SOUTH DAKOTA AERONAUTICS COMMISSION MEETING Thursday, May 20, 2021 at 2:00 p.m. CDT

Becker-Hansen Building/ Commission Room – 700 E. Broadway Ave, Pierre SD 57501

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT VIA CONFERENCE CALL:	Eric Odenbach, Chairman Bob Huggins, Vice-chairman Rolf Johnson Dave Luers Kassidy Nelson Jerry Rieber (joined at 2:06 p.m.) Chris Funk (joined at 2:21 p.m.)
DOT STAFF PRESENT:	Joel Jundt, Tom Koch, Jon Becker, Earl Holben, and Kari Kroll
DOT STAFF PRESENT VIA CONFERENCE CALL:	Dustin DeBoer, Brad Remmich, Jack Dokken, Kellie Beck, and Kyle Weinman
OTHERS PRESENT VIA CONFERENCE CALL:	Steve Hamilton – South Dakota Pilots Association (SDPA),

Chairman Eric Odenbach called the meeting of the South Dakota Aeronautics Commission (the "Commission") to order at 2:00 p.m. CDT. A roll call was taken, and a quorum was determined.

Odenbach opened the floor to the Commission to disclose potential conflicts of interest and to present requests for waiver pursuant to the South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) Chapter 3-23.

No conflicts of interest were disclosed, and no waivers were requested.

Odenbach asked for a motion to approve the April 15, 2021 Commission meeting minutes.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Huggins and seconded by Luers to approve the April 15, 2021 Commission meeting minutes. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Odenbach opened the floor to public input. No members of the public addressed the Commission or offered input.

Secretary Joel Jundt presented the Secretary's Report. Jundt shared he spoke with Governor Noem about the \$4 million which was appropriated into the Aeronautics Fund. He asked the Commission how it would like to utilize the funds for future project matching and offered to update the current financial situation at the next Commission meeting. The Commission accepted the offer and the item will be added to the agenda.

Jundt asked the Commission if it had any proposed legislation it would like the Department of Transportation (the "Department") to consider bringing before the 2022 Legislature. No comments were made by the Commission.

Lastly, Jundt shared with the Commission a change in the Department's organization. After it was decided that the Department would not fill the Deputy Secretary position, the Office of Air, Rail, & Transit (ART) was moved to the Division of Finance & Management from the Division of Secretariat. Kellie Beck is the Division Director who will now oversee the Office of ART. Jundt noted the Commission will still have support from the same staff and the hope is for a seamless change.

Commissioner Jerry Rieber joined the meeting at 2:06 p.m.

Jack Dokken, Program Manager for the Office of Air, Rail, and Transit, presented for the Commission's consideration amendments to the *South Dakota Aeronautics Commission Policies & Procedures for Use of State Funds* document as discussed at the April 15, 2021 Commission meeting.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Huggins and seconded by Nelson to approve the amendments made to the *South Dakota Aeronautics Commission Policies & Procedures for Use of State Funds* and add it to the Commission handbook. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

Jon Becker, Office of Air, Rail, and Transit, presented to the Commission eleven 2021 Airport Improvement Program (AIP) applications as described in Attachment #3. All AIP projects will be paid 100% from federal funding.

Prior to the meeting, Commissioner Bob Huggins asked Becker questions about three projects on the list. Becker addressed the questions about the Aberdeen Airport and the Tea Airport. Brad Remmich addressed the questions about the Department construction project.

Commissioner Chris Funk joined the meeting at 2:21 p.m.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Rieber and seconded by Luers to approve the Brookings Airport AIP project listed in Attachment #3. All presented voted aye by roll call vote except Funk who abstained due to conflict of interest. The motion carried.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Funk and seconded by Rieber to approve the remaining AIP project listed on Attachment #3. All present voted aye by roll call vote. The motion carried.

With no other business to come before the Commission, Odenbach adjourned the meeting at 2:38 p.m. CDT.