# **Project Prison Reset Task Force Meeting**

Tuesday, April 29, 2025

--

Springfield Community Center 605 8<sup>th</sup> Street, Springfield, South Dakota

### Call to Order

- Lt. Governor Venhuizen called the meeting to order and made introductory remarks
- Task force members preset: Lt. Governor Venhuizen (chair), Attorney General Marty Jackley, Minnehaha County Sheriff Mike Milstead, Yankton City Police Chief Jason Foote, Southeastern Behavioral Health CEO Tiffany Wolfgang, Minnehaha County State's Attorney Daniel Haggar, Sen. Chris Karr, Sen. Jim Mehlhaff, Sen. Jamie Smith, Sen. Joy Hohn, Sen. Steve Kolbeck, Sen. Ernie Otten, Sen. Mark Lapka, Rep. Scott Odenbach, Rep. Jack Kolbeck, Rep. Erin Healy, Rep. Greg Jamison, Rep. Brian Mulder, Rep. John Hansen, Rep. Karla Lems,
- Task force members excused: Judge Jane Wipf-Pfeifle and Rep. Tim Reisch

### **Presentations**

- City of Springfield Presentation: Scott Kostal, Mayor of Springfield
- Behavioral Health Programs at Mike Durfee State Prison: Justin Elkins and Corey Nelson
- South Dakota Housing Authority/Governor's House Program: Steve Maruska and Mike Harsma
- Programs/Lifer Mentoring Program at Mike Durfee State Prison: Warden Alex Reyes
- RFI Site Submissions: Ryan Brunner

## **Public Testimony**

- Steve Haugaard, Sioux Falls
- William F. Paulson, Springfield
- Bob Dooley, Yankton
- Ryan Vanden Hoek, Sioux Falls
- Paul M. Cooper, Canton
- Stu Cvrk, Springfield
- Steve Harrison, Harrisburg
- Frank Kloucek, Scotland
- Sheriff Mark Maggs, Bon Homme County
- Mike Hoffman, Canton

## **Task Force Discussion and Action**

Motion by Attorney General Jackley, seconded by Senator Mehlhaff, to find that the South
Dakota State Penitentiary in Sioux Falls should be replaced. It was clarified that this motion
implies no decision as to the nature or location of the replacement of the state penitentiary.

## The roll was called:

Jackley, Marty	Yea
	Yea
Milstead, Mike	
Foote, Jason	Yea
Wolfgang, Tiffany	Yea
Haggar, Daniel	Yea
Wipf Pfeifle, Jane	Excused
Mehlhaff, Jim	Yea
Karr, Chris	Yea
Smith, Jamie	Yea
Hohn, Joy	Yea
Kolbeck, Steve	Excused
Otten, Ernie	Yea
Lapka, Mark	Yea
Odenbach, Scott	Yea
Kolbeck, Jack	Yea
Healy, Erin	Yea
Jamison, Greg	Yea
Mulder, Brian	Yea
Hansen, Jon	Yea
Lems, Karla	Yea
Reisch, Tim	Excused
Venhuizen, Tony (chair)	Yea
Total Votes (Y-N)	19-0
	3 Excused

So, the Jackley motion having received a majority vote of the members, Lt. Governor Venhuizen declared the motion passed.

The next meeting of the task force is set for June 3, 2025, in Pierre. The task force will review the consultant report and discuss the size and location of proposed prison facilities at that meeting.

# Adjourn