#### **AGENDA**



### South Dakota Science and Technology Authority Meeting of the Board of Directors

Underground Research Facility hursday, September 21, 2023 at 8:00 AM (MT) / 9:00 AM (CT)

**Location: Washington Pavilion Executive Boardroom, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor** 

301 S. Main Avenue, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, https://zoom.us/join

SDSTA Mission: We advance world class science and inspire learning across generations.

NOTICE: Members of the public may listen to the meeting by calling 1-669-900-6833 and entering Meeting ID code: 605 722 4000. Please announce your name and affiliation after joining then mute your phone.

	Title	Report	Recommendations
1.	Call to order	Chair Casey Peterson	
	<b>A.</b> Call roll		1A. Confirm quorum by calling roll
	B. Introduce guests		1B. Ask guests to announce their name/affiliation
	C. Public comment form		1C. Ask if there are any public comment form(s) submitted and announce time will be given at the end of the agenda to discuss
2.	Approve agenda	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve agenda
3.	Approve minutes	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to approve the June 22 minutes
4.	Conflict of interest disclosure	Mr. Tim Engel	Informational
5.	Conflict of interest disclosure and waiver under SDCL CH. 3-23	Mr. Tim Engel	"Motion to approve or deny" (as appropriate)
6.	Approve SDSTA By-laws as amended	Mr. Tim Engel	Motion to approve SDSTA By-laws as amended
7.	SURF Foundation update	Ms. Michelle Kane	Informational
8.	Audit Committee Report update	Chair Casey Peterson Ms. Pat Lebrun	See board packet for audit committee minutes and audit charter
9.	Financial Report	Mr. Mike Headley	
	<b>A.</b> Financial statements	Mr. Terry Miller	
	<b>B.</b> Insurance update	Mr. Tim Engel	9C. Motion to approve FY2024 budget as
	C. Amend FY2024 budget to approve planned 4850L expansion costs, insurance and SURF Institute costs		discussed and amended

Please do not place or accept cell phone calls during this meeting. A copy of this agenda has been posted in a manner visible to the public at the entrance to the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority office located at 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota at least 72 hours prior to this meeting. Telephone: (605) 722-8650.

#### **AGENDA**

# South Dakota Science and Technology Authority Meeting of the Board of Directors Underground Research Facility Hursday, September 21, 2023 at 8:00 AM (MT) / 9:00 AM (CT)

Location: Washington Pavilion
Executive Boardroom, 4th Floor

301 S. Main Avenue, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, https://zoom.us/join

	Title	Report	Recommendations
	<b>D.</b> SD Investment Council letter		9D. Motion to approve interest earning accrual at percentage discussed for fiscal year 2023
			Informational
	<b>E.</b> FY end inventory listing		Informational
	<b>F.</b> FY end per diem listing		Motion to accept report as presented
10.	Report from Executive Director	Mr. Mike Headley	
	A. Declarations of Surplus	,	Informational
	<b>B.</b> SDSTA quarterly update		Informational
	C. Science update	Dr. Jaret Heise	Presentation
	<b>D.</b> LBNF/DUNE update	Mr. Josh Willhite	Presentation
			Motion to accept executive director's report
11.	Approve LBNF/DUNE Lease Agreement Modification	Mr. Mike Headley	Motion to approve modification to the LBNF/DUNE Lease Agreement between the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority and the United States Department of Energy and authorize the SDSTA Chairperson to sign the Agreement
12.	Approve amended MOU between SDSTA and Fermi Research Alliance (FRA)		Motion to approve the Memorandum of Understanding between SDSTA and FRA as amended and authorize the SDSTA Executive Director to sign the MOU
13.	Executive session (closed meeting)	Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to enter executive session to discuss personnel matters and to consult with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters—SDCL 1-25-2(1), (3) and (4); 19-19-502.
14.	Report from executive session	Chair Casey Peterson	"The board consulted with legal counsel concerning contractual and legal matters.  No action was taken."

Please do not place or accept cell phone calls during this meeting. A copy of this agenda has been posted in a manner visible to the public at the entrance to the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority office located at 630 East Summit Street, Lead, South Dakota at least 72 hours prior to this meeting. Telephone: (605) 722-8650.

#### **AGENDA**

# Sanford Underground Research Facility

### South Dakota Science and Technology Authority Meeting of the Board of Directors

Underground Research Facility hursday, September 21, 2023 at 8:00 AM (MT) / 9:00 AM (CT)

**Location: Washington Pavilion Executive Boardroom, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor** 

301 S. Main Avenue, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Public (Open) Session: 1-669-900-6833, Meeting ID: 605 722 4000, Passcode: 8650, https://zoom.us/join

	Title	Report	Recommendations	
15.	Confirm date, time and location of next meeting	Chair Casey Peterson	Thursday, December 14, 2023 at 9:00am (MDT)/10:00am (CDT) held at the Elevate Board Room in Rapid City and via Zoom	
16.	Public comments	Chair Casey Peterson		
17. 18.	Board comments Adjourn	Chair Casey Peterson Chair Casey Peterson	Motion to adjourn	
	Noon: Lunch for board members and staff will follow in the Washington Pavilion cafeteria, 1st Floor.			

Noon: Lunch for board members and staff will follow in the Washington Pavilion cafeteria, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor. 1:00pm (CT): Ribbon Cutting Ceremony at Kirby Science Discovery Center, "H₂O Workshop" exhibit.



## Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, September 21, 2023

#### SDSTA Board Member Terms of Service, Committees and Schedule

	Board Members and Terms of Service						
	Board Members	Appointed	Term Expires				
1.	Dr. Ani Aprahamian	Re-appointed January 7, 2022	December 9, 2027				
2.	Mr. Dana Dykhouse, Vice-Chair	Re-appointed August 15, 2020	August 14, 2026				
3.	Dr. Chris Fall	Appointed December 1, 2021	August 8, 2027				
4.	Ms. Patricia Lebrun, Secretary-	Re-appointed August 8, 2022	August 8, 2028				
	Treasurer	SDCL 1-7-1.1					
5.	Mr. Roger Musick	Reappointed August 8, 2022	August 8, 2028				
		SDCL 1-7-1.1					
6.	Mr. Casey Peterson, Chair	Re-appointed December 1, 2021	August 8, 2027				
7.	Mr. Ron Wheeler	Re-appointed April 28, 2020	April 9, 2026				
8.	Dr. Laurie Nichols, ex-officio member	Black Hills State University (BHSU) President					
9.	Dr. James Rankin, ex-officio member	South Dakota School of Mines & Technology					
	(SD Mines) President						
	Committees and Members (2023-2024)						
	Audit Committee Members	Nominating Committee					
	(Selected in June):	Members (Selected in March):					
	Pat Lebrun-Chair	Dana Dykhouse					
	Dana Dykhouse	Roger Musick					
	Roger Musick						
	<ul><li>Casey Peterson, ex-officio</li></ul>						
	2023 Board Schedule						
	Thursday, March 16 2023	8:00 am (MT)	E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, June 22, 2023	8:00 am (MT), annual	E&O Bldg				
	Thursday, September 21, 2023	8:00 am (MT) / 9:00 am (CT)	Washington Pavilion,				
			Sioux Falls				
	Thursday, December 14, 2023	9:00 am (MT) / 10:00 am (CT)	Elevate,				
			Rapid City				