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South Dakota Commission on Child Support 
Recommendation options summary by section of SDCL 
(Cross referenced with Recommendation options – numbered) 
25-5-18.1. Parental duty to support child. 
Recommendation 3 – Amend to clarify age of emancipation from child support: 

Option 1  
a. Age 18 
b. Age 19 
Option 2: Include “alternative instruction” as schooling qualifying for continued child 
support past the age of 18 
Option 3: Remove “full-time” from consideration when the child is a student over the 
age of 18 

 
25-7-6.2. Support obligation schedule. 
Recommendation 1 – Amend guideline schedule to adjust for inflation: 

1. Utilizing inflationary changes in prices for the Midwest Region from July 2021 
to March 2025 

2. Utilizing the inflationary increases in 1 as well as adjusting for income 
changes in South Dakota (as determined by realigning national data to South 
Dakota incomes using 2023 Census data). 

Recommendation 5 – Amend to clarify the method for calculating support obligations 
for incarcerated individuals with no income: 

1. If a parent’s actual income during incarceration is $0, the resulting obligation 
set at the minimum obligation amount established in the schedule  

2. All obligations set at the minimum obligation amount established in the 
schedule 

25-7-6.4. Rebuttable presumption of employment at minimum wage. 
Recommendation 7 – Amend to presume a parent is capable of being employed and 
earning an annual gross income of 1,820 hours multiplied by the state’s current 
minimum wage 
 
25-7-6.10. Factors considered for deviation from schedule. 
Recommendation 15 – Amend to allow the federal tax consequences of claiming the 
child as a dependent as a factor for deviation 
 
25-7-6.13. Modification of prior orders of support. 
Recommendation 6 – Amend to update date for allowable modifications without a 
change in circumstances and codify that child support obligations do not revert to the 
pre-incarceration amount upon release and that a Petition for Modification must be filed 
to adjust the obligation post-release 
 
 
 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=25-5-18.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.2
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.4
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.10
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.13
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25-7-6.14. Abatement of portion of child support--Modification. 
Recommendation 10 – Amend to simplify the considerations for an abatement: 

• Remove consideration of the fixed obligations of the custodial parent 
attributable to the child 

• Change consideration of the costs of the noncustodial parent from non-
duplicated to all costs 

• Remove burden of proof of increased non-duplicated fixed costs for the 
noncustodial parent 

Recommendation 13 – Amend to change the threshold for an abatement: 
• Remove threshold of six or more nights per month 
• Change consideration for abatement from nights to time spent with the child 
• Replace 38-66 percent abatement range with formula based on hours spent 

with the child: 
o Less than two hours = at least 25 percent of basic obligation  
o Two to six hours = at least 50 percent of basic obligation 
o More than six hours = 100 percent of basic obligation 
o Nights = 100 percent of basic obligation 

• Include days per month the child spends with the noncustodial parent in the 
calculation for abatement 

25-7-6.19. Credit for child support arrearages for parent with primary physical 
custody during period of custody. 
Recommendation 9 – Amend to include a court order as grounds to allow credit 
against accumulated arrears for times when the obligor had physical custody  
 
25-7-6.26. Effect of failure to furnish financial information--Imputation of income. 
Recommendation 8 – Amend to clarify the court may use any of the listed factors to 
impute a parent’s income 
 
25-7-6.27. Shared parenting child support cross credit. 
Recommendation 14 – Repeal of section in its entirety eliminating shared parenting 
cross credits (includes amendments to 25-7-6.14 and 25-7-6.28) 
 

25-7-6.14. Abatement of portion of child support--Modification. 
Recommendation 14 – Amend to remove mention of shared parenting cross 
credit allowed under SDCL 25-7-6.27 

25-7-6.28. Child residence with parent for a night--Residence for days. 
Recommendation 14 – Amend to remove SDCL 25-7-6.27  
 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.14
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=25-7-6.19
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.26
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=25-7-6.27
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.14
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes?Statute=25-7-6.27
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=25-7-6.28
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25-7A-6. Hearing requested by parent--Referee's report--Objections--Order of 
court--Service--Objection to court's modification. 
Recommendation 4 – Amend to allow referees to make a finding of adjudication of 
paternity when DNA testing has been done which shows at least 99 percent probability 
the individual is the biological father of the child  
 
25-7A-21.1. Order establishment case--Limitation on prior-period support 
obligations or arrearages.  
Recommendation 2 – Amend to change prior-period support timeframe: 

Option 1: One year calculated at state’s current minimum wage 
Option 2: No prior-period support 
Option 3: Three years calculated at state’s current minimum wage 
 
25-8-5. Custodian's recovery of support from noncustodian--Period support 
recoverable.  
Recommendation 2 – Amend in conjunction with changes to SDCL 25-7A-21.1: 

Option 1: One year calculated at state’s current minimum wage 
Option 2: No prior-period support 
Option 3: Three years calculated at state’s current minimum wage 

 
New Section of 25-7A 
Recommendation 11 – Add a section to allow referees to serve parties by email upon 
agreement of the parties 
 
New Section of 25-7A 
Recommendation 12 – Add a section to allow referees to only file with the court all 
exhibits entered into the hearing records upon a filed objection to the referee’s report 
 
 
 
 
 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=25-7A-6
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/25-7A-21.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/25-8-58
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