A. Audit Report-fiscal year ended June 30, 2019	Ms. Pat Lebrun	Motion to accept Audit Committee Report and to discuss Audit Report approval at
	B. Internal Control Audit update	Ms. Pat Lebrun	the next regularly scheduled board meeting per statute
8.	Financial Report	Mr. Mike Headley	
	A. November financial report and summaries	Ms. Nancy Geary	Motion to accept financial report as presented
9.	Report from Executive DirectorA. Declarations of Surplus (2)B. SDSTA quarterly update	Mr. Mike Headley	Informational; see board packet
	C. E&O update	Ms. Debra Wolf	Presentation Motion to accept executive director's report

Please do not place or accept cell phone calls during this meeting. A copy of this agenda has been posted in a manner visible to the public at the entrance to the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority office located at 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota at least 72 hours prior to this meeting. Telephone: (605) 722-8650.



AGENDA

South Dakota Science and Technology Authority 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota Telephonic Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 9:00 AM (MT)

Yates Administration Bldg, 2nd Floor Vault Conference Room

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4022, https://zoom.us/join

	Title	Report	Recommendations
10.	Discuss registration of lobbyists	Mr. Tim Engel	Motion to designate Mike Headley, Ron Wheeler, Tim Engel and Doug Abraham as lobbyists for the SDSTA for the 2020 Legislative Session
11.	Executive session (closed meeting)	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel matters and to consult with legal counsel concerning contractual matters
12.	Report from executive session	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to accept executive session report
13.	Review SDSTA policies and procedures	Mr. Mike Headley	Motion to approve updated Inclement Weather and Records and Retention Policies, as presented
14.	Confirm date and time of next meeting	Chair Casey Peterson	Thursday, March 19 at 8:00am (MT)
15.	Public comments	Chair Casey Peterson	
16.	Board comments	Chair Casey Peterson	
17.	Adjourn	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to adjourn



Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, December 12, 2019

SDSTA Board Member Terms of Service, Committees and Schedule

	Board Members and Terms of Service						
	Board Members	Appointed	Term Expires				
1.	Dr. Ani Aprahamian	Re-appointed December 10, 2015	December 9, 2021				
2.	Mr. Dana Dykhouse, Vice-Chair	Re-appointed August 1, 2014	August 14, 2020				
3.	Ms. Patricia Lebrun, Secretary- Treasurer	Re-appointed August 5, 2016	August 8, 2022				
4.	Mr. Roger Musick	Appointed September 19, 2018	August 21, 2022				
5.	Mr. Casey Peterson, Chair	Re-appointed August 25, 2015	August 8, 2021				
6.	Mr. Ron Wheeler, Vice-Chair	Re-appointed April 10, 2014	April 9, 2020				
7.	Dr. Robert Wilson	August 24, 2015	August 8, 2021				
8.	Dr. James Rankin, ex-officio member	SDSM&T President as of Jan 8, 2018	- ·				
	5. Di. sames italikili, ex officio memoci. Sporice i i resident de oi san o, 2010						
	Committees and Members (2019-2020)						
	Audit Committee Members	Nominating Committee Members					
	(Sep): tbd	(Jun):					
	> Pat Lebrun-Chair	 Dana Dykhouse 					
	 Dana Dykhouse 	> Roger Musick					
	> Casey Peterson, ex-officio	_					
	2	019 Board Schedule					
	February 21, 2019	9:30 am (MT)	Special Telephonic				
	Thursday, March 21 2019	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, June 20, 2019	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg				
	September 6, 2019	8:00 am (MT)	Special Telephonic				
	Thursday, September 19, 2019	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg				
	October 31, 2019	1:00 pm (MT)	Special Telephonic				
	Thursday, December 12, 2019	9:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg				
		020 Board Schedule					
	Thursday, March 19 2020	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, June 25, 2020	8:00 am (MT), annual	E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, September 17, 2020	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, December 17, 2020	9:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg, lunch				