SOUTH DAKOTA AERONAUTICS COMMISSION MEETING

Thursday, April 20, 2023, at 2:00 p.m. CDT

Becker-Hansen Building/ Commission Room - 700 E. Broadway Ave, Pierre SD 57501

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Eric Odenbach, Chairman

Christopher Funk Rolf Johnson Dave Luers

Jerry Rieber (joined 2:07 p.m.)

DOT STAFF PRESENT: Joel Jundt, Kellie Beck, Brad Remmich Jon Becker, Nancy Hiller, Katlyn

Wieme, and Kari Kroll

DOT STAFF PRESENT

VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Dustin DeBoer

OTHERS PRESENT

VIA CONFERNCE CALL: Steve Hamilton – South Dakota Pilots Association (SDPA)

Chairman Eric Odenbach called the meeting of the South Dakota Aeronautics Commission (the "Commission") to order at 2:00 p.m. CDT. Roll call was taken and a quorum was determined.

Odenbach opened the floor to the Commission to disclose potential conflicts of interest and to present requests for waiver pursuant to South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) Chapter 3-23.

No members of the Commission disclosed any conflicts of interest and no waivers were requested.

Odenbach asked for a motion to approve the February 16, 2023 Commission meeting minutes.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Johnson and seconded by Funk to approve the February 16, 2023 Commission meeting minutes. All present voted age by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Odenbach opened the floor to public comment. No members of the public addressed the Commission nor offered input.

Secretary Jundt presented the Secretary's Report to the Commission. He reported the following items:

- The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) reauthorization will expire on September 30, 2023.
- SB148 and SB158 did not pass this State Legislative Session, but the discussion of the bills brought to attention the need for an Airport Needs Work Group.
 - The intent is to look at the current needs of the airports, discuss the revenue into the Commission's fund, and discuss the limitations of current programs.
 - o This will be a high level discussion and a data driven fact finding study.
 - The goal is to have a kickoff meeting in May followed by a couple additional meetings with the intent of completion of the study in August.
 - The group will consist of airport managers from Rapid City, Sioux Falls, Pierre, and Spearfish airports plus three additional airport managers, Ryan Brunner of the Governor's Office, Secretary Jundt, Kellie Beck, Jon Becker, Blair Tritle of the Bureau of Finance & Management (BFM), and two members of the Commission.
- Hall of Honor nominations are being accepted until May 19, 2023.

Commissioner Jerry Rieber joined the meeting at 2:07 p.m. CDT.

Jon Becker, Office of Air, Rail & Transit, presented to the Commission for their consideration the following Airport Improvement Program (AIP) grant and Bi-partisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) grant applications.

Flandreau 3-46-0077-015-2023

AIP: Design hangar taxi lane reconstruction with geotechnical exploration.

Federal Share	\$ 61,200.00
State Share	\$ 3,400.00
Local Share	\$ 3,400.00
Total	\$ 68,000.00

Gregory 3-46-0018-021-2023

AIP: Design revenue producing T-hangars with geotechnical exploration.

Federal Share \$67,500.00

State Share \$ 0

Local Share \$ 7,500.00 Total \$75,000.00

Huron 3-46-0022-043-2023

AIP: Design partial parallel taxiway with geotechnical exploration, aquatic resource survey, and level I record search.

Federal Share	\$ 162,000.00
State Share	\$ 9,000.00
Local Share	\$ 9,000.00
Total	\$ 180,000.00

Pine Ridge 3-46-0045-018-2023

AIP: Procure snow removal equipment – industrial loader with attachments.

Federal Share	\$ 450,000.00
State Share	\$ 25,000.00
Local Share	\$ 25,000.00
Total	\$ 500,000.00

Springfield 3-46-0052-012-2023

AIP: Design reconstruction of runway 15/33, taxiway A, apron, and realign taxiway turnaround.

Federal Share	\$ 235,043.00
State Share	\$ 13,058.00
Local Share	\$ 13,059.00
Total	\$ 261,160.00

Vermillion 3-46-0056-019-2023

AIP: Design AWOS IIIP.

Federal Share	\$54,000.00
State Share	\$ 3,000.00
Local Share	\$ 3,000.00
Total	\$60,000.00

Wagner 3-46-0057-020-2023

AIP: Design AWOS-IIIP and aquatic resource survey

Federal Share	\$ 72,000.00
State Share	\$ 4,000.00
Local Share	\$ 4,000.00
Total	\$ 80,000.00

Webster 3-46-0059-016-2023

AIP: Design fuel system (100LL) with card reader.

Federal Share \$ 63,000.00

State Share \$ 0

Local Share \$ 7,000.00 Total \$ 70,000.00

A MOTION WAS MADE by Rieber and seconded by Funk to approve all the AIP grants as presented. All present voted age by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Watertown 3-46-0058-042-2023

BIL - Purchase snow removal equipment

Federal Share	\$ 783,000.00
State Share	\$ 43,500.00
Local Share	\$ 43,500.00
Total	\$ 870,000.00

A MOTION WAS MADE by Luers and seconded by Johnson to approve the BIL grant as presented. All present voted age by roll call vote except for Rieber who abstained. The motion carried.

Commissioner Dave Luers asked for an update on his replacement. Secretary Jundt stated that the Governor's Office is working on finding a new member of the Commission as well as the other boards and commission under the Department of Transportation.

Secretary Jundt inquired about how many more AIP/BIL grants the Commission can expect yet to come this fiscal year. Jon Becker estimated it will be another 20 or so. Many of the larger requests will come later due to the discretionary grant process.

Chairman Odenbach asked that a consideration of AWOS support for airport by the Commission be put on the next agenda.

With no further business to come before the Commission, Odenbach adjourned the meeting at 2:23 p.m. CDT